Educational Testing Service Employee Reviews

Showing all 132 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Expect Bit Challenges
SR. BRAND MARKETING CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJMarch 10, 2017
Overall, the work is fine, but it's not the most exciting place you'll ever work. There are far too many unproductive conference calls where entire teams of cross functional people are on the line. You could have over 3 dozen people on a 2 hour long call.

Management is a bit unfocused and this leads to middle management assuming the roll of decision makers. While I'm fine with that, it's not fair to be second guessed by management which had no opinion until a decision was made.
Pros
You don't break a sweat
Cons
You'll most likely be bored.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work environment
Clerical Worker (Former Employee) –  Ewing, NJFebruary 22, 2017
working at educational testing services i improved my computer skills opening and using different programs on the computer such as micro soft word,powerpoint etc......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good side job working from home
SAT Rater (Telecommute) (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJFebruary 22, 2017
ETS is a good job if you need the additional income. However, hours are not guaranteed and the scoring leaders are not consistent with the feedback. You have to have a Bachelors degree; you have to train and pass before starting. Job can become redundant because you will be reading and scoring essays the entire shift; shifts are 4 & 8 hour shifts. Every time you score a new essay you will have to train and pass calibration in order to score for that shift.
Pros
Great additional income, great learning experience, most scoring leaders are very helpful, you get to choose which shifts you would like to work
Cons
Hours are not guaranteed, you will have your scheduled hours cancelled, different scoring leaders score the same things differently which means negative feedback, doesn't seem to be any opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to enhance your craft.
Scorer (Current Employee) –  NJFebruary 19, 2017
ETS is a team oriented environment which provides lots of support. It requires you to work quickly but efficiently and independently. You set your own schedule as you are a per diem employee. The hardest part of the job is to stay alert when reading.
Pros
you get to work from home and set your own hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, yet professional place to work
Administer ACT/SAT to students (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 14, 2017
We proctor students trying to get into college which is ALWAYS rewarding. Students are eager to pass and show so much enthusiasm when taking the tests.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Scoring Leader (Current Employee) –  Ewing, NJFebruary 13, 2017
Can make your own schedule and work from home. Shift availability isn't the greatest, but when there's a heavy workload its great.
Pros
Work from home, flexible hours
Cons
Unpredicable scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Work, If You Get the Hours
SAT Reader (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 6, 2017
Flexible work schedules, unfortunately work is never guaranteed on a month to month basis. Management is relatively hands-off but is always available should questions or the need arise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal part-time job for the working adult
Constructed Response Scorer (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 3, 2017
This company gives their employees the opportunity to make their own schedule and work as much or less as they need to. Although the shift availability is a hit and miss, this gives busy adults the opportunity to earn more money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Security Team Lead (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJanuary 26, 2017
2. In the approvalprocess.bpel we need to expand approval task in that we need to assign the new attributes. In this we need to configure XPath value.
3. In the approvaltask.task we can configure the new attribute based on business requirements
4. In approvaltask.task where you can use the expression builder with custom attribute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
ETS Employee (Former Employee) –  TexasJanuary 22, 2017
The best thing about this company is the people. Almost all co-workers are supportive and will help out when necessary to make sure work deadlines are not missed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ETS was the place where I learned to love the Contact Center business.
Call Center Business Analyst/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJJanuary 18, 2017
ETS was an excellent to learn the in and outs of the Contact Center business. I found it an good learning environment where mistakes were allowed and viewed as an opportunity to learn from.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for extra income
Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) (Former Employee) –  work from home - TexasJanuary 12, 2017
Very flexible- able to balance work and home
Alternate shifts are available: 4hr. and/or 8hr.- during morning, afternoon, or evening- up to midnight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Test Administrator for SAT
SAT Test Question Administrator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 10, 2017
This was a brief testing position that lasted just a few weeks over Christmas break from school. ETS was trying to implement some new/more questions for the SAT test that was relevant to the MidWest culture.
Pros
Great pay and flexibility
Cons
Short position to fulfill a research need
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Unknown (Current Employee) –  Ewing, NJDecember 12, 2016
ETS have the potential to be a great place to work with the right people in the right positions. Was always taught if you don't have anything nice to say then don't say anything. So yeah I'm done.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for Educators to work from home
Scoring Rater for TOEFLibt (Current Employee) –  Ewing, NJDecember 7, 2016
Educational Testing Service (ETS) afforded me the opportunity to take advantage of early retirement. It allowed me to enjoy two years at home while retired and the chance to seek other educational employment while keeping active as a Scoring Rater during the evening.
Pros
Work on computer around submitted working shift
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, successful environment to work in.
Testing Center Mail Clerk Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Township of Ewing, NJDecember 3, 2016
Great Place to work! Great environment, friendly staff, exceptional hours, very understanding staff, co-workers! The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to be who you are without limitations all positivity.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ets
Constructed Response Scorer Redesigned SAT - Rater (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJNovember 6, 2016
This organization offers exceptional training and support throughout the certification process as well as during scoring sessions. During scoring, employees are able to contact the group leader using various methods to ask questions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hiset
Bilingual Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Ewing, NJAugust 29, 2016
great job, i loved it, a temporary position but employer were very nice loved the hours and my team work was the great.my assignment got completed and done reason i no longer with them. but if i can go back i would love to go back.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't beat the dress code
Online Essay Reader (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJAugust 10, 2016
While I appreciate the benefit of only working from home and the scheduling flexibility, the pay has not had a significant change in more than 10 years, and that was a 10% cut. It can be kind of boring, but the online management system has improved greatly and it's reassuring to know that you need to have a graduate degree to qualify for this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning
Supervisor/Administrator (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAAugust 6, 2016
I enjoyed instructing students on the S.A.T tests. Its a long quiet day but enjoyable. For the proctors and supervisors we got breakfast and coffee in the morning available to us throughout the day. Got to read a good book while I was there. during tests.
Pros
quiet time
Cons
getting up super early and to quiet sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Educational Testing Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 132 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Educational Testing Service Reviews by Location