Emcore Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ours are excellent have you have little children. School hours 7-3:30pm
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Cross, SCJune 14, 2016
job was ok if you like to clean, but the pay is minimal. pay raise annually if you meet requirements. employees were very drama filled. Working in a male environment gets frustrating because of the constant flirting you endure. Even if they are married!
Pros
great ours if u have children
Cons
no advancement, slow pay raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great people
Staff Engineer (Former Employee) –  Newark, CAJune 27, 2015
My experiences were mostly positive. Sometimes I felt my skills were not being put to their full potential. Other times it was stellar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace good for training and with friendly employees
Python Consultant, R&D Engineer (Former Employee) –  newark, caJune 5, 2015
company has training session for industry knowledge, hands-on practices, multi-disciplinary info-sessions, and fun activities for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and excellect co-workers
Warehouse Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Batavia, OHMay 12, 2015
Since starting EMCORE Services I have had to opportunity to explore many jobs within the warehouse and show my abilities. After serving several months in each job, I got the opportunity to show I can lead a team and support a high volume shipping operation everyday. I hope to carry this dedication and experience onto to a organization that wants to be productive and likes great team leaders and players.
Pros
Free range opportunities on jobs you want to try.
Cons
Contracted to do the jobs, which can to be a risk
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much finger pointing - no team feeling
former employee (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMSeptember 22, 2014
The manager of this department seems nice and supportive at first but will throw you under the bus without any hesitation.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
no accountability no ownership, everyone loves to point fingers at each other
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emcore was a very good envirenment in which to work. Focused , efficient and well managed.
Senior Mechanical Inspector (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMAugust 6, 2014
I usually worked, on my own with minimal supervision.
The tasks were well defined, as was the level of performance expected.

I had the opportunity to learn many new skills and sharpen the skill sets I already had.

Management was excellent. Perhaps one of the best companies that I had worked for. Projects, budgets and goals were clearly defined.

I always received the support I need to accomplish my tasks.

My co-workers were excellent. Each person had tremendous expertise in their own field.

The hardest part of the job was leaving when we were bought out.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction I got in being part of a well run productive company.
Pros
Great work envirenment. Good communication at all levels.
Cons
Sometimes dealing rapidly changing priorities became challenging.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Semiconductor Operator/Inspection (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMay 11, 2014
A day at Emcore, requires paying close attention to small details, communicating with multiple co-workers to insure the best quality assurance. I have learned to become adaptable, as well as multi-task successfully.
Pros
Workout classes, gym on location
Cons
12 hr. days, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filth, unprofessional facility.
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Alhambra, CAMay 1, 2014
First of all, at this facility, the property is old and filthy. I worked in the so-called "clean room" and saw dust, filth, spiders, ants, and roaches. The many of the employees were unprofessional - who chews gum in a clean room. The management is ridiculous, allowing all sorts of silliness and horseplay in the labs. If that appeals to you, than this is the place for you. If not, just pass on any position at this company's Alhambra branch.
Pros
It's employment.
Cons
Filthy facility, unprofessional employees and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked working with circuit bds
engineering of bds (Former Employee) –  Blacksburg, VAMarch 17, 2014
worked with engineers liked the job but it closed to went to california
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with. Too bad all the production moved to China and S.Korea.
Assembly Operator (Former Employee) –  Alhambra, CAFebruary 17, 2014
Perform dimensional, mechanical, and visual Inspection during lab testing operations on processed material within various degrees of complexity.

Read work orders or receive oral instructions to determine work assignments, materials, and equipment needs.

Assembled and inspected quality of materials under stereo microscopes (Zoom: 0.8 - 3X).
Tested fiber optics and wafer chip technology for performance.

Ensuring operation of equipment by completing preventive maintenance requirements; calling for repairs; maintaining equipment inventories; evaluating new equipment and techniques; all under ISO-9000 standards.

Worked in a cleanroom lab environment practicing protocol and methods of ISO 1 cleanroom standards to prevent contaminations of materials and equipment.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Temporary project.only
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice atmosphere and friendly co-workers
Associate Engineer, R&D (Current Employee) –  Somerset, NJJune 5, 2013
My co-workers are very friendly and i am learning a lot of new information. The enjoyable part of this job is that it involves a lot of team work and bouncing ideas back and forth between your co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not your first choice
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMay 7, 2013
This is not a company you want to work for. Unless its your last choice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Assembly Operator (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMarch 8, 2013
A typical day was meeting our quota for the amount of solar panels needed for that day. Going into this i knew very little to nothing about tools, and building thing. My fellow group were very helpful and trained me well on what i needed to know to build solar panels. I loved knowing i could produce what was needed in a timely matter and help meet our quota.
Pros
working with tools
Cons
repetition
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at the Warminster location
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Warminster, PAJanuary 8, 2013
I had a 3 month temporary position last 9 months.
Wish I was still working there
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
no benifets
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work environment. Employee suggestions acknowledged.
Associate Engineer (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 24, 2012
High volume productivity within the MOCVD area. Was given an opportunity to learn and advance within the skill set. Excellent teamwork environment. Only drawback was lack of company's financial support to quality support equipment. Outdated.
Pros
good team environment. excellent benifits.
Cons
few opportunities for new skill sets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the job but could not handle the managment
Sr. Operations Support Facility Engineer (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 5, 2012
I liked working for this company but due to management conflicts it was in my best interest to pursue other opportunitis
Pros
enjoyed my positionand the people
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
n/a (Former Employee) –  alhambraDecember 19, 2011
management is unprofessional, everything is unorganized and company does not make anyone permanent EVER! no health benefits, no higher pay but you are expected to spend all ours of your life at work. Never a single positive note or review no matter how hard you try only negativity and a constant push for production. The place itself is dirty and old, roaches and ants everywhere
Cons
management is a joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report

See more Emcore reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Emcore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2