Edison Chouest Offshore Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Edison Chouest
Captain of a 240' offshore supply boat (Former Employee) –  Bossier City, LANovember 29, 2017
Edison Chouest was a company that owned a lot of offshore supply boats that supplied the oil field with all types of material needed for drilling and finding oil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Chief / Relief Engineer (Former Employee) –  Galliano, LAOctober 26, 2017
This is a great company to work for there is many opportunities to advance in your career with them. The training center is excellent and working with everyone to get the job done is like working with family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Place to work
LEAD A/B DECKHAND (Former Employee) –  Cutt Off, LASeptember 26, 2017
I was on only vessels in my time there. The captains I worked with were all very good captains and I would work for any of them again. Pay wasn't the best, but it was fair. Good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard long nights at sea
Deck Seaman (Former Employee) –  Cut Off, LASeptember 4, 2017
for a young man who has no family that's trying to save some good money. at the time the oilfield was booming and paying good money but now not so sure.
Pros
good money
Cons
slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chouest excellent company
2nd mate (Former Employee) –  Galliano, LAAugust 31, 2017
This is the company that motivated me and had the training available for my advancement to becoming a Captain from a deckhand and for that, I am truly grateful. Wish the industry would pick up so i can return.
Pros
hands on experience
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is no fun to work at the USA office too stressful
Operation Manager (Former Employee) –  Cut Off, LAAugust 16, 2017
The Office in Brazil, the Senior Manager, like you to work long hours, the working area is very stressful and cut throat.

The USA office is the same.

The managers hide a lot of stuff that goes with the company.
Pros
Yes have a Cafeteria
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly Offshore Supply Vessels
Captain (Former Employee) –  Galliano, LAAugust 15, 2017
Unprofessional company. Pay is good when the oil/gas industry is good, benefits and pay go down or are taken away completely at owner's whim. This fleet is plagued with the 'shrimp boat jockies' and the office is plagued with the 'bayou billy' mentality. When a vessel gets stacked, and if you don't live in the 985 area code, you will lose your job. No job security whatsoever!
Pros
Good pay when the industry is doing well
Cons
When the industry is not doing well, expect your pay to be cut, and benefits taken away!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Able Bodied Seaman (Former Employee) –  Galliano, LAAugust 3, 2017
Good company. Great leadership. The work environment is ideal for anyone interested in a strong brotherhood. The company even have their own training center.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive
Offshore Supply Boat Operator (CaptIn) (Current Employee) –  Port Fourchon, LAAugust 3, 2017
As a company in the offshore industry they provide alot of training. Some with cost and majority without. They go above and beyond to be the best.

There is good tech support available around the clock majority of the time. All around it's a great job when oil prices meet their demands.
Pros
Competetive pay, great equipment.
Cons
As any job it has up and downs. For most its the time away from family and missing holidays, birthdays ect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place to work with many task
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 23, 2017
This was a relaxed place to work and I was given the chance to make the job my own. I was the office administer for two VP of Sales. They were good to me and allowed me to handle things to my liking.
Pros
Relaxed, given the ability to make the job my own, great managers
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Owned and Operated
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cut Off, LAJuly 18, 2017
ECO has been a wonderful place to work. Upper management and ownership are accessible and genuinely care for their employees. The work environment is pleasant and safe.
Pros
Family owned and rooted in the community.
Cons
Run like a mom and pop at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Vessel Subsea Crane Operator (Current Employee) –  Larose, LAJuly 1, 2017
working in the crane all day doing lifts and transports,learned to do without errors. No problems with management.doing good time management. Jobs Completed.
Pros
good food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Warehouse Hand/Clerk/Runner (Former Employee) –  Cut Off, LAJune 22, 2017
Majority of the people here were terrible. When I worked there, people where trying to start trouble with any and every reason in the book and made it a toxic work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is whats called the bayou boy click if you fit in you're good
Master (Former Employee) –  Larose, LAJune 13, 2017
For most part good company to work for good equipment awesome mechanics and port captains that care, if you fit in the clicks around the company then competant coordinators usually not to consistent.
Pros
Vessels and equipment
Cons
fitting in the bayou boy click
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They provided daily food and lounge with satellite television
Coach Mentor Supervisor Able seaman (Former Employee) –  Cutoff LAMay 23, 2017
Daily basic operation, . oversaw safety balance a boat manage the deck loading and offloading. the hardest part of the job working under the sun, and the most enjoyable part of the job is navigating the ship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ab seaman
Offshore worker/AB Rigger (Current Employee) –  Cut Off, LAApril 14, 2017
they promise lots of thing and did not give it but yet I stayed with them.
rigging {loading and offloading a boat with any supply the oil rig needs
painting
buffing
sanding
grinding
mooring (tie up and untie the boat}

Its very hard work but I do it its labor intensive
Pros
pay
Cons
being away from my children all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company
Deckhand (Former Employee) –  LouisianaApril 4, 2017
The best company I have worked for. They were polite and very considerate of all the employees. They took good care of there guys. They always made sure we came first
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the same company it was 20 years ago
Executive Assistant - Legal/Contracts/Marketing (Former Employee) –  Cut Off, LAMarch 10, 2017
Not the same company it was 20 years ago. Used to feel like it was a family company and that they cared about their employees. But they are only focused on profit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productuive and Intresting Place
AB Deckhand (Current Employee) –  Cut Off, LAMarch 7, 2017
Good company to work for far as health insurance and other benefits goes. Does not recognize upgrade in license like I was told when I was first hired on. Job and family balance does not exist.
Pros
Three meals a day for free. And great health insurnace
Cons
Away from loved ones and the pay for the sacrifice is not worth it
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow
Chief Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cut Off, LAMarch 3, 2017
Enjoyed working at location, but with last oil industry decrease was force to be laid off from company. Hoping the industry will bounce back and looking forward to possible return to oil industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Edison Chouest Offshore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 104 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

Edison Chouest Offshore Reviews by Location