Edison State College Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun co-workers
Garden Café staff (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLJanuary 24, 2017
Great college student job. Flexible hours and shift.
Wonderful co-worker time goes by fast when I at work. Great Boss very understanding.
Pros
overtime if needed
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you would love it
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Punta Gorda, FLSeptember 12, 2016
I really don't feel like explain myself just try and do it own your own your would like it and I think this over view is dumb I dint have time for that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLSeptember 2, 2015
Great Place to work.Typical day at work for a Tutor is helping out students with the topic they are struggling with.The management is very good.As long as we do our job, they treat us very nicely.The hardest part are the days that never end.The most enjoyable part of the job is having an opportunity to help someone master the topic they were struggling with.
Pros
Have Access to fridge to store lunch.Can use break room to take break or eat lunch.
Cons
Occasionally you will get a difficult student or have a day that does not end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with many skills to learn!
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLJune 18, 2015
I love working here! This is my third job in this school. I have worked in three departments and I loved every single one because I learned so much. Many new skills. I am grateful to my coworkers. They have helped me so much.
Cons
Short breaks, system is not great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Where You Learn
Peer Tutor/Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Punta Gorda, FLJune 1, 2015
Every day holds something different working here. There are daily projects that need to be done, and they are never the same. You get the opportunity to interact with students from school that you may not otherwise know. As a tutor, you are widely respected by your peers, as well as by faculty and staff. The best part about the job is that it is entirely based around your class schedule. You have the chance to make your own hours, and schedule appointments only when you have to be on campus. So really, there is no added expense for commuting, and you don't have to work on days you don't want.
Pros
Flexible schedule, networking opportunities, earn respect of professors
Cons
Management expectations do not match pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive and appreciative place to work
Adjunct instructor (Former Employee) –  Fort. Myers, FLMay 11, 2015
I loved the positive atmosphere and great appreciation the administration exhibited to all employees, including adjuncts.

I left to return to my home in MA, but i was told if I ever returned to Florida to live, I would have a job there.

I was scheduled to teach a course on cultural diversity in education but moved back to MA.

Financial compensation was not as good as MA., but I still loved the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My best educational experience
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Punta Gorda, FLFebruary 14, 2015
Excellent work environment and good technical support. I really love work with them. It was a good experience and help me to improve my personal and professional performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Peer Architect (Former Employee) –  Punta Gorda, FLJuly 29, 2014
I enjoyed working with the students and helping them with their projects and papers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT experience and a very rewarding career
Police Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLJuly 24, 2014
Great school with excellent staff and faculty and wonderful students, Retired as a police sergeant and commanding officer at the Ciller County Campus. The college recently changed the name of the school to Florida South Western State College. The main campus is located in Ft. Myers, Fl.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Fort Myers , FLJune 9, 2014
*Productive Enviroment
*Positive Co-workers
*Scanning , Indexing , Customer Service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Environment
Financial Aid/ VA Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ft Myers, FLMay 30, 2014
Fast paced work production. lunch break 1/2 hour. Poor Management in various department/ areas.
Pros
Some Benefits
Cons
High stress/ hostile environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Knowledgeable
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  ft myers FLMay 13, 2014
If you are a student and are looking for a part time job while going to school, student assistant programs are right for you.

Working at the College tests you ability to listen to others while giving the best knowledge to the people you are assisting. It is basic office work while assisting the staff in any way they need. It is very laid back and flexible with your school schedule so you will not feel tied down to a job while you focus on your school work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Atmosphere with diligent workers
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLMarch 28, 2014
Though the hours are extended can be intense and lengthened during rush periods at the beginning and ends of the semesters due to the volume of students their system works efficiently.
Pros
Convenient location, and break room.
Cons
Office space.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Assistant
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLMarch 21, 2014
A great place to work if you are a student at Edison State College, very flexible with work schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLMarch 9, 2014
Worked with students struggling with the content area of English. This included students who were returning to school seeking a college degree, as well as stduents who were new to America.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a temp person, so don't feel qualified to review
Temporary Assignment (Former Employee) –  College Parkway, Ft. Myers, FLDecember 13, 2013
A lot of excess personnel that have been working there for years, waiting retirement. Insecure staff.
Pros
Very nice staff
Cons
employees feel their job isn't important
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unreliable employment
Student Assistant, Tutor (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLAugust 27, 2013
Working in the tutoring center at Edison College involved meeting with students one on one and assisting them in math.

My least favorite thing about this job was it's complete dependance on the student showing up in order for me to get paid for my time. Often the student that I was supposed to tutor would not show up for the session without any notice. However, it was very enjoyable for me to assist someone in understanding a concept that was difficult for them and helping them pass their class.
Pros
Helping others
Cons
Few hours, low pay, students not making their appointments
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good people
Cafeteria Worker (Current Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLAugust 24, 2013
They are friendly and very helpful. I like the job a lot. I would like to keep the job and work another job at the same time sso im able to afford my tuition.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small town college
Full-time student (Former Employee) –  Punta Gorda, FLMay 23, 2013
typical community college. Small class rooms with a lot of highschool kids attending classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Punta Gorda, FLMay 8, 2013
Fun experience with different levels of students and being involved with the school.
Pros
the atmosphere
Cons
no growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Edison State College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

Edison State College Reviews by Location