Find companies:
EmblemHealth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
45 reviews

EmblemHealth Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EmblemHealth
Hospital Administrator (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 8, 2014
A typical day at work involves lots of contact with our providers.

Much research/review is completed each day to ensure that our provider issues are addressed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Data Analyst for VP of Sales and Marketing (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 23, 2014
Learned a great deal, management encourages you to grow and continue to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
consultant to employee
SENIOR PROJECT SPECIALIST/MANAGER (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYJune 24, 2014
Cons: all
Long commute and not very thankful for your time at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthcare insurance
PRODUCTION ASSISTANT (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 19, 2014
Pros: great environment overall
Working in a office setting for medical insurance I was faced by many challenges plus I was involved in a lot of customer service, I worked under great management and was able to work under great conditions. the most enjoyable part of this position was i was able to help others in ways that was highly appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relationship Manager
Senior Group Practice Specialist (Current Employee), New YorkJune 12, 2014
Oversaw the daily activity within the medical groups as the relationship manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees health & wellness approaches
Grievance & Appeals Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 31, 2014
Pros: good employees health & wellness approaches, fitness center
Cons: unpaid forced overtime.
However overall the average companies compensation and work structure is very low and poor. Too much pressure and stress. The volume of work is tremendously high and abusive work hours. Unpaid forced overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and challenging environment with great growth potential
Community and Marketing Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 26, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits including tuition reimbursement
Cons: tuition reimbursement cap
A typical day at work consists of meetings, event activation planning, project initiation and follow up. As an employee of 12 years, I have learned many aspects of the company from Case Management to Philanthropy to, and most recent, Brand and Community Marketing. Overall, management is fair and often encourages employees to challenge the status quo – more... and increase job performance by enrolling in complimentary educational courses. I am pleased to work with a dynamic group of individuals that are innovative and productive. The most enjoyable part of my job is the difference we make in the lives of people and in the communities where they live and work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Benefits Specialist (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYMay 9, 2014
Pros: pay and 35 hour workweek
Cons: limited upward mobility
The position I held with Emblemhealth(formerly GHI) was great and there was never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past envirnoment with ability to learn a variety of skill sets.
Manager of Financial Planning and Analysis (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 17, 2014
The most exciting part of the job is working with senior leadership and presenting ideas on how to improve the financial performance of the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero
Slave (Current Employee), NyApril 4, 2014
Cons: too many to list
An absolute night mare to work for abusive managers- workplace abuse. Aggressive incompetent department. Interested in cranking numbers- two jobs for one salary. Deliberate tactics to downsize by overworking and unreasonable expectation. Worst job I have ever had and I have a long career working with top notch companies.... Stay away. Antiques systems – more... and work flow – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part was the vacation time
Grievance and Appeal Analyst (Former Employee), Hollywood, flMarch 18, 2014
Our Dept. head was in NY. She was a stern woman,with harsh words. I wont bash her, but would like God to bless her the way she needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Director, Clinical Appeals (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 6, 2014
Excellent work environment, team players, solid training programs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A milestone in my career
Assistant of general manager, Lead technician (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 19, 2014
EmblemHealth, formerly HIP and GHI, joined together to create one of the biggest and successful health care insurance companies throughout northeast region of a tri-state area. This company gave me a huge opportunity as a health care professional to learn and expand my knowledge and expertize in areas not only invloving pharmaceutical industry but in – more... a managerial aspect of the game. My job includes many projects other than just managing a chain of 12 pharmacies and over 40 health care professionals. I dipped my hands and more into many important projects and planning of the organization almost on the daily basis. We have a great team put together to accomplish goals that were considered impossible to accomplish by many. We still continue to achieve goals to create even a bigger and more successful company and making it the best in the East Coast. From managing over 40 employees, staying in compliance with local and federal regulations and making sure all the contracts and addendums are in tact and always up to date is just a tip of the iceberg of my daily routine. From financial reports and closely working with accounts payable and cost containment group, i am well aware of the savings and managing the resources for the best benefit of the company. I am looking forward to expand my abilities in the company similar to EmblemHealth and to make sure i leave a positive mark and help push the company forward and be succesful myself as an individual and a professional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place
Quality Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), Melville, NYFebruary 9, 2014
Very work focus place. Hard working staff and very numbers oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Senior G&A Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: enormous amount of pressure and unreal timeframes
The Grievance and Appeal Department is extremely stressful. I would not recommend this job to anybody, not unless you like punishment. I have seen grown men cry due to the stress of the job. Upper Management is very unprofessional and manipulative. The Management team will rig your evaluation, so that your rating is unsatisfactory and end any hope of – more... you receiving a pay raise or incentive. There is no advancement in this position. If you try to post out to another department they will give you a bad evaluation, put you on a performance improvement plan (PIP), which will make you ineligible if you were chosen for a position in another department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee), New yorkJanuary 20, 2014
I worked as a supervisor. The first week one of the workers told me don't get too comfortable as no one stays beyond 3 months because of the stress. I should have listened as that was one of the worst jobs I ever had. Almost gave me a breakdown.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK AS A QUALITY ANALYST IN OPERATIONS QUALITY!
Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee), Melville, NYDecember 14, 2013
Pros: great benefits, pto, 1 hour lunch, work from home
Cons: rude manager, clueless supervisor, system issues, unrealistic goals, high stress, late nights, weekend working, cram sessions
THIS IS THE WORST JOB I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY WHOLE ENTIRE LIFE. There is no work/life balance! There are constant system issues that go unresloved yet you are still expexted to meet daily goals (32 audits per day). The secret message is (DO IT AT HOME). They provide laptops to do the work at home on your free time instead of fixing the center of the – more... system issues. At first i thought it would be great to have laptops until I realized that they used this as an excuse to still hold you responsible for the same goals as if the system was operational(most days works for only 2 hours out of 8 hour shift). This amoung other things were unrealistic goals. The director of the department is great but he has no clue that the Manager and Supervisor have no clue what they are doing. The department is disfunctional and there is a serious lack of communication, high stress level, and no appreciation for the employees. No parties, no birthday acknowledgement emails, no mention of a job well done ....NOTHING. They conduct meetings about what meetings we will have and then expect the same number of audits to be done for the day-(Secret message- STAY LATE OR TAKE IT HOME...SMH). The manager is rude and extreamly disrespctful. She doesnt know how to speak to people and uses curse words openly in the office which is very unprofessional. There is no training and a high turnover. Many people quit or get fired and hate working in this department. The coworkers are great pay is ok benefits excellent management sucks. 1 hour lunch great no employee acknowledgement. You will be stressed out, have no free time and feel talked down to and disrespected. DONT DO IT TO YOURSELF TRUST THIS REVIEW OR GET FIRED OR QUIT TAKE YOUR PICK. MAKE SURE YOU ASK IF YOU DO DECIDE TO GO TO THE INTERVIEW ABOUT THE TURNOVER<----- – less

December 17, 2013

This is true! The absolute worst department and management ever.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Analyst (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 5, 2013
Great place to work
Great culture
Excellet Life/work balance
AMazing opportunities for career advancement
:D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work environment and good team to work with
Senior Desktop Support (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 20, 2013
Pros: friendly and helpful team of technicians, as well as being knowledgable
Cons: extensive hours at work, some low level management issues, and a terrible commute
Work environment was good, but there was a constant flux in the staffing that was needed due to budgetary issues.
High amount of work throughout the day, especially on Win 7 project I was on. Was very understaffed and had high amount of hours for this.
Management was in a state of flux due to reorganization, but overall the management staff was good – more... at the mid and upper level.
My co-workers were one of the main things that made the day to day work enjoyable.
The hardest parts of the day were the commute in and out of NYC. On average, the commute was 4 hours total. There was no time to spend with wife and two small sons. Also having another child would add to this. The other part that was difficult was having the staffing for the Win7 project constantly changing and becoming understaffed. There were also unrealistic timelines put on the team given the management, software, and staffing issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Regulatory Supervisor (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 15, 2013
Working at EmblemHealth is a very productive environment. Always working on resolving members and providers inquiries.

1 2 3

About EmblemHealth

EmblemHealth is set on being the mark of good health in the Northeast. The not-for-profit company provides health insurance¬†through¬†subsidiaries¬†Group – Read more

EmblemHealth Photos