Elmira College Employee Reviews in United States

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like your wage now youll love it at retirement.
HVAC Technician (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYApril 26, 2016
I was an hvac tech here. It's a terrible working environment. The management is poor. The conditions are primitive. Nepotism is rampant.
I worked less then a year here and anyone who wants a future at elmira college is a fool. You'll risk your life working in conditions filled with asbestos and poorly maintained equipment. It's not the workers fault most of the time. The management doesn't spend money to fix things right. Epoxy is the trade leaders go to repair for anything. The department head is ignorantly oblivious to what's going on. Also don't walk or ride on the grass because they don't make new of that everyday at elmira college. I personally don't see this place being open for much longer with the rampant debt.
Now the students are getting a education equal to a low rated public highschool. I'm a fairly smart person and sat in one of the science classes. They were learning a subject that I learned about in middle school.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work Place
American Sign Language Tutor (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYApril 22, 2016
I was able to use my American Sign Language skills to further improve the learning experience for other ASL students. Students who played sports and students who were struggling with remembering the material came to me to practice signing.
Pros
Great experience
Cons
Didn't give me enough hours to work with the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an okay place to work if your in need of a job
Assistant Facility Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYMay 30, 2016
start my day by cleaning the perimeter of the building, empty trash the make sure i have all the cleaning supplies that im going to need for my shift. I would dust, mop, sweep, wipe, all general areas such as lounge and bathrooms.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College
Elmira College Nursing Student (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYApril 11, 2016
Through my four years at Elmira College I have been given the opportunity to have many different and diverse clinical experiences. The knowledge I have gained throughout my time here has prepared me and given me the tools needed for success.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
N/A (Current Employee) –  Elmira, NYMay 20, 2015
Useful to work here to gain an advanced degree, but unfortunately most employees are unable to stay longer than that because the compensation is so low.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
HOUSEKEEPING (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYMay 18, 2012
they dont like to give raises no matter how long you have worked there.
Pros
you can get free schooling
Cons
no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to work
Student -worker (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYMay 31, 2012
The pay is not high but the hours are flexible, and the administration and friendly and understanding.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager Housekeeping and special projects (Current Employee) –  Elmira, NYJune 16, 2015
I oversee 25 full time employees in various Resident halls and office buildings on a day to day basis. I also oversee a variety of special functions and setups. I have a diverse employee base and enjoy the differences. in approaching them.
Pros
Great work enviorment
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was nice place to work for Temp agency.
Custodian,Cleaning the Dorms (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYFebruary 12, 2014
Left my Home at 4:30 a.m To get to temp agency by required time of 5:00 a.m. Found out where I was to work on that given day.

- I learned How to Clean and sanitize the bathrooms.
-I learned how to manage and divide my time wisely so that ALL TASK would get Finished for that day.
-Management was a bit more difficult as I had to work first with the temp agency, then college management. But it was doable.
-My Co-workers were fine to work with ,as we did not spend much time together once I learned the job duties.

-The HARDEST part of the job was leaving my home at 4:30 a.m. on those cold mornings.

-The most ENJOYABLE part of the job was really just working,and getting paid. Being back in the Workforce again.
Pros
having a paycheck
Cons
was only temp work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Campus Security Student Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYFebruary 4, 2015
***These poor reviews are speaking to the highest management of the college, not necessarily from what I experienced***

I witnessed corruption, disrespect, contempt, and manipulation throughout my four years working in different campus offices. This does NOT mean I experienced this treatment in the security office from my boss or co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxing, working atmosphere
Circulation Desk Worker (Former Employee) –  Gannett Tripp Library: Elmira, NYDecember 13, 2012
When I started working at the library I was very introverted and shy. Throughout my time working I have had interpersonal contact with many different patrons that has given me more effective ways to communicate with people. For work, I did general library duties such as checking books in and out, and also did side jobs that the supervisor required. My time and experience here has given me customer service and communication skills I did not have three years ago when I began working here. I'm sad to leave because of graduation but I enjoyed my time at the library and learned a great deal.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal position with benefits
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Elmira, NYApril 30, 2014
Cleaning and keeping things in order was the majority of my day as a housekeeper. I learned how to juggle many things at once while keeping calm! Management was very helpful. My co-workers were as good as they could be. Hardest part was finding reasons why I don't love my job. Most enjoyable was making people smile.
Pros
making people smile
Cons
learning the ropes
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
college job
STUDENT WORKER (Current Employee) –  elmira nyApril 22, 2015
It is a great job and I love going to work every day. Able to pick my hours around a college schedule. The school is great and friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer ESL program
ESL/English Teacher (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYJuly 18, 2012
This was a great experience. I got to work with a great group of students and faculty. Though the students were young and uncomfortable in being away from home, it was rewarding to see how much they learned and how much they grew. I learned a great deal about teaching and how to differ my approach when one way didn't work. It was tough, but by the end of the program, everyone was sad to depart. I really enjoyed the whole program, the teaching, the trips, all of it.
Pros
apartment, food, experience
Cons
short
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Experience
Women's Ice Hockey Manager (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYJune 1, 2012
Working at Elmira while attending the college allowed me to gain experience in the athletics and residential life departments. A typical day at work involved being an office assistant to the assistant athletic director, managing the women's ice hockey team during practices in the afternoon and games every weekend, and at night I would be on duty as a resident assistant (whether officially on duty with the radio or simply in the dormitory managing my floor and any others in which I was on).

I learned a lot about the social aspect of college life, as well as the processes that each coach has to go through for every trip or purchase they make for their team. I learned secretarial work and the importance of keeping files. I learned to take authoritative dictatorship as a resident assistant, write professional documentations and how to assess the dangers and severity of a situation such as whether or not a student has alcohol poisoning. I became CPR/First Aid certified through this position, and kept my certification since.

The hardest part of my job was having to deal with severe cases with students, such as those who threaten suicide.

The most enjoyable part of my job was the fact that I was able to know every student by how much RA-student interaction was involved.
Pros
leadership. time management. task management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Elmira NYFebruary 5, 2015
My typical day is to teach undergraduate Japanese language classes of 6-15 students, design curriculum and assess student progress.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student position
Chemistry Department Stockroom Attendent (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYDecember 29, 2014
This was a student position, this cannot be filled unless you are attending the college
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College
Assistant Men's Varsity Coach (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYAugust 8, 2014
This college provides you various opportunities to become acquainted with higher education. It not only provides you a skill set within your discipline but also allows you to explore other opportunities within the college.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A tough, physical job with rewarding outcomes
Stage Crew (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYApril 18, 2014
Communication is a bit difficult. Everyday consisted of building and painting and coming up with new ideas for set pieces and making those concepts comes to life on a stage.
Pros
short hours, great learning experience
Cons
heavy lifting, limited days to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful working opportunities
Campus Student Escort Service (Former Employee) –  Elmira, NYAugust 9, 2013
It was a great place to work and go to school. Here a student can work in any department and gain experience that will benefit them in the future.
Pros
ability to talk to professors and grow as a person
Cons
very far from any major city
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.4

Elmira College Reviews by Location