EFI Employee Reviews

Found 51 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work but long hours and no appreciation
Manufacturing (Former Employee) –  Meredith NHSeptember 12, 2015
Very poorly run by management. Communication does not exist in this company, EVERYTHING is last minute with no notice and they expect you to jump through hoops. Never a thank you from anyone for your hard work and dedication working 50-70 hour weeks, week after week.departments under staffed and management won't hire on extra help. Definitely would not recommend this company to work for. Also raises are few and far between.
Pros
Generous vacation time
Cons
Little or no breaks, management sqauks when you ask for a day off
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I lost more than i gained.
Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIMay 31, 2016
This company is ran buy people that don't know how to do their job. The design management doesn't understand the technology they are working with and are not open to new ideas. If you like having an poorly educated boss then good luck. His kid eats cardboard.
Pros
the pay was average
Cons
You cant argue with stupid people that don't want to learn new tech.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efi
Stockroom Associate (Current Employee) –  Meredith, NHSeptember 28, 2015
EFI is a difficult company to work for they are a larger company than I am used to. There are usually more tasks expected to be completed daily than any person could accomplish forcing many employees to stay late and come in on the weekends, management is less than understanding when it comes to illness and family commitments. The hardest part of this job is that there is little respect from higher levels to those working the floor, and that you are forced to maintain the hours that they dictate or have your job be at risk. It also takes an exceptionally long time to be given benefits as well as full time status even though you could be working 50+ hours.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Lack of understanding in management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people,Poor Management
Technician (Former Employee) –  Meredith, NHOctober 19, 2012
Company is very poorly managed,but coworkers were good hard working people.Management would constantly make bad decisions
and then blame it on employees.Many times employees are given assignments with no training or information and then blamed if things
went wrong.Most new hires are hired as temps or temp to hire with no real intention of hiring them.Hiring is like a revolving door,People
are hired and let go as standard procedure.The technology of large
digital printers was interesting and challenging.Many of the jobs wuold be enjoyable if EFI/Vutek had a better culture and management.
Pros
coworkers and technology
Cons
poor mangement, very little training, and no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes29No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Administrator's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Meredith, NHFebruary 9, 2016
Fast paced environment. Worked as a team member, lots of fun and learning about technology


good balance of work and life, caring management.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Customer Software Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAApril 4, 2016
I enjoyed working with the clients and my co-workers very much. I learned how to support software applications for the business management systems I provided support for.
Pros
Ability to work remotely
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative, unprofessional culture
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Meredith, NHOctober 2, 2012
Mfg Management is negative and unprofessional; don't want hear what's going right (that's what they pay you for), only want to hear what's going bad then beat you up for it; manage by threats, disrespect, and intimidation; my job was threatened after only two weeks of employment; Daily GEMBA to determine who's on the hot seat (lots of finger pointing) and who gets a mulligan for the day. Engineering Manager quick to throw you under the bus. Seriously, who would want to go to that job day after day?
Pros
talented design group, competative wages, challenging work, clean safe, non-management employees hardworking, dedicated people.
Cons
horrible, unrewarding negative culture in mfg, new products pushed to mfg before designs completed or tested creating chaos in mfg
Was this review helpful?Yes24No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Customer Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAFebruary 1, 2016
Very busy days and on a fast pace.
Learned around 10 different software and support those
Supporting management
Great team work with my co-workers
Hardest part was not enough time on the day to help our customers
Pleased to have served our customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied Contractor
Digital Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 6, 2014
For the most part, EFI maintains a casual, laidback corporate atmosphere, and everyone who works here is, more of less, friendly and helpful. New offices in Fremont include cool amenities, like a gym, flex rooms and ping pong tables (stays true to Silicon Valley tech-y vibe). Employees work hard here and seem to take genuine interest in their jobs and the company.However, there seems to be a bit of mismanagement and lack of organization. Tasks that should take a few hours will take a day or sometimes a week. Because of the division between the three major product groups, communication also seems to be an issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant environment
Environmental Scientist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 13, 2015
Sophomoric, misogynistic, prejudiced environment. Subjected to racially insensitive remarks, constantly. Response from upper management and executives was "it's only a joke, don't be so sensitive".
SVP has a son convicted of a federal hate crime, thought it was "funny" to bring him to the office to introduce him to the staff of color.
All of the other Exec's (CEO down) were in agreement with the SVP that it was humor.
Pros
Bonus program, full benefits
Cons
Sophomoric, misogynistic, prejudiced environment
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Warehouse environment
Warehouse Distribution Clerk (Former Employee) –  South San FranciscoJune 23, 2015
Opened and stocked warehouse
loaded and unloaded trucks
worked directly with UPS
Communication between various job sites was not good
Hours were the best part of my job and having independence
Pros
Close to my house, warehouse lead for SSF
Cons
no team work from fellow co workers, small salary increases, management gave false promises
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all types of jobs offered
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MI 48197May 17, 2016
great company to work for. they put you in a job that best suites you. great weekly pay . will put you on a different job if not satisfied where you are.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work with great people
Technical Support Representative (Current Employee) –  Meredith, NHFebruary 23, 2015
Managment is poor and raises tend to be lacking in my dept. Not a rating for the whole company just my department. On the whole not a terrible place to work.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
Migrating responsibilities and poor raises
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
undermanaged, confusion
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Erie, PAOctober 26, 2015
A typica day on the job, Started at 7am could run up to 6 machines at a time. Which on a typical day the machines were breaking down and causing alot of unnecessary sorting. The machines were not well maintained. Management was inconsistant. Overall what I learned about running machines and working on the line is patience, how to work well under a extreme amount of pressure.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, fast-paced environment with a large scope to learn and grow.
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Meredith, NHFebruary 9, 2016
Designed and developed mechanical parts, prototypes, fixtures using Solidworks.

Implemented the designs using Engineering Change Notifications in Agile.

Designed brackets using Sheetmetal in Solidworks, prototype tested.

Interacted with various vendors, manufacturers to buy mechanical parts, hardware as a part of the design.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producive
Ink manager (Current Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIMarch 16, 2016
Work with immediate direct reports of objectives and measurements for the production day. Determine any obstacles and put systems into place if necessary for desired results
Pros
Staff are dependable
Cons
Distance traveled to and from work is over 100 miles daily
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
Electrical Engineer Technician (Former Employee) –  Meredith, NHOctober 25, 2015
They do all their layoffs on Friday

there is no upper level management

they are looking for 1B mark and will most likely sale the company
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work at with good lunch breaks with ping pong table.
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Foster City, CAJuly 1, 2013
Typical 9-5 shift. I was a tester for their printing software, so I would come in and begin running test cases on big industrial printers (specifically Xerox printing machines).

Learned testing methodologies, and how to handle a real job. Management was nice, co-workers were okay. The most enjoyable part of the job was probably the ping pong tournaments during the lunch breaks, as I am an avid player of ping pong.
Pros
ping pong
Cons
Frequent slow workdays
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigid, closed mined management that rules by threats
Product manager (Former Employee) –  Meredith NHSeptember 24, 2014
This is the worse company I have ever worked for. I was hired to develop a new product line and was told I had full rein. But, management didn't want to change and I hit a dead end in everything I did. Top management needs to be totally replaced, as they are highly ineffective. High turn over of unhappy employees. AVOID. Not worth the stress.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Ineffective management and no training. Stressful work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Senior Mechanical and Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Nicholasville, KYMarch 5, 2015
Good experience for continued professional development. Middle and upper management did not regard engineers as a valuable asset.
Typically, engineers were not well regarded by fire investigators who were in upper management.
Pros
Stable until the later years
Cons
Weak management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at EFI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 68 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.3