Eastern Kentucky University Employee Reviews

Found 85 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
KTLN-Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYNovember 11, 2013
Great place to work, especially for student workers. Would recommend for anyone.
Pros
work and help with education
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Administrative Assistant I, CE&D (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYOctober 26, 2013
Supervisors are understanding to home-life and family situations.
Pros
family based
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYOctober 20, 2013
Very good benefits and room for advancement. Cool employees and friendly atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be a student worker.
GRADUATE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Richmond, KYOctober 8, 2013
I served as an RA and GA at EKU, and I cannot emphasize how helpful both of those positions as well as the education from my Alma Mater have been!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment and flexible with scheduling.
Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYSeptember 24, 2013
There are a lot of great people that can help answer your questions. As a student worker you can have a flexible schedule that works with your class schedule. The benefits are great if your job title includes them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant. working with students
Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYSeptember 21, 2013
I enjoyed working with students and faculty/staff daily at EKU.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
op & Internship Office (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYSeptember 19, 2013
wonderful
great
fun
people-oriented
inclusive
cool
love people worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EKU would be a great place to work if the pay was competitive.
Plumber (Current Employee) –  RIchmond, KY.August 23, 2013
Overall good place to work. Great benefits. Most of the managers are good people to work for. Low pay.
Pros
benefits, co-workers, educational and training opportunities, steady hours.
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership, creativity, organizing, and traveled
Student Work Study/Student Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYAugust 16, 2013
A typical work day revolved around leadership, creativity, and interpersonal skills. I created flyers, copied documents, answered phones, created distributions list, attended meetings, and reserved space for student events at the University. I assisted the Director of the Department by obtaining information and supplies that assisted in organizing the new honor society (Tau Sigma). Each day that I worked I gained job experience, learned management skills, and built upon existing interpersonal skills. My employer and co-workers mentored me and allowed me the opportunity to grow as an individual; they treated me with respect and encouraged me to learn team unity. They always made time to answer my questions and taught me valuable new skills that I will be able to use throughout my life.
Pros
working for employer, co-workers, students, traveling to conferences.
Cons
unsteady hours could only work when eku was in session.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Random
RESIDENTIAL STAFF (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYAugust 15, 2013
AS a sub/ tutor there is no daily list. I was called when needed and filled in as the plans detailed. Hardest part was waiting for the call and lunch duty.
Pros
nice place, mostly great people
Cons
temporary, as needed, no reliability, poor principal
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professor and Fitness Trainer
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYAugust 14, 2013
I taught college courses at Eastern Kentucky University in the Exercise & Sport Science Department. I conducted training programs, fitness assessments, and classroom lectures. I have individual and team fitness training experience. I also have over a decade of coaching experience at the high school level.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Independent Living Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Paintsville, KYAugust 14, 2013
Great company to work for that provides employees with benefits and services to improve overall health.
Pros
pays for college admission
Cons
no job advancement oppurtunities and low pay grade
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad Assistant
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYJuly 31, 2013
Grad assistant. Did whatever the department chair needed. It was good to get to know the professors on more than a classroom basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Richmond, KYJuly 15, 2013
Have been in this field for over 25 years. It has a lot of benefits for me and my family.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always interesting and challenaging
Master Plumber (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYJuly 10, 2013
Enjoyed my job and only reason not working there is due to wife passing and went thru a rough couple of months
Pros
offered education at low price
Cons
some management was beleived over employees but management is no longer there
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYJune 29, 2013
This was an easy office job. I just helped with basic office tasks and occasionally assisting students. My boss and his administrative assistant were awesome people with whom I keep in touch. But, I only got to work 10 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Full-time faculty member (Current Employee) –  Hazard, KYJune 24, 2013
They offer good benefits and insurance; pleasant working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eastern Turnover
Residence Hall Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYJune 22, 2013
Was present for a 3 president turnover window, created challenges.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Undergraduate Research (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYJune 15, 2013
Great school environment. Teachers and faculty are helpful and reliable.
Pros
well organized campus
Cons
lack of updated equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Public Safety Officer/EH&S Tech. (Current Employee) –  Richmond, KYJune 11, 2013
I have loved working here for the three years that I have been employed here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 86 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture