Find companies:
embassy suites hotels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

embassy suites hotels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work at
bus person (Former Employee), parsipphany, njJuly 13, 2014
Pros: free breakfast & lunch
Cons: pay rate & managers
they give you 6 days a week on a low rate pay no rest. people are rude..co-workers very competitive. no consideration for their employees. managers always flirting and yelling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced workplace
Banquet Server/Waiter (Former Employee), Palm Desert, CAMay 17, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: low pay
I served restaurant patrons and responded quickly to requests. I organized banquet rooms for weddings and parties. I assisted my fellow workers in planning and preparing events. The hardest part of the job was the heavy lifting. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with guests and providing the highest quality service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning rooms and guest service
HouseKeeper /Guest Services (Current Employee), Hoover, ALJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: discount on rooms
Cons: not enough hours, poor mangement
I come in for work, stock my cart with bed lining,soap,shampoo,pillow cases,cleaning supplies,cups,glasses,and etc! I usually 10-11 rooms a day to do,they are a pretty good size room so it should take me 30-45 mins to clean each room! Some rooms more if it is really dirty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hotel has its stress
Engineer,housekeeping (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 4, 2013
Pros: n.a
Cons: n/a
Started from housekeeping to cleaning suites tooo then engineer it was too bad you some bad days in the summer was crazy with a older hotel it was cold or heat then neutral the the system was set for the whole hotel not each room ...management was good after they see you work hard its good to multitask in a hotel thats where job security comes in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people were better than the job
Assistant front office manager (Former Employee), Orlando,flNovember 23, 2013
Pros: the people
Cons: travel program is a joke, long hours with little pay.
The people that I met and worked with were amazing. The property itself is old, dated and ownership is doing whatever they can to not spend any money. We tried to make the best of it and I truly believe people kept coming back for the people. Upper management is unrealistic in their expectation that a four hour customer service class will fix deep underlying – more... issues with the building. My direct superior was a complete micro manager that does not know how to coach people and basically just threathens their jobs. I truly feel sorry for the people left behind under him because even other department heads were wondering why he still has a job. I would probably recommend the company to other people but I would caution them about upper management. I personally got dumped because I would not conform to his way of running things even though I clearly showed him it was not working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location to work
line cook (Former Employee), Louisville, KYNovember 1, 2013
The food and beverage department at Embassy Suites Louisville was a pleasure to work with and for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work place at times
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 16, 2013
Pros: hotel discounts
Cons: hours being cut
Substain employment at this time. Enjoyable co-workers as well it being a nice hotel to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever!!! I won't recommend to anybody, lack of everything
server (Former Employee), Embassy suites Piscataway NYSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: free old lunch and dinner
Cons: expensive insurance
They only give you more and more work and responsabilities, very poor paid, unfriendly coworkers and managers, horrible experience, old food for employees.......and so on
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardest job I've ever had
Banquets (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNAugust 17, 2013
Pros: have long hours
Cons: snob co-workers
I really don't like what happened in working here all of the plates and trays are heavy to carry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is very environment place to work.
Busboy (Former Employee), Oxnard, CAJune 21, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: pay rate is low
Assist over 50 guest through one work shift.
Very time consuming
Learned to work with people from diverse backgrounds.
Excellent co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, face paced, work place
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Beachwood, OHJune 18, 2013
In a typical day at the Embassy Suites hotels every morning we start our day of with a team meeting. Next we collect our noards which contain a list of rooms to do. We get about 18-25 rooms a day with a mixture of checkouts and stayovers. We stock our carts with all the supplies needed for the day. The managers work close with the suitekeepers to get – more... rooms turned over properly and quickly. The job itself isn't hard at all. The most enjoyable part of the day is when we are all seting up our carts congregating and laughing about of off days and nights before. We even laugh and joke with our managerial staff. All the departments get along well and assist each other if one department falls short of staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discharged if you don't smile
Breakfast Busperson (Former Employee), San Juan, PRJune 13, 2013
Pros: free lunches
I worked for the Embassy Suites in San Juan Puerto Rico for just a month, I did not pass the probationary period because I did not smile, yes, as you read it, BECAUSE OF A SMILE, no guests complaint and I perform and excellent job, told by the supervisor, but because of a smile did not pass. This is the most ridiculous thing I ever heard. I got discharged – more... because I did not change my personality the way they wanted. Think twice if you plan to apply for breakfast busperson in Embassy Suites in San Juan, PR. because if you don't smile you get discharged and in less time than the probationary period. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profit is more important than employees
Sales Adminstrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago Downtown LakefrontMay 20, 2013
Pros: free lunch, but horrible. discounted rooms, if you are able to find them.
Cons: poor health insurance - aetna
I was at Embassy Suites for almost eight years. I worked at the front desk for one year then moved into the administrative assistant postion for the GM and the sales staff.
During the folowing seven years, I went through four Director of
Sales, any directors postions were cut to eliminate costs. More pressure and responsibilities were placed on supervisors. – more... Many of them were left go due to lack of experience.
SALT scores are always low. The last year I was there, the yearly employee reviews were at all time low.
PROFIT is the most important thing. Big promises for future business but rarely met without going to GM. Then the GM and sales team would scramble to make guests happy.
The lines for comp. breakfast and drinks were always exessive due to lack of staff. Management didn't want to hear need staff is needed, however, they didn't want to give BMG Certificates or hotel cerificates.
It took almost two years to replace the director of finance since PROFIT is the most important than emploee's welfare.
Currently, hotel is without DOS and ASST. GM? PROFIT SAVINGS?
HR is strictly by the book. Well depending what and who the situation is about. HR Director doesn't want to be brought into a possible law suit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont care for employees
housekeeping (Former Employee), San Antonio,txFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: room discounts
Cons: the pay, no lunch, no parking
Not the greatest place to work. The second worst hotel I worked at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont care for employees
housekeeping (Former Employee), San Antonio,txFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: room discounts
Cons: the pay, no lunch, no parking
Not the greatest place to work. The second worst hotel I worked at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont care for employees
housekeeping (Former Employee), San Antonio,txFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: room discounts
Cons: the pay, no lunch, no parking
Not the greatest place to work. The second worst hotel I worked at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont care for employees
housekeeping (Former Employee), San Antonio,txFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: room discounts
Cons: the pay, no lunch, no parking
Not the greatest place to work. The second worst hotel I worked at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Suite Attendant/Supervisor on call (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Friday is always enjoyable and fun and we have time to know each other through our stories and cultures sharing. the hardest part of the job is to move up and down but it is good at the end of the day because we as co-workers support each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace place, family oriented
Food and Beverage Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 7, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: not too much room for growth
Very busy Breakfast operation and dinner operation, lots of freedom to maketing the place, create sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always working
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee), Valencia, GNovember 19, 2013
Pros: no
Cons: no
my days at work were great, I learned a lot there, as. liability with and teamwork. I liked a lot of my previous work with my colleagues always compathy