East Tennessee State University Employee Reviews

Showing all 54 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scholarship Funded Worker
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TNMarch 31, 2017
Enjoyed my job, an excellent development of my skills under a program providing funding for tuition without a great demand on my time. Would return to ETSU in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, relaxing and compassionate
Secretary/ Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNMarch 20, 2017
My position allowed for many students to be able to reach the administrative staff for complaints or concerns. It was very rewarding to be able to see an active difference in people's endeavours.
Pros
Access to the student body.
Cons
Too much exposure to the student body
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for student researchers
Assistant Student Researcher (FWS) (Former Employee) –  TennesseeMarch 19, 2017
How good your experience is as a student researcher is completely contingent upon who your faculty mentor is. With this in mind, a majority of the faculty are great!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This work is good for students who are both undergraduate or graduate
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  TennesseeFebruary 7, 2017
The biggest benefit for this job is it can reduce a big part of the tuition fees. I can learn more academic knowledge when I help my professor to do some researches.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  TennesseeFebruary 3, 2017
I was a graduate assistant. I worked primarily with adjuncts and students. My days consisted of preparing classrooms for lectures, answering emails, taking attendance, and tutoring students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purposeful WORK
Researcher/Lecturer (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJanuary 22, 2017
Purposeful WORK! It was a great opportunity to build my career. Anyone who is staring out and wants to build a career in a pretty stable environment. This may be the place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionals in Science
Biology Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, TNJanuary 17, 2017
I have always enjoyed my time at ETSU. The professors and staff are intelligent and are good people. I've spent a few years among these professionals and have benefited greatly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with faculty that are ready to help you be the best
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  TennesseeDecember 27, 2016
Being granted the privilege to learn the use of new software like LabView and Autocad Electrical. A great environment for self development.
The work is challenging most of the time but the fact that is something am passionate about keeps motivating me to scale through against all odds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and productive place to work! I can help so many people while still being able to complete my own work.
Admissions Assistant (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, TNDecember 13, 2016
This job is a great job. I get great job experience I wouldn't otherwise get. I love my coworkers and my boss. I could not ask for a better place to work.
Pros
Able to do homework while I'm there
Cons
Odd hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical University Pay
Resident Advisor/ Camp Assistant (Former Employee) –  TennesseeSeptember 4, 2016
Everyone at the top makes good money. Have to have a degree. Otherwise, there are plenty of student working positions. I approve of ETSU as I went to school there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace work environment
Janitor/Maintenance Crew Member (Former Employee) –  TennesseeAugust 9, 2016
face paced work environment that was sometimes high stress but overall a great job. plenty of overtime which was nice on the paycheck but sometimes extremely tiring.
Pros
1 hour lunches
Cons
sometimes stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relatively okay place
Research/ Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  TennesseeAugust 6, 2016
-Typical day at work involves interacting with people who have strong relationship/work ethic skills
-Learned how to manage multiple projects
-Co-worker are very cooperative
-Hardest part sometimes is getting the projects to work
-Gained critical thinking/problem solving skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Etsu
Graduate Assistant- Athletic Academic Services (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJuly 15, 2016
Working with student-athletes as a mentor and advisor.
Create schedules for student-athletes to work around practice times.
Pros
Positive work environment
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stress free environment to work at
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  TennesseeJune 24, 2016
I have acquired lots of skills I never imagined and it has made me versatile and marketable. I engage in research work with my professor, I also co-teach with her. We are currently working on a few articles for publications.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love My Job
Executive Aide (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, TNJune 21, 2016
I could not ask for a better job. My boss is amazing. But, getting to know and care about the students is what makes my job worthwhile!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for tuition costs
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJune 19, 2016
Taught undergrad pe classes in exchange for free tuition. best decision i ever made. Great faculty and helpful when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work environment
Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJune 17, 2016
I love Johnson City and the people there!! Working at ETSU was a tough experience because I worked in a hostile environment. The work and life balance was tilted as well. I learned a lot and my positive and peaceful mindset was tested daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful and peaceful campus
Clerical Support (TEMP) (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJune 1, 2016
There are a number of positive aspects of this major University.
1, There are a wide range of subjects and career opportunities for any eager student to pursue.
2. The faculty and staff members are well trained.
3. A typical work day includes preparing the office for the days business, answering calls and directing clients. Following protocol for emergency situations. Scheduling appointments, creating files,
collecting fees and preparing correspondence via email.
4. The most enjoyable part of my job was working closely with students and building relationships.
5. What I've learned, there is a solution to every problem.
The short fall at this campus is in the area of diversity, however the University is working to improve in this area.
Pros
No weekend assignments unless special events are planned
Cons
Non Competive Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Illustrator for Professor
Freelance Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, TNMay 25, 2016
Job is pretty easy and is worth the pay. Doesn't interfere with school work to badly. However there is not a steady income.
Pros
Money on the side
Cons
Not money on the side when you need it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective, productive and interactive workplace
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNMay 16, 2016
Quite busy but fulfilling. Requires high time management skills and interpersonal working relationship with colleagues. Learnt new microbiology techniques and the fun part was to interact, guide and teach students from diverse backgrounds and nationalities. Was able to execute my responsibilities, the teaching syllabus and fulfill my tasks on time. Also balancing between my intense graduate coursework requirements and job responsibilities
Pros
Great support from supervisor, faculty, department and colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at East Tennessee State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 54 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

East Tennessee State University Reviews by Location