Find companies:
Edward Jones
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
291 reviews

Edward Jones Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time Temporary basis
Branch Office Administrator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 23, 2013
Pros: steady employment
Cons: pay
Edward Jones is a great employer. But in my opinion, they do not compensate enough for their field office BOA positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 21, 2013
Pros: compensation package
Cons: commute
I enjoyed my 5 years with Edward Jones
I learned a great deal about Facilities and processing invoices.
My co-workers were fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unreasonable goals
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Sharpsburg, GADecember 19, 2013
Pros: extremely high income
Cons: poor training program over a very short period of time
To start with, you "can" earn an exceptional income with Edward Jones ....... if you can make 5 years. Here's a few things you need to be aware of if considering a financial advisory position with Edward Jones.
Edward Jones requires a home study program to achieve your series 7 and series 66 passing test scores. You will be paid an hourly wage during – more... this period of training. The time allotted for this is approximately 8 weeks to digest and comprehend about 1200 pages of financial legal ease. This will require about 70 to 80 hours a week of continuous study. Once you have completed this you are required to gather more than 300 face to face contacts with address and phone numbers of which you will cold call while at a 4 day training session in St Louis while instructors listen in. There are minimum goals to achieve during this time. Pere pressure is used to press you to perform. If you don't show up with a few people set up to buy while during this session, you will not hit your goals.
Edwards Jones is proud of the idea that they "make you drink from a fire hose". You will experience information overload during these sessions with very little time allowed to digest and practice the info.
Once you have received a can sell date, which is at the time you attend this session, you will be put on a daily set of contacts and sales/commission goals that will require you to work long hours 6 and 7 days a week to achieve. You will know after a few weeks of door to door cold call sales if you have the magic to be successful with Edward Jones. They don't waste time with you if you can't hit the sales/commission goals. They are really only interested in keeping super achievers, everyone else is thrown away.
My recommendation is that if you are considering a career with Edward Jones be sure that you "come on board" with a developed network of wealthy friends and rich relatives that you "know" will immediately be able to convert to clients and ones that will invest with you. In my area, the FA success rate with Edward Jones is about 1 out of 10 and those people are the ones that either have inside friends within Edward Jones or have a few wealthy relatives willing to invest big bucks until you can develop your client base. You "do not" want to come on board as a "new-new". Make sure you already know an Edward Jones Financial Advisor who is willing to help train and allow you to work in "his" office and is committed to sharing some of his overflow business to insure that you succeed ....... so breaking into the "good old boy" network in your area is imperative to success, again, you "do not" want to start as a "new-new".
Hope this helps anyone considering Edward Jones as a career in financial advisement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient workplace, 2 person offices
Branch Office Administrator (Former Employee), Queens, NYDecember 9, 2013
Pros: benefits 401k, participate in stock market, medical
Cons: half hour lunches, 2 person offices
Typical day at work consists of checking all forms or mail for messages & checks. Make deposits & transfers. Open new accounts & process paperworks.
Answer all customer questions or refer to Advisor.
Check all documents completed & scanned. Scheduling.
I learned to maintain client service by phone, email, in person and thru following paper trails at – more... the same time. Managements role was to make sure the office was following policy. Contact with co-workers was via telephone or email and annual meetings. Co workers protocol was to help each other. The hardest part of the job was completing large tasks with only small chunks of time. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting customer satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly puts the customer first.
FINANCIAL ADVISOR (Former Employee), State College, PADecember 5, 2013
Does business face to face, no marketing schemes.

Outstanding training program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Position did not fit my skills which made position unconfortable
Team Leader Anti-Money Laundering/Cash Control (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 2, 2013
Pros: good associates but new job responsibilities made position not for me
I was suppose to lead a team but never given chance due to change in job responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible schedule, family oriented, personal goal driven
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Fort Collins, CONovember 23, 2013
Pros: open door policy, create your own schedule
I was only able to study for the Series 7 test during my time there in that company, but they were very helpful and encouraging in all aspects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and supportive
Office Administrator / Financial Advisor Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZNovember 22, 2013
Pros: educational, supportive
Cons: pay
Support system is great, not much advancement opportunities and pay is not the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment Firm
Branch Office Administrator (Former Employee), Cobb County GANovember 21, 2013
I only worked in an on call capacity when an office needed someone there to be and administrator in an office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Family oriented, Employee sensitive
Operations Specialist (Contractor) (Current Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 12, 2013
Very professional environment but mindful of the family life/work balance. Everyone values each others skills and abilities and operates as a team to get the job done. Everyone is respected. Hardest part of the job is not being able to be employed full time. Most enjoyable part of the job is the people and the opportunity to learn new skills on a daily – more... basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Senior Programmer Analyst (Current Employee), St Louis, MONovember 6, 2013
Edward Jones is like every other large investment firm, think again. We are a leader in the financial-services industry, but we take a personal approach to business, an approach that starts with a face-to-face meeting between a financial advisor and you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent training and support team
Branch Office Marketing Administrator (Current Employee), Cumming, GANovember 4, 2013
Pros: family-oriented
Cons: very long commute
• Research marketing prospects, plan marketing events, mailings, and advertising
• learned marketing techniques
• Independent working environment
• enjoy seeing the outcome of an event
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to make own hours
Senior Branch Administrator (Former Employee), Oak Creek WIOctober 21, 2013
fast based office with great clients/
Oak creek WI
A lot about the financial industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Sr Service Specialist (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 17, 2013
Great work experience. Down turn in economy made selling investments difficult. Great growth potential
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized, Productive, Tenacious Worker
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Sweetwater, TXOctober 16, 2013
On any regular day, I would have 3 appointments scheduled throughout the day, and make 25-30 quality contacts (either by phone or face to face) in between appointments. A quality contact would entail getting to know the client more by asking open ended questions and finding a need, and, furthermore, offering a solution to help them with this need. In – more... order to stay focused on my goal everyday, I had a very structured and organized time management agenda. I learned so much from this company that it would be difficult to list everything. Most importantly, this career has taught me to deal with rejection and turn it into something positive.
Honestly, the hardest part of my job was working in a one-man office. I feed off of other people's energy and love discussing what problems I am facing and what other advisors are facing and, conversely, what we are mastering. I combated this by having a mentor and talking to him at least 3 times a week. The most enjoyable part of my job was building relationships with my clients and the rewarding feeling you get when you know you have helped them in reaching a goal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning experience, I met some great people, and built some good relationships.
Distribution Specialist (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 15, 2013
I was responsible for the organization, analyzing and distribution of information internally and externally. I learned how to be more structured and organized. Management was personable and felt apart of the staff. The staff really worked well together. The hardest part of the job was meeting some of the deadlines without overtime. The most enjoyable – more... part was working with the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and complex place to work - nice office
Branch Office Administrator (Current Employee), Buckhead, GeorgiaOctober 14, 2013
Pros: possible bonus for good work
Cons: no breaks or lunch time
Jones is a good place to work. I am looking for something much closer to my home to reduce my commute time of almost 3 hours each day. The most enjoyable part of the job is the clients. I really enjoy working with people. The hardest part of the job is balancing all the demands and regulations, but I have learned to multi task. I learned more about – more... business as I have been out of the workforce for many years raising my family. A typical day at work involves answering phones and taking care of requests from clients for appointments, bill payments, disbursement checks, etc. I handle the office calendar, process mail, handle all assignments from financial advisor, prepare portfolios for client appointments, keep records for all office expenditures, schedule reviews and appts for clients, office supplies and all general office duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Culture
Senior Retirement Services Specialist (Current Employee), San Jose, CAOctober 10, 2013
Not a lot of room for promotion but great culture, definite job security and mediocre benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company
Branch Office Administrator (Current Employee), NebraskaOctober 9, 2013
Overall good company to work for. If you are a branch office adminstrator there really aren't any job advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job great to work with clients fast pace clean enviorment
on call boa (business office associate) (Current Employee), lynchburg vaOctober 9, 2013
Pros: nice to work with clients in a good friendly enviorment
Cons: never knowing when and where i will be working
this is a great job. it is fast past with phones, scanning, clients etc., but looking for a job where i know i will be working every day knowing when and where i will be working

About Edward Jones

At Edward Jones, we are a leader in the financial services industry serving nearly 7 million clients. We have more than 11,000 – Read more

Edward Jones Photos