ELKHORN CONSTRUCTION Employee Reviews

Showing all 48 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMay 26, 2017
This place was the greatest I've ever worked at i loved all my co workers and supervisors they took time out their busy day to not only answer a question but actually explain it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun competitive work place
e-1-2 apprentice (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, NMMay 12, 2017
Great place to start and grow with as a family and workplace. Great pay and competitive work for those who want to learn and grow in this field today
Pros
trucks and drive time paid for half way
Cons
two breaks a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  ColoradoApril 27, 2017
Great place to work
The weather was great
Learned alot about how to build and set up forms for piers for pipe racks
The hardest thing was working in the ice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers have great communication
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 7, 2017
Predictable work schedules, early safety meetings, ordinary breaks and lunches.
superintendents had everybody on a good work schedule.
Elkhorn construction kept me employed for years.
Pros
everybody helps you when need it.
Cons
Dont pay for lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am the best learner in the world
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Douglas, WYFebruary 23, 2017
I am the best worker in the industry, I have been a active worker since 2007, and I am the best worker ever. I am too tired to type.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good crews
First year Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Tioga, NDFebruary 20, 2017
overall I enjoyed working with Elkhorn. only downfall was when I was in Colorado I was not receiving perdium. I enjoyed to guys I worked with and the plant inspectors took care of us with lunches seeing how far of a drive it was.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company for four years
Project Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Rifle, CODecember 18, 2016
Elkhorn help me grow as a superintendent
You really had to plan your work to the tee hard money jobs has no room for error with profit margin set low as 13% and to come out with 23.5% was a challenge. Which set my personal goals on every job sense.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding company to work for.
INDUSTRIAL ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Evanston, WYDecember 2, 2016
I wish I could have stayed longer with Elkhorn but illness made me have to leave but job security, advancement, training, and leadership opportunities are fabulous with Elkhorn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere to be in.
Assistant Site HSSE (Former Employee) –  Longmont, COOctober 29, 2016
Great management. Always something to learn and achieve.CO-workers all interacted really well with each other. The hardest part of the job was the drive to location. Most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things and feeling like part of a team.
Pros
Excellent management, very understanding to personal situations
Cons
Location of jobs are far from town
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and planning
fitter, I (Former Employee) –  New Martinsville, WVJune 15, 2016
Foremen was inexperienced and so was his boss. I with 13 years experience was not impressed at all. I did most of the planing and the foremen was mainly offsite and we also had no prints, Iso or Ortho.
Pros
The only positive is the project was in the nice mountines
Cons
unprofessional and inexperience upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elkhorn was a growing and challange
Project Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Rifle, COMay 14, 2016
This was a tough challenge between design and installation it was a good experience To figure out and red line and to make changes on the run it really kept me busy I learned there is a lot of gray area I always except a challenge on my ability to pull through
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful due to slow work
Tool Room Manager/Driver (Current Employee) –  DeBequeMay 10, 2016
Great company when busy. Great people and employees. Great overall company. I would love to work for them when work is steady but times are tough now. Too slow and not dependable income
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work with this company always something new to do
pipe fitter helper, QC, Roustabout. (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDFebruary 26, 2016
had always something new to do. they would usually have you help any craft if any of the normal activities was slow. learned different craftx and gain experience.helped in any way we could and learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good working plan
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Orla, TXFebruary 14, 2016
need to be more open to employees opportunities, open to let people grow and develop ideas.
good plan poor interaction with employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get exactly what they tell you
Draftsman (Former Employee) –  Evanston, WYFebruary 13, 2016
You have a plethora of available schedules depending on the site you are assigned to. They pay you for what you work regularly and fairly, but no holidays or sick days. After a few years you move from a week of vacation time to two and the retirement plan netted me more than 40 k in 6 years.
Pros
Honesty, safety, pleny of entry level positions when they are hiring
Cons
You only really get paid for hours worked, no sick days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Pipeline Technician (Former Employee) –  Ponca City, OKFebruary 4, 2016
Really good place to work if you like to work as a contractor for oilfield. Great benefits and really took care of its employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fan company to work for.
Project Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 3, 2016
I have work for them the last 17 years.is a blast of fan when you are lorning somting evry day of my curier. I like to come back and see all my coworkers at Elkhorn.
Pros
experiensed crew
Cons
short of vision to future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fun productive learning and working enviroment, the only thing i didnt like was the lack of time off and the travel away from home.
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Evanston, WYJanuary 27, 2016
Challenging and productive work environment. Had the pleasure to work with a lot of diverse, fun and intelligent people. The typical day was busy with a lot of planning and strategizing to accomplish the days goals of fabricating and installation of piping system and equipment. I learned a lot from working with other crafts to complete the jobs in a safe and timely manor. I really liked working with people from different cultures and ethnicities, sharing food and memorable stories of our pasts.
Pros
the ESOP program and fun co-workers
Cons
long work weeks and little time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad company
Welder/Fabricator (Current Employee) –  debeque coloradoJanuary 19, 2016
Good work environment, good employees. The only thing I don't like is when times are slow your job isn't secure. Other than that a decent company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always in a Rush
Operator, Laborer (Current Employee) –  Evanston, WYNovember 15, 2015
Good jobs for the money, usually work 6-10 hour days per week although 7-12 hour days are also commonplace. You are always in the elements.
Pros
per diems, usually steady work
Cons
weather, old fashioned managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ELKHORN CONSTRUCTION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

88%
17 ratings
Add your rating

ELKHORN CONSTRUCTION Reviews by Location