Ellucian Employee Reviews

Found 84 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help Desk
Help Desk Specialist (Former Employee) –  Maitland, FLAugust 7, 2017
The job for the first year was enjoyable. The workload balance was fair, but as management changed there was a higher workload. The higher workload did not impact the pay rate, which seemed unfair to take on more responsibilities with nothing to compensate for. There used to be special days where management would provide food or have contests to raise moral, but those days have faded away. The job security is very low since they contract several candidates during their peak season. They treat full-time employees as expendable. Ellucian started as a great place to work, but with their changes in management made it all go downhill.
Pros
Meet new people often with the rotating contractors
Cons
Pay rate, opportunities for career advancement, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company in change, looking towards the cloud
PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Malvern, PAJuly 23, 2017
Ellucian is currently going thru changes from the products they sell (conversion from on premise to the cloud) to how they market themselves (Ellucian brand is not as popular as the products they provide to the Higher Education market.)
Pros
Flexible working hrs. Ability to work from home.
Cons
Limited resources and budgets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for entry level work but frustrating.
Tech support (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 17, 2017
The Good:
Manager are very cool and accessible, The work is not hard and they set you up for success by giving you most of the answers you need to solve many of the callers issues. Hours are flexible, they make it easy to get time off if you need it.

The bad:
It has a call center fell, You will get a high volume of calls. Training is not the best beyond orientation.
Pros
Great entry level experience
Cons
call center
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Senior Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 12, 2017
fun place to work and good people. it was a bit stressful and over worked. need to hire more people to work on all the projects they want to complete.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Company
Information Technology Director (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 7, 2017
Great Company to Work For. Education is a rewarding work environment. Was given a new role when a contract expired. The traveling Director was fun and rewarding to show off my skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience overall
IT Technical Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 21, 2017
Good experience overall...be careful once the contracts ends which is normally every 3 to 5 years. Clients might or might not renew the contract. But at the client site where they placed me, very friendly work environment.
Pros
Good health benefits, provided you with company laptop and moble phone.
Cons
Moble phone means you might have a rotating phone shift over the weekends, and job security is only for 3 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Consultant (Current Employee) –  United KingdomMay 15, 2017
I have been with Ellucian for almost 2 years now but it only feels like 5 mins as I have been having so much fun.
Everyone here enjoys what they do and works very hard.
As long as you are doing what you are employed to do, you are trusted to work independently. I feel pleased to have the opportunity to work with such talented people.
Great culture and promotion from within is encouraged .

10/10
Pros
Promotions when doing well
Cons
Not a 9-5 job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New senior management worse than those they replaced
Project Director (Former Employee) –  United kingdomMay 10, 2017
A flushing out of senior staff in Europe, replaced by new faces who in my view were not researched prior to offering them jobs. Really poor appointments in the early part of 2016 who have done more damage than good. Culture dropped from poor to zero !
staff treated as assets not people
induction/training kept to an absolute minimum

I joined with great anticipation, I left bitterly disappointed.
Pros
Absolutely none
Cons
Seriously poor senior management in Europe
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative environment
Client Partner (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAMay 8, 2017
Ellucian has a fast passed work environment and is a overall good place to work with a collaborative environment. Work life balance is difficult and the territories are large.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work depending on location
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  New JerseyMay 6, 2017
A good place to work with good benefits, but the management can be questionable depending on job location. I worked for this company for almost 10 years and was laid off 10 months ago because of poor management which resulted in a low contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed, Resistant to Change
Senior Employee (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 4, 2017
The benefits were better than a lot of places, but there is a bloated middle management whose only goal is to look good to higher ups. No consistent direction for products - shifts any time there is a potential for short term revenue even if the change puts future revenue at risk. Many employees have been there for decades and treat new employees like they know nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambitious organization, great employees, lots of change
Cloud Applications Engineer (Current Employee) –  Maitland, FLMay 2, 2017
Ellucian is a great place to get a start. There's a lot of consistent change as they transform their business. This results in a lot of employee turnover. If you work hard and do your best, you will have job security. You will also set yourself up to learn more and be a larger asset to the company. The pay is great, and so are the benefits. Overall, this a pretty good place to work if you know how to separate work and life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  RemoteApril 29, 2017
Promotions are given to those who talk a good game but do not produce. Those that produce and try to do the right thing are kept in the basement and worked like dogs. Company initiatives to move to the cloud are a joke.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work - was a better place when it was SCT
Senior Consultant, Banner Finance and Student AR (Former Employee) –  home - remoteApril 26, 2017
One area that does not have a lot of billable time was when I would do training on eproc and epinvoice - billable hours are shown as more then they should be so you don't get good billable time which affects the bonus amounts.

Management would give the better clients to specific personnel so it did not feel like it was fair to all the consultants.
Pros
For me - it was my fellow consultants - they were good people
Cons
they would send out new consultants - to sink or swim
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stress-free
Contractor (Current Employee) –  Maitland, FLApril 22, 2017
I have a great experience with Ellucian, i have learn alot and my work is enjoyable. Peers are all good people with strong work ethics, patient and helpful.
Pros
free soda
Cons
vending machine doesnt' always work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company for my Personal Career Growth
Sr. Manager, Customer Success - West Region (Current Employee) –  Barstow, CAApril 13, 2017
I've been with the company 12 years and I've been given so many great opportunities to advance my career. I've moved up quickly and have had tremendous support from peers and leaders throughout my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXApril 10, 2017
Nice place to work however like most companies they re-org and just let good people go without thinking twice. It comes down to being a number instead of all the hard work you put in to it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged and heavy handed
Client Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCApril 3, 2017
Ellucian is a blend of several legacy companies. Definitely feeling growing pains and hopefully those have improved with the new leadership that's in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment. People always wanting to help. Free drinks.
Tier 1 help desk support (Former Employee) –  Maitland, FLApril 3, 2017
This company is in a nice space in Maitland, Fl. I enjoyed working at this location and i learned a tremendous amount about troubleshooting technical issues. The people working in this office are nice,helpful, and always encourage best effort.
Pros
Free lunch on occasion, Free drinks all day (coffee/soda). Awesome co-workers and clients(students/faculty).
Cons
Training can be overwhelming sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed Services
Director, Infrastructure Services (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 28, 2017
Many Higher Education locations use Ellucian since they are the creator/owner for the main Higher Ed Student Information System (Banner). While the company is strong, not all of the employees are fully engaged. This appears in all industries, just seems to be more prevalent here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ellucian. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 91 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2