Find companies:
Educate Online
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Educate Online Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Online Educator (Current Employee), RemoteMay 17, 2014
Pros: self nominating
Cons: new leaders are not as nice
I love being able to sign on and do what I love in the comfort of my own home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative & Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 4, 2014
Pros: the pros where the special events for doing a job well done.
Cons: there where no cons
Typical day can be very busy. As being the Logistics Coordinator, I had the opportunity to also become the Administrative Assistant to the Director of Human Resources. I can describe management and co-workers as being perfect, they where always ready to pitch in when needed. There wasn't any hard part to the job because we worked as a team and the most – more... enjoyable part of the job was satisfying our clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
sales manger (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 28, 2014
Pros: great boss
Cons: very . tiring
Everyone was friendly and caring always reached out to help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother
Higher ed tutor (Former Employee), OnlineApril 20, 2014
Pros: easy especially if you don't like work.
Cons: no work.
I'm fairly tolerant when it comes to most work situations; if it were all fun and games it wouldn't be work! But this had nothing to recommend it. The compensation was way below normal for higher ed. The training was haphazard and confusing. There were too many management points of contact to keep track of...it was a mess. I haven't the remotest idea – more... why I was hired since they had trouble finding students for me to even do my demo sessions with. When it came time to work...there was nothing for me to do. I got no hours. Zero. Bizarre. Why hire when you have no need? I asked several times. I made up a schedule that was in keeping with their stated needs...still nothing. Two months in, I gave up. The oddest company I've ever 'worked' for. – less

May 7, 2014

The Higher Education part of the business was brand new as of 2013 and everyone hired for this program was brought on as seasonal per diem part time employees for that reason. The need was unknown. Regarding too many points of contact - we acknowledge this was an issue and restructured the Education team last month to provide a more streamlined experience with less points of contact for all involved. With the release of the new learning environment platform the whole training program is being redesigned this summer as well. A lot of positive changes. Sorry to see you go before all the improvements.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work from home, seasonal work.
Enrollment Advisor (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 16, 2013
Pros: work on your own
Cons: seasonal and no benefits
A great seasonal job that allows you to offer free computers and online tutoring to underprivileged children. I would clock in and network with parents to introduce them to the program. The management is fine. It's pretty laissez-faire. They only want numbers. I had no co-workers, in Memphis. The hardest part of the job was convincing parents that it – more... wasn't a scam. The most enjoyable part was helping underprivileged kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized
Program Manager (Former Employee), baltimore, mdDecember 12, 2013
Pros: free parking, able to advance easily, not micromanaged
Cons: no job security, lots of travel in the fall season
I am not sure this company still exists, a lot of people were laid off and the objective of the company changed. I was let to manage my own accounts and I was not micromanaged. There was a lot of work and travel for some which led to many accounts and a profitable year. I learned a lot from working in this field and would love to work in the education – more... field again as a program manager. I did enjoy my team members, they were always willing to help with questions and suggest ways to proceed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Online Instructor (Current Employee), Baltimore, MarylandNovember 6, 2013
Educate Online is an excellent place to work. The Online Environment enables instructors to work comfortably from home. The employee is able to choose her own hours. The lessons are structured by professional educators based on careful assessment of each student. Each week, instructors are provided with updates on what is going on in the company. Each – more... month, employees have meetings to discuss development of skills and questions instructors have. The staff is very upfront, organized and professional. Educate Online is an excellent company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun atmosphere good work enviroment
Enrollment Advisor (Former Employee), Detroit, MISeptember 6, 2013
Pros: got to travel
Cons: long drives
wa a good place to work and it was fun dealing with children and the parents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Educate Online
Online Instructor (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 14, 2013
Pros: flexibility, peer support, great lesson plans, well-organized company
Cons: teachers are maxed out at 29 hours.
A typical session for me runs this way: I come into the online classroom platform about 15 minutes early. I read over the previous teachers session notes, I look at the individual plans and I create my classrooms. I always have a Fun Fact trivia for the students to guess such as "What animal on Earth makes the loudest noise?"(It's a blue whale). I have – more... written notes to the students in the chat boxes welcoming them and I like to start out every session with positive reinforcement. Classroom management is an art online as you only have 1 hour(sometimes 2) with your student and you have to be ready when the student comes in to greet, make the students feel comfortable and get the lessons moving. The hardest part of the job is having new students a lot of the time and not being able to consistently see one or two. The most enjoyable part is reading excerpts from our newsletter where parents write in about their child's success and happiness! It is also rewarding when a supervisor or a student compliments the way I handled a session! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced virtual company preparing for Education's changing world
educator and primary assessment duties (Current Employee), home officeApril 30, 2013
Pros: flexibility, opportunities, colleagues and peers, management
Cons: teaching volume can vary but is improving
Educate Online (EO) is a place where educators with broad expertise or specific subject matter expertise can find multiple opportunities to pursue a career in education.

If you have experience in teaching writing, higher math, reading, or beginning math, EO has a place where you can into the company.

Flexibility in your daily schedule and having some – more... computer technical skills will be a big assest as you progress through your career path at EO. New jobs are being created every day as the company moves forward in expanding its focus and position in the on-line education market. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very convenient to work from home
Online teacher (Current Employee), Work from home-MichiganApril 8, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: seasonal
Great flexibility and many opportunities to grow professionally. Co-workers are friendly and helpful. It is very rewarding work helping people learn new skills. Hardest part of the job is trying to work efficiently without actually seeing the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated educators united for benefit of students
Instructor (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAApril 4, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, work from home, great people
Cons: don't get to see our student's faces
I am so impressed with the passion that my coworkers have for the education of our students. These folks love what they do and it shows. Very good people, extremely flexible hours, lots of opportunity to learn additional facets in the field of education. I love what I do here and the people that I have the privilege to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Online Instructor (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 15, 2013
Nice part time job, but lately have not been getting any hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer -- A rising star in the education tech sector
Manager (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 29, 2012
Pros: work from home, good pay and benefits, help students
Cons: typical company growing pains-being resolved over time
Educate Online is the employer of the future in the education space. A solid, proven product helping students across the U.S. with the ability for its staff to work from home. The new Executive team has a great vision for the company. It will be great to see how far the company goes in the next 2-3 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodoctive Place
Caseload Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 2, 2012
I love working for Educate Online. It gave me the flexibilty to set my own hours around my schedule. It is an awesome opportunity to get to work from home but also feel like I am making a difference by helping students! It is the perfect work-life balance!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 29, 2012
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: no room for advancement
Too many virtual supervisors and not enough employees to supervise. The co-workers were nice and friendly and always willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting work place
Field Marketing Representative (Former Employee), GAAugust 22, 2012
I enjoyed working for this company. I wish it was more than a seasonal position. On a typical day, I would visit the leads on my list of leads, which included name, address and phone number of certain students and parents. To minimize my door to door activity, I would arrange community events such as block parties that would attract the people and at – more... that time offer them the free program. I liked the fact that I was able to help students get the tutoring they needed and at no cost to the parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible
Instructor (Former Employee), Akron, OHJuly 9, 2012
Pros: teach from home
Cons: pay
Teaching online is difficult (3 different classrooms going at one time with 3 different subjects) and got paid 10 bucks an hour. They did supply all the equipment and I could do this from home until my kids got old enough to need constant supervision (toddlers). Was easy to get out of teaching if something came up, and easy to pick up hours as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educate-Online tutoring program
Bilingual Call Center Customer Representative (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 1, 2012
Providing excellent and professional customer service to enroll students in the online tutoring program
Handling a heavy amount of inbound and outbound calls, providing information to families Nationwide regarding enrollment into the program (benefits, etc)
Assisting families with setting up the equipment for the program and assisting families with – more... basic technical troubleshooting to ensure computer equipment worked properly for tutoring program – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part-time/Flex Opportunities
Technical Support Representative (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 18, 2012
Pros: flexibile shcedules; autonomy
Cons: minimal training; <40 hours per week
EO offers work-from-home/mobile positions to provide marketing, sales, and technical support via phone and email.

About Educate Online

Educate Online focuses on improving academic outcomes for K20 students. Our Guided Learning Solution delivers competency based – Read more

Educate Online Photos