Find companies:
Ellis Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Ellis Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunities for proffessional development
GI/ Endoscopy Nurse (Current Employee), Schenectady, NYFebruary 8, 2014
Fast paced working environment.
Hospital on the way for magnet status
Great bunch of GI Nurses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced stressful work environment
Unit Support Technician (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYNovember 22, 2013
Working in the medical field alone is a very fast paced and ever changing environment where you never know what to expect especially working in the ER. I learned how to work well in a fast paced environment and how to manage stress in certain situations. I learned great receptionist skills and also how to provide great patient care. I learned the ins – more... and outs of clinical work. The hardest part of my job was working under stressful conditions and not losing my cool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Before merger it was a great place to work
Chief Radiation Therapist (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: family atmosphere
Cons: new management after merger
I was a working chief therapist. I developed an atmosphere full of love and compassion mixed with the most skilled therapists, doctors and physics team I ever had the privlege of working with. I had many responsibilities including overseeing the operation of the department and my therapists. Management before the merger was excellent after the merger – more... our department fell apart and everyone left. The professionals I worked with and the patients I treated and cared for on a daily basis were the most enjoyable part of my job. The hardest part of my job was all the hours I had to put in while raising 4 children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working with the public
Office Coordinator Outpatient Infusion Center (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYSeptember 12, 2013
I worked for Ellis Hospital for 13 years, ten years in St Clares Hospital in the Emergency room as lead Unit Sec. before the merger with Ellis Hospital. After the merger of the two I went to Office Coordinator in the Outpatient Infusion center. I enjoyed both of the roles for I am truly a people person, I delivery excellent customer service to my patients – more... as well as vendors, visitors, CEO's coworkers etc.

I love doing office work and helping people as well as anything I can to to help my coworkers, I do beleive in team-work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Environmental Service Worker (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYAugust 30, 2013
Cons: environment
The job itself is not hard and quick to pick up on what is expected, but the management will expect one thing from one individual but not the same for others. If one individual does not clean to the standards expected, nothing is done about even when reported and inspected. The other frustrating part was the nursing staff would either not label precaution – more... rooms or remove the labels when patients are discharged or moved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor and Delivery, wonderful! What more can I say.
L&D, OR/PACU, Relief Charge Nurse, OB/GYN TRIAGE (Current Employee), Niskayuna, NYAugust 26, 2013
I love working in labor and delivery. Helping to bring life into the world is wonderful. Every day is exeptional. On a good day in labor and delivery, it is breathtaking. On a bad day in labor and delivery it is heartbreaking.

The hardest thing I have learned in my years of experience, is that I am meeting people at the most vulnerable times of their – more... lives. It may be the happiest or the saddest. I am there to take care of their medical needs. But moreover, there emotional needs.

This is both the most rewarding and hardes part of my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace great managers
accts receivable rep (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYAugust 20, 2013
I have a very productive job must process claims to get them bill and bring the $$$$$$ many claims in error systwm issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I started there right out of nursing school
LPN (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYAugust 20, 2013
Pros: i was able to use all my skills
Cons: they fazed out lpns
I worked in many area through out the hospital and was able to use all of my skill. I enjoyed my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Unit Clerk ICU (Current Employee), Schenectady, NYMay 17, 2013
I have a excellent learning experience, I have acquired many new skills, and have met many great people and patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
tech (Former Employee), s chenectedyMay 8, 2013
Pros: none any more
Cons: no. yearly raise
ELLIS ok place to work just be for warned no yearly pay raises like other hospitals. As costs goes up salary does not.....going to need to find new employment last salary raise over 2 years ago
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment.
Unit Support Technician Emergency Department (Current Employee), Schenectady, New YorkFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: good hours, honest pay with benefits, and strong staff.
Cons: high stress environment, need good rest daily.
Hardest part of job is the blood, smell, sights, "gently physical care" and occasional bad language. But its overcome, by the teamwork and hard work of all the medical staff.
Get to meet new people almost daily.
Everyday you learn or see something new.
Good job to get hour experience for per-medical careers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYFebruary 23, 2013
nice place to work if you are going to school.
nice people to work with.
clean working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Surgical Team requires a flexible lifestyle.
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYDecember 20, 2012
You need to be at 100% when working - there's no room for mistakes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Surgical Team requires a flexible lifestyle.
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYDecember 20, 2012
You need to be at 100% when working - there's no room for mistakes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Full time X-ray Technologist (Current Employee), Schenectady, NYSeptember 10, 2012
Cons: 3 hours north from family
I have been working here for the last 4.5 years and have had a decent experience. It is my first job right out of X-ray school. That being said I have grown as a person and a technologist. I have had the wonderful opportunity to work with students. Not only have I been able to impart knowledge to them but am able to also learn from them.

On an average – more... day I tend to show up to work a few minutes early. This allows me to get a sense of how the work flow should be for the night (I work 3pm to 11pm). When its my week in the OR I also am able to get changed into OR scrubs at the same time. r

I enjoy the shift that I'm on. I currently work 2nd shift and have great people that I work with. Everyone pulls their weight. This also allows me to do the overnights with little issue.

The hardest part of the job is having to switch plans around to accommodate shifts. Thankfully there haven't been too many situations where the job greatly interferes with personal plans. On the other hand the work flow doesn't make for too much stress. I also do enjoy having a job in this tough economy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Beginning
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYMay 23, 2012
This was where health care all began for me. My mother was a nurse at Ellis and my wife also worked there as a patient care technician. I interned there with the Respiratory Care Department and fell in love with health care and the impact that its professionals had on the local community and beyond. I am grateful for my beginning as a patient care technician – more... and the experience that working at Ellis has afforded me. It is a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Mental Health Assistant (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYMarch 30, 2012
I enjoyed my time as a mental health assistant; however, there was very little room for advancement and opportunities to switch to a better schedule (evenings to days) was limited within my department.