El Camino College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement Opportunities
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAJanuary 2, 2018
Although the environment is nice, there is no room for advancement for casual employees. Also, we are extremely limited to how many hours we can work (up to 25 a week).
Pros
Relaxed environment
Cons
No advancement, poor salary, lack of stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Journalism
Staff Writer (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CADecember 24, 2017
Paper was to be published on a one-week deadline, so time management and prioritizing work was a necessity. Overall a great experience under a great professor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting
Weight Room Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CADecember 17, 2017
Positive environment great staff members and the workplace enhanced my social interaction among students and clients during teaching in the classroom.
Pros
Awesome place
Cons
more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at as a team
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CaliforniaNovember 24, 2017
El Camino college is great place to work at. If you’re a person who loves to work with a team and enjoy helping people that’s a place to work at. It gave me the opportunity to work with students from different backgrounds and culture.
Pros
Flexible hours, understanding manager and team members
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
El Camino
Spring & Summer Casual Worker (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CANovember 20, 2017
It was an alright experience. I feel co workers were only nice because they had to be, but on my last day they were very rude and didn't speak. Manager abused her manager privileges very much. Talked to people like they were her children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and inspiring workplace
WRITER, EDITOR, & PHOTOGRAPHER (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CANovember 16, 2017
I gained extensive insight into the field of journalism at El Camino. The management is harsh, but motivating and conducive to productivity and progression.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always looking forward to work for eudcational institution
Foreign Student Aid (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CANovember 14, 2017
Enjoyed working for the college. Wish I could have continued working because of te lack of fund had to leave the place. Working with the students was very much interesting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get experience
Program Aide (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAOctober 23, 2017
EOPS at El Camino College was my first job. You have to be aware of all the thing going on with EOPS and other things on campus but that is major reason why I enjoyed working for EOPS because I learned so much about our education system. Dealing with difficult students was hard at first but I learned how handle almost every situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely a Star
Recruitment & Outreach Specialist (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAOctober 20, 2017
Great place to work with clear upward advancement and a family feel. There is a lot of involvement between offices which leads to providing students with a great overall experience. They want students to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAOctober 10, 2017
Journalism Department
-Deliver newspaper, Interview people, organize, clean.
-Good place to work because right after class i can just walk to work.Very convenient.
Pros
Closer to school.
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about El Camino College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and productive
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAOctober 8, 2017
I like working here. I am very blessed that I had the opportunity to work here. I had classes in the evening and I worked here in the morning. The manage was very nice.
Pros
very helpful manager
Cons
breaks was too short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant flow makes the time fly by
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAOctober 5, 2017
Always something to do, and never a truly dull moment in the flow of the day. There was always something around the corner but never in an unpleasant way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great student job
Computer Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CASeptember 20, 2017
I started working here as a student worker as a lab assistant for a computer information Systems class. It's a great student job to get your feet wet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for workstudy
Personal Assistant/Student Counselor Assist (Former Employee) –  Torrnace, CASeptember 6, 2017
Fun job. Great environment. Learned a lot. Flexible and worked around school schedule. Ideal job if in school. Convenient. My supervisor was always willing to teach and assist me. Withing 3 months of working their I was recommended a promotion.
Pros
On Campus. Works around school schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
ADJUNCT FACULTY (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CASeptember 4, 2017
El Camino College is an excellent place to work. The faculty and the classified (staff) are some of the brightest and best people with whom you will ever work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher
Psychiatric Instructor (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJuly 21, 2017
Worked at a lot of different hospitals so it was not boring. Most of the teachers were professional and respected each other. I felt supported there and not intimidated. Director was amazing!! Pay was O.K. and no benefits though.
Pros
Support
Cons
Students would say the wierdest things
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Office Aide (Former Employee) –  EOPSJuly 20, 2017
El Camino College is an amazing school, and working there was just as fun. The staff was great, and the learning outcome was unforgettable. I am grateful for the opportunities given, and learned.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Educational
Note Taker (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAJuly 20, 2017
- Paper and Pencil ready to take notes.
-Communication, Multitasking, Education from their class
-Going my class and not missing then going to work in campus
-Accidentally doing something I did not mean to do.
-I get to learn with them and also get to know them and understand them
Pros
Work around school schedule, Meet really cool people
Cons
not enough hours, sometimes they do not show up to class and you need to go home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
allows for balance
PEER ASSITED STUDY SESSION (PASS) MENTOR (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJuly 12, 2017
it only pays once a month and the pay rate is at a minimum. It allows for your to stay on campus and not travel from between work and school so that was nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A school close to my heart!
El Camino College Student Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAMay 30, 2017
It is a school that never changes, despite the new buildings. I truly enjoyed the memories I made at El Camino College. Once I get my MA degree in Education, I'll be back!
Pros
Those Crepes
Cons
The price of those Crepes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at El Camino College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 83 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0