Eataly Employee Reviews

Found 45 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, just look for advancement yourself.
BUSSER-RUNNER-BARBACK (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 13, 2017
Eataly was a blast to work at, all the folks there are friendly and willing to help out newer employees. Management could use some work but everything else is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees, bad management
Guest Relations Ambassador (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 12, 2017
I've learned a lot while working at Eataly however, there was not a lot of advancement opportunities for the staff. Overall management was incompetent and often times did questionable decisions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
SOUS CHEF (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 10, 2017
Fun place to work, everyday is different. Challenging yourself is what you have to do to succeed here. A lot of competition between chefs and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flatiron host
Hostess (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2017
Pizza/Pasta is a busy, confusing, fast paced restaurant, and if you don't know that when you apply, I don't know what to tell you. In regards to the job, I was promised things that they were not in the position to offer me. The pay is terrible, NO ONE CAN LIVE OFF WHAT THEY PAY. They make blanket statements about not being able to move up, and when management feels like being involved they do. They also don't treat their hard working people right. I was so excited to work there, and was sorely disappointed.
Pros
looks good on a resume
Cons
pay, work environment, management works when they want to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMay 22, 2017
i enjoyed working there and the managers were great. this is a great job if your new to the working life. you will gained alot of experience. i recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, Minimal opportunity for growth
Wine Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 15, 2017
I was a retail employee for 9 months at Eataly Chicago. Management showed a pattern of disrespect for myself and my fellow employees within my department. Very political in their decision making on who could be promoted. Low wage, minimal benefits, severe lack of recognition for hard work.
Pros
Free lunch and the occasional class at La Scuola
Cons
Little room for growth, no recognition of hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no coment
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 29, 2017
I love my job and the management is very good breacks are managble and free lunches are very good I love the schedule accomplish my job on time find time going by easy . Cleaning job has no hard time as long it is done acordenly with rules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 11, 2017
Eataly is a very cool place to work. Because it is retail as well a restaurant the hours can suck for some. For me it was a great experience, I was able to learn so much of the business, so much of Italy, so much of the food, wine, and cheese. I was responsible of a lot as facilities technician as it is constantly changing, evolving place.
Pros
Learn a culture, a region of the world and meet some great people
Cons
No raises, no evaluations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 7, 2017
Typical work day is fast paced and demanding. I learned great skills such as customer service. Management was helpful. I really enjoyed the wide array of people who walked through the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first time food experience
Stocker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 31, 2017
I had fun working there and meeting people from different backgrounds, it's very diverse. I would suggest anyone that wants to try food service to start here
Pros
you get to try food
Cons
stay late and clean up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Eataly?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 28, 2017
A day at the Pizza Pasta restaurant at Eataly was hectic. There were many rushes through out the day and there were often many upset customers. I learned through that to deal with people and work on my manner of approaching a disgruntled customer. The managers ran things as smoothly as they could and often had the staffs back if there was an issue with a customer. The staff was hard working and professional. The hardest part of the job was dealing with a constant flow of people for hours on end. The most enjoyable was learning about wines and tasting the new foods being offered on the menu.
Pros
We got to taste new dishes at pre shift and learned about wine tasting.
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to learn and grow within the company
Stock Associate/Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 22, 2017
Eataly is a work place that grew to feel like a family,they taught me so much within the company. My co-workers helped me to be the best grocery stocker that I can be. I love to work with the customers they are wonderful to be around.
Pros
free lunch, working downtown chicago, great eviroment
Cons
not enough pay, hard to move up in the company, not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just your average retail job with overpriced wares and food
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 16, 2017
Typically dead during the Fall and Winter. Business picks up over the Summer and that's where people get most of their hours. Management is lacking in several departments also with communications of what sales are still going on and also terrible advertisement. Often prices aren't adjusted for sale items until the day of thus halting the faster pace needed to ring up guests efficiently. The most enjoyable thing was the staff classes which were free and pretty educational.
Pros
Healthcare plan, CTA Benefits program
Cons
Staff meal, discount, hours, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eatly
Cashier/Retailer/ Maintenance (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 27, 2017
i worked as a Cashier i also did Food prep,Worked different stations,train different workers and also made sure every area i worked was clean an fully restocked
Pros
great co workers
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I suggest part time
Cashier/Demo Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 23, 2016
Nice place to work and learn more about different types of Italian foods. I enjoyed the staff classes and working with some of the people, it's a little over whelming but once you get used to the location it become second nature.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  200 5th AvenueDecember 21, 2016
Great place to work and learn I learned a lot about healthy and organic eating . Great people to work with and management really works with you my manger Dane was amazing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eat better live better
Warehouse Receiver (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 21, 2016
Great place to work depending on department. Co-workers are efficient, bosses are understanding, customers were pleased. Can improve with work division between employees but the job got done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work.
Head Hostess/Receptonist/Server (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 23, 2016
I've been working for Eataly for about 4 years now. Overall I do not have any negative reviews or experiences to write about. My co-workers were the best part about working there. I have created long term relationships with most of them. My first hospitality job and I've learned so much about myself and the field. The most enjoyable part about my job is the interactions I have on a daily bases with new people. I get to put my people skills to work everyday.
Pros
knowledge about food and drinks.
Cons
inexperience managment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 5, 2016
Terrible management and job environment. You will go above and beyond and no one will recognize your effort. There are certain people that they have higher expectations for because they have a better work ethic. However, everything is expected from those few people and the rest of the employees are allowed to slack because..well that's just what they do all the time. Management does not take the initiative to try and ask more of the people that are slacking. There was a manager that breached my privacy and they failed to fire her even though what she did was completely illegal. What was done to me at this job was not only illegal but more importantly..immoral. This place completely traumatized me and they did nothing about it. If you have any regard for your well-being I highly suggest you don't work here.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
management, short breaks, slow register system
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 2, 2016
Upper management promotes staff into management based upon favoritism and not their ability to manage. During the time I have been here, we have lost great managers/ leaders and have been replaced with sub par replacements. The store lacks direction from upper management because they have no idea what they are doing
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Upper management and the lack of hospitality direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Eataly. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

66%
33 ratings
Add your rating