Find companies:
Edward Jones
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
326 reviews

Edward Jones Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a sales job pure and simple
FINANCIAL ADVISOR TRAINEE (Former Employee), Covington, LAOctober 2, 2014
You are a number, and you have sales numbers to meet. Financial Advisors do not talk about how they have or can help clients; They focus on how much money they make and the trips they have won. Of course, this is done on the backs of their clients, by recommending client's 'invest' in offerings with high fees.

It's disappointing what they are doing – more... to people under the guise of 'helping.' – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent culture with a shared vision
BOA Hiring - Team Leader (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: excellent learning environment, good benefits
Edward Jones was an excellent place to work. It cultivates a wonderful learning environment. I learned so much by working here. My leadership was extremely supportive of my development and wanted to see all of us do our best. They were also very good at sharing the vision of the firm and keeping our strategy aligned with that vision.

The most challenging – more... aspect of my job was that my area was working with the financial advisors during a stressful time in their business. The Branch Office Administrator is their entire staff and when they leave, they have lost half their team. The financial advisors are then left to support the clients on their own. This creates work for us that is highly urgent. Time is of the essence and it is imperative that you work smart and get the work completed in a very timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), River Ridge, LASeptember 25, 2014
Great company to work for! Gave me everything I needed to be successful, however, I did not find it to be a good fit for me at this time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), spring hill,tnSeptember 25, 2014
good place to work if you like to work very hard. must know a lot of people with money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Financial Planner (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: free to advance
Cons: door to door sales to get started.
Just wasn't for me. Having to go door to door to acquire business was not my cup of tea.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to work independently.
Branch Office Administrator (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 17, 2014
Office Manager many times with running the office alone. Great regional team network with room for bonuses and advancements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work and grow with
Senior Branch Office Administrator (Former Employee), Port Charlotte, FLSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: two person office, large home office support, unlimited learning capabilities, benefits
Cons: excessive paperwork procedures, workload assigned for one person
I started this job not knowing anything about investments or the stock market. The training I received taught me an unmeasurable amount of information. My main focus was to deliver amazing customer service in any way to help clients. It was a two person office with the financial adviser and myself enabling a close working relationship to best suit the – more... business needs. The hardest part of the job was the amount of pressure put on my position. The most enjoyable part was working with clients and being able to help them reach their financial needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HOOOah!
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Fairview, TNSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: to much travel.
Would do it all over again! To all my Army brethren blessing to you all!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to build a book of business and make a lot of money
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Fairview, ORSeptember 2, 2014
Spend most of the day in early career going door to door and prospecting. Then work with those prospects to create a financial plan. Work schedule is all based on how successful you want to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Good Training, Terrible ramp up period
FINANCIAL ADVISOR (Current Employee), MidwestSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: own business, fellow advisors, home office
Cons: starting pay, expectation increases too soon
I love the company and the culture but depending on your situation getting ramped up and successfully bringing in enough clients so you can make ends meet can take well over a year. In the mean time your pay decreases at a rapid rate so you have to make it up on your commissions. If you don't then you fall below expectations and could be out on your – more... tail with no severance and no benefits. I'd say it's a good place to start if your single. If your a family man it is a big gamble that you are going to make enough money even if you bust your tail and do everything they say to do. Client creation and asset accumulation is very tough and if you don't meet the right people and they don't have a good reason to leave their current FA and bring assets to you then good luck living on the small investors. You need to be bringing in at least $200K a month new just to survive. The commission rate the first three years is terrible. The insurance is major medical so be prepared to pay all your doctors bills because it's only good if you get into a major accident. Be sure you ask up front about the salary ramping down. They were not up front with me on this. I was told for 2 years I'd have a guarantee base while I built my business. Wrong! At month 10 because I received a Goodknight my salary is going down. Goodknight does not mean your life is on easy street. Veteran FA's give you the bottom of the barrel and you are supposed to be able to make something out of it. It helps them with their business and in my opinion hurts yours. Meanwhile they give you their worst clients and EDJ suddenly thinks because they gave you these clients your salary should go down and your monthly expectations go up. If the Veteran FA couldn't do it why do they think a new FA can. Mine are mostly elderly people who are drawing down every month and very small accounts. EDJ needs to give new FA's a full 2 year salary and more time with Goodknight clients before they expect increased productivity. If they did that then maybe more Advisors would succeed.

If you want to give this a go you better pile up your savings because you are going to dig into it or worse your retirement to keep the dream alive and keep working this job. I have found after one year selling it is probably not going to work out for me. Others in my class have been fortunate and inherited $30 million dollar offices but I am new/new with a very poor Goodknight that is actually making it harder for me to continue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Risk Manager, Operations Specialist (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 1, 2014
Gained a lot of experience. Enjoyed working with coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in a professional manner
Specialist-Net New Assets (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 25, 2014
My daily role may not be displayed for public eye due to sensitive material.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold calling and prospecting
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Maricopa, AZAugust 23, 2014
Pros: work and life balance
Cons: prospecting
To much work for not enough pay. Felt like you were always being strung along to the next level, but there never really was one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for independent skills and client contact
Senior Branch Office Administrator (Former Employee), York, PAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: bonuses based on performance and client contact
Cons: one on one working relationship with a single adviser.
A typical day would involve some face to face client contact, phone work answering client questions, vendors, appointments and check in calls. Preparing requested reports for client appointments in the office. I would process all mail, deposits and insurance/annuity applications and their follow up. Possible marketing items such as advertising, compliance – more... reviews, training in the branch. The best part of my day was helping our clients and getting to know them. The hardest part was making clients feel comfortable during market down turns. A negative to my position was the lack of mobility once a Senior status was made, usually within 3-4 years. And that you are only working for one financial advisor. It requires a teamwork approach. I would prefer to work for more than one person, possibly a team, who appreciate the efforts of each and are compensated fairly for their contributions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for!
Branch Office Administrator (Current Employee), Cortland, NYAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great work environment, always room to move up and grow.
Cons: you are in an office all day.
Always busy, our particular branch is a level 10 branch and always busy with something to do, opening new accounts, updating current ones and staying in constant contact with all of our current clients. I am lucky enough to love my boss and the other Branch Office Assistances, the hardest part of the day is organizing and prioritizing what should be – more... done first when there is an over whelming amount to do in a day, because all of the clients are equally as important to us. The best part of the day is the interaction and community that goes on through out the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Edward Jones
Administrator (Current Employee), Mount Vernon, OHAugust 18, 2014
This is a great place to work. In a typical day, I manage the budget, prioritize tasks for employees, and deliver quick and efficient information regarding client's investments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Tempe, AZAugust 16, 2014
Edward Jones has a great work life balance and there are so many opportunities to advance your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Operations Specialist II -ACAT RECEIVES (Current Employee), Tempe, AZAugust 15, 2014
Great company to work for. People are amazing and are always helpful. As long as you put in the work and know what you want to do, possibilities are endless.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
FINANCE SERVICE SPECIALIST I & II (Former Employee), Tempe, AZAugust 14, 2014
Great Company to work for. They care about the input of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Edward Jones has an extensive support system in place.
OnCall Branch Office Administrator (Current Employee), Warwick, NYAugust 14, 2014
During a typical work day I would encounter phone calls from clients with questions about their investment accounts. I would open new accounts for clients, follow up on needed paperwork. I spent time calling clients to invite them to marketing events. Assisted in sending out mailings for upcoming events. Made calls that pertained to setting up events. – more... Completed scanning documents into the system. I worked closely with the Financial Advisor and with clients along with representatives from other companies. – less

About Edward Jones

At Edward Jones, we are a leader in the financial services industry serving nearly 7 million clients. We have more than 11,000 – Read more