Find companies:
Eastern New Mexico University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Eastern New Mexico University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting teaching job with a lot of potential
Instructor/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Portales, NMJune 14, 2014
Each semester at ENMU, while I was a graduate assistant, I taught two Introduction to Psychology classes to approximately 40 students per class. This was a very exciting job for me. I was able to design my own curriculum and conduct my own lectures. I learned a lot about myself and others during my time at ENMU. I learned that everyone has their own – more... beliefs and their own opinions and that accepting this diversity was important. The hardest part of the job was ensuring that my lectures were both interesting and informative. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that I was teaching basic psychological principles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fun place to work
Presidents ambassador (Former Employee), Portales, NMMay 27, 2014
A typical day at work included answering phones, scheduling campus tours, giving campus tours, helping future students with application process, and attending recruiting events. I learned a lot about working with "customers" as our customers were future students. I also learned an incredible amount about the University and how the systems works. The – more... management was difficult at times but overall was good. My coworkers were incredible and the reason I enjoyed my job so much. The hardest part of my job was being the face of ENMU while it was also the most rewarding part as well. Being in the spot light a lot takes a lot of work but is very rewarding as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PEOPLE
Systems Operations Specialist (Current Employee), System operations specMay 7, 2014
GREAT people, relaxed atmosphere.

Servers, networking and design
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was some tension between Lay Faculty and Religion Department
Instructor-Religion Department (Former Employee), Portales, NMApril 26, 2014
Pros: opportunity to teach within the school curriculum
Cons: there was a good bit of resentment for some
The circumstance is quite unusual, in that ENMU is a state public University and the Religion Department is under the Liberal Arts College. The heads of Department were very appreciative for the additional faculty but many of the secular teachers were unhappy that a religion Department existed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Certified Police Officer (Former Employee), Portales, NMOctober 28, 2013
Pros: stay active
Cons: pay
got a chance to assist the community and help others in need, would recommend
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Office Manager- Student Housing Office (Former Employee), Roswell, NMOctober 19, 2013
Easy taskes, but they were rewarded very well. Management was very detail oriented and worked will with staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, great employees
Internship - Admissions Office (Former Employee), Roswell New MexicoOctober 15, 2013
Pros: nice people
Cons: short breaks
my most enjoyable part of the job was the friendly atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small town atmosphere
Coach (Former Employee), Portales, NMSeptember 4, 2013
-supervising student/athletes in all they do in and out of school (academics compliance)
-management is average.
-coaching staff and support staff are great.
-weather can make the job a little tough.
-the people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working as Development Director for 20+ years.
Development Director (Former Employee), Portales, NMJune 11, 2013
A typical day at work would involve overseeing operations of the stations and the programming as well as the placement of what was being aired on the radio. I learned the duties of the Operations Director and worked closely with the ability to maintain his position when he was not able to be at work. I had a very positive and close relationship with – more... my co-workers working side by side available to help in any way needed. I would receipt all money that came in through members and underwriters. Taking phone calls both for operations as well as through members and underwriters was a daily task to insure that all problems or issues were resolved in a calm friendly manner. All of the job was enjoyable and I really enjoyed helping my co-workers as well as working with members. I gained respect from my co-workers, members and business owners who paid for underwriting. The hardest part of the job was fundraising/pledge drives where I was responsible for raising $25,000.00 twice per year. I am a good manager and I enjoyed being able to solve problems and giving direction when my co-workers needed the help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Student Athletic Trainer (Former Employee), Portales, NMMay 24, 2013
Pros: learning about injuries
Cons: long hours
I had a lot of learning experiences and loved every minute of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with great people.
Director of Campus Union and Auxiliary Operations (Former Employee), Portales, NMMarch 28, 2013
Pros: a good place to work.
Admininstration of three departments with budgets in excess of $2.5M annually in sales. Supervised four full time and 12 part time staff. Had responsiblities for custodial staff in the student center and housing as well as event management for all events in the center. Managed the contract for food services with over 45 employees.
There was no hardest – more... part of the job. I had a lot of great people working for me and with me all over campus. It was a good place to work and live. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Great people to work with.
Colorguard Instructor (Former Employee), Portales, NMJanuary 21, 2013
This job was very rewarding. I got to do something that I absolutely love and miss doing myself. This job gives me the opportunity to work with students and lead them. The hardest part of the job was nothing really except maybe getting everyone to show up. Other than that it was a fairly easy job that I love doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Strength and Conditioning for Eastern Athletics (Former Employee), Portales, NMSeptember 13, 2012
A typical day of work would consist of strength and conditioning with a variety of athletes. I learned that working with people you like makes any job that much better. What makes this place great to work is not the area its the people and relationships you will make. The hardest part of the job is the long hours, but the most enjoyable part of the – more... job is watching your athletes excel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great students and staff to work with
Upward Bound Outreach Coordinator (Former Employee), Portales, NMAugust 9, 2012
Pros: very flexible hours
On a typical day I would sing in and do research for the UB newsletter. If my bosses had other tasks for me I would get to them immediately, such as contacting students through phone, requesting transcripts from schools, etc.
The hardest part of the job must have been doing a yearly report the UB office had to turn in. Everyone was busy from October – more... through November looking through old files, retaining previous student information to finish the report on the computer database.
The most enjoyable part was being around great people and students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment overall
Upward Bound Outreach Coordinator (Former Employee), Portales, NMAugust 7, 2012
Pros: everyone was very friendly
Cons: no cons at all
a typical day at ENMU involved going to classes and going to my Upward Bound job in between until 5 o'clock every afternoon. There was always enough time for breaks in between classes and work. I was able to have smooth transitions every day.
The people I worked with were very nice and i loved working for them.
The hardest part of ENMU for me must have – more... been my calculus courses which i found were very challenging but overall my experience at ENMU was great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a graduate asst for men's basketball
Graduate Assistant Basketball Coach (Former Employee), Portales, NMApril 26, 2012
I loved the job as an asst coach at ENMU as it taught me a lot in the year I was there !!!