Find companies:
Elance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Elance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the portal of blackmailers
Web developer (Current Employee), nothingJune 19, 2014
trust me , this not the fair system , that is portal of blackmailers , the client give basic requirements , the stupid system not support you , there is nothing in this , The dispute is drama and ARB is just to earn the money , even the ARB will not take interest in case and dont know what was project and what is done , stupid ever system ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, a scam
CEO MG Web Development (Former Employee), Boone, NCJune 17, 2014
Terrible Experience, I am currently in a dispute with a Pakistan man who says I owe him $160 for marketing my website services. He sent me pictures of Miss Arab USA 2014. Elance says he did the work in good faith so I owe him the money. Elance just wants a share of my money. Needless to say I won't be returning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work for any schedule
Writing and Administrative Support Freelancer (Current Employee), Lebanon, paJune 1, 2014
Elance.com provides a connection between clients and freelancers. The types of opportunities available are vast - everything from simple data entry/administrative jobs to complex software coding. Some jobs require that freelancers be located in the same area as the client, because they require office visits, but for the most part, all jobs can be done – more... from anywhere in the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely Not Steady Employment
Entrepreneur (Current Employee), Mountain View, CAMay 27, 2014
Pros: money from home
Cons: very unstable payment wise
I've been working through Elance for nearly a year now, and although some jobs pay out very well, some do not. Plus it's a game of 'hope'. Because of the fact that it's a bidding war, so to speak, you never know if you're going to get hired for a job or not. It could be a couple of weeks before somebody 'picks' you, or you could have so many bids out – more... at once, and then get 'picked' by several people at a time, which leads to overload on your part. That is my reason for a low score on Job Security. Another reason for that is because you never know when you're going to get paid. If you need money for the weekend - you have to get hired, you have to do the work, get paid AND initiate a withdrawal by Wednesday at the latest. Otherwise, it could be a week before Elance decides to release the money to you. Yes, you heard that right. Even though on their website, it says that "Transaction processing generally take 1-2 days" (that's a direct copy/paste from their website), what they ACTUALLY mean is that it takes 1-2 BUSINESS days. So if you do the work, your client pays you and you initiate a withdrawal on Thursday or Friday, chances are that you won't get paid until Monday or Tuesday. As far as their management, I gave a low score for that because the first couple of times that I called, I was told that they did not have supervisors. That is not the case. They indeed do, but they're not willing to speak with anyone. I'm also constantly being told that when it comes to payment release, there's nobody in that department who can help you because they don't have 'outside lines'. No joke - that's what I was told. Also, they use a credit system. You're given so many 'connects' to be a free member (10 I think), but I am a paid member, so not only do I pay Elance every month (on time, by the way), if I want to bid on more jobs (if my connects run out), I have to pay for more. To me, it's worth it because I have developed good relationships with some clients, so they come back for repeat work, which doesn't cost any connects. See, if the client invites you, it doesn't cost anything. But if you're out there bidding on jobs, it costs you 1 or 2 connects, based on the type of job. So overall, if you're looking to earn some extra money, and if your payments can be totally sporadic, this is a great way to earn it. If you're looking for a good income with steady work, unless you have a great skill that most people don't have, I'd find a regular job. I hope that helps in your decision to join Elance. Of course, you can always join for free to test the waters, and see where things go from there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for online work
Graphic Designer (Former Employee), New York, New YorkMay 14, 2014
Great place to work if you are looking for an online job you can do from home.

I learned how to work with Photoshop.

My co-worker was great. We worked together on projects and consulted one another on drafts for feedback.

The hardest part of the job was bidding for projects as Elance put in place a paywall for viewing current bids.

The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was that I could sit and work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN! ELANCE = A HUGE SCAM
Freelancer in Language Services (Former Employee), BerlinApril 1, 2014
Pros: not enough
Cons: fraud plus elance is against the freelancer through what they do
My experience with Elance is abominable. In theory online freelancing should work fine. But Elance offers no protection to the freelancer. On the contrary, they protect scams and fraudulent clients and threaten and try to exploit the same person who happened to fall victim to scams through their site.

Run, stay away from this disgusting site. Their – more... policies and their behavior are totally unprofessional. Don't let yourself be fooled, they make lots of money out of the freelancer's bids and offer absolutely nothing in exchange. Not that you, as a freelancer, needed anything different from some minimal protection and intervention.

I do not recommend this site to anyone. Not even to my worst enemies. What happens there is repelling and a mockery of the idea or work and collaboration. Let alone work ethics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freelance
Freelance Journalist, Editor, Voice-over talent (Current Employee), homeFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: guaranteed pay, time tracker
Cons: employee is on as needed basis
Elance is a great company, but it's freelance and freelance is never guarantee so the low scores are because there are no real benefits and no real set income. But if you need quick cash and have the skills, elance is a great place to start.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ELance Experience
Freelance Designer (Current Employee), TelecommuteDecember 2, 2013
Allows me to find telecommuting contract jobs with flexibility. Competetion with outsourcing companies makes it difficult to make a decent income. I love being able to design and finish projects for individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect life vs work balance
Freelance Accountant (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 29, 2013
Excellent opportunities, many openings. I get to work on different projects. Great place to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great online networking resource for freelancers
Freelance Ghostwriter (Current Employee), OnlineOctober 29, 2013
Elance was a great tool to help me express my creativity and make some extra money to support myself through college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Site For New Freelancers
Freelance Writer (Current Employee), Dexter, KYSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: many different choices
Elance was a wonderful place to start. I have gotten a few jobs and some new experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work at
Independent Programmer (Former Employee), Montevideo, UruguaySeptember 14, 2013
Very nice place to work at, continuous work over time with different clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-Employed Freelancer
FREELANCE JOURNALISM (Current Employee), Solon, OHSeptember 5, 2013
Great freelancing job, however, the market is saturated. Hard to get good paying jobs for high-skilled intellectual work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elance Devalues Your Profession
Graphic Designer (Former Employee), AnywhereAugust 22, 2013
Pros: free
Cons: devalues your profession, inability to make contracts with clients, no control over your work, no control over where or how work is used, waste of time providing free comps, unfair and unethical pricing
Wether you're a graphic designer, programmer or photographer, Elance only devalues your work and services. Don't waste your time with Elance! Unfortunately, all of that hard work, education, skill and years of experience will only be outbid by competitors who live in conditions where a few dollars can afford them much more. Stop devaluing your profession. – more... Stick to fair, ethical practices and pricing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional atmosphere with many opportunities.
Photo Editor (Current Employee), Boston, MAAugust 9, 2013
While it can be difficult to obtain a contract on Elance with many other freelancers who can afford to undercut your proposal, it does provide a wide marketplace of jobs with many varying opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scam
Admin Support (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 10, 2013
Pros: a lot of postings
Cons: scams
It’s a great platform for freelancers to pick up projects. The problem is a lot of the postings are scam artist. Just be very careful, there are some great clients out there. You can report violations on the website. Please do not be fooled, do not give out your information. The client is supposed to pay Elance then Elance pays you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
scam
MAA (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJune 18, 2013
don't let yourself be fooled by a fake promise. Look at the reviews on their page. do you notice that most of them aren't even from America? Save yourself grief. Don't give out information to this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are not protected
freelancer (Former Employee), the worldApril 26, 2013
Pros: nothin
I was working good for a period of time and I was able to make an excellent reputation a 5/5 stars and then I met 3 con clients that took the work and does not want to pay.

I discover that in elance does not protect or care about freelancers from the process of disbution and laothough there was evidence that I delivered the work throught their site – more... I hardly was able to keep one of the 3 fund into my account while the other two I couldn't they also give me messages that do more pressure on me to give a refund for the clients to avoid bad rating which was true because elance dont give a freelancer give a rate for the client only a useless feedback.

As I said you wont experience these situation until you work with a bad client which sooner or later you will and when you need protection...BOOM you find no protection whatsoever

Also when I do some suggestions and protest about one of their policy they send me a message threaten me that they will close my account !! all these because I expressed my opinion !!

I could not believe myself a previous freelancer warned me now after I experience that myself I know he was right. Now you have been warned too there are other freelancers sites really protect freelancers and more secured than elance which btw their db hacked before with their useless security measures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Online jobs with a flexible schedule
Freelance Writer (Current Employee), Honolulu, HIApril 24, 2013
I am able to submit jobs online without having to report to an office. I have a flexible schedule of hours needed to complete a project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Freelance Writer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 31, 2013
Cons: rude clients
I enjoyed talking to new people and helping their businesses flourish.

About Elance

Elance is at your service. Formerly a provider of software that businesses used to streamline the way they bought and managed – Read more