EMD Millipore Employee Reviews

Found 51 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Before EMD Millipore took over in Jan. 2012, it was a great place to work. Had great relationship with my boss.
ACCOUNTING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Rockaway, NJDecember 5, 2012
Until EMD Millipore took over in Jan. 2012, it was a great place to work for 12 yrs. Within 10 days of EMD Millipore's ownership, we were told the our postions would be eliminated on Aug. 31, and our operations would move to Billerica, MA.

For 12 yrs my typical day was to post all bank transactions early in the morning. Next, audit all invoices from previous day's shipping, prior to mailing to customers.Code and post all bills and expense reports, and prepare for cash disbursments each Wednesday. In afternoon, apply cash from all checks received that day, and prepare the online deposit to bank through the check imager.

Every 2nd Monday, prepare company payroll. Receive payroll checks on Wednesday and prepare corresponding journal entries. Mail and hand out checks on Friday.

Every Thursday, receive in our product and parts shipments from our Germany manufacturers.

Every Friday, prepare product and parts purchase orders, then scan and email to Germany for next week's shipment.

On 3 thru 5th working days each month, prepare sales tax reports for upto 21 different states for which we were obligated to pay sales taxes to.

From 15th thru 30th, make collection calls to past due accounts, issue credits, resolve any customer discrepancies.

Worked daily in unison with Customer Service, Warehouse, and Repair Depts., on credit releases and inventory matters.

Coordinated the takeover by Bio-Rad, then Biotest Microbiology and learned many new functions in the formation of new businesses.

Hectic, fast paced environment, because I had so many responsibilites, but I thoroughly enjoyed
  more... the experience.  less
Pros
loved flexibility i had, jumping from function to function. never got boring.
Cons
in accounting/finance dept., did not receive any company performance bonuses.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning room, running machines.
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Jaffrey, NHAugust 18, 2015
Clean your work station, check to make sure you have all the right material and the right number(s) of material to finish every lot/work order. Check all qualifications, and specifications to make sure they are in spec and that the material matches up to the right work order. I learned how to fix certain problems on my own, learned how to be my own mechanic to my machine. Co- workers there are very nice, I enjoyed working with another person, usually its two people per machine, when we were low on people sometimes it would only be one person per machine. I really liked working on the machine, and enjoyed the company of the other working with me. The hardest part of the job, is constantly stopping whatever you are in the middle of doing to check and make sure everything is where it is suppose to be, running like it is suppose to be, and making sure it is still within specification for the customers satisfaction. The most enjoyable part of the job, was just doing my job. Knowing I was making medical parts that could help other people or even save their life. I left work every morning feel good about the job I had just done.
Pros
Temps still got christmas bonus*
Cons
9 Month probation period, was there for almost 2 years and still no word on being hired. No TOA, no sick time, no vacation, and did not get paid holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dead end job.
Pleater Operator (Former Employee) –  Jaffrey, NHJuly 9, 2015
I worked with good generally people while there on night shift but sadly management shows favoritism in their hiring. i worked there as a temp for over a year and a half and my group lead had no complaints about me, i worked hard and did my job tried to learn new things ( positions) but those in charge hired newer people full down with less experience ( under 6 months). During my duration the majority bathrooms were locked 1 of which was closest to the cafeteria which could have caused a possible health hazard if someone got burnt or something of the sort. I wouldn't say the work is particularly enjoyable but had i learned new things the answer may have been different since my job wasn't particularly challenging with the exception of when we were short handed and had to work the amount of 2 people or more. i've heard from full time co-workers that the benifits are good once hired sadly i never was.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great coworkers.
VALIDATION ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Bedford, MAMarch 25, 2014
EMD Millipore is an excellent company which produces many top of line products in the lab water industry. I have been with the company for about 9 years, starting off as an intern and becoming a full-time employee in 2009. I have gained a comprehensive knowledge of the new product development process from both a research & development as well as a validation perspective. EMD Millipore employs a very diverse and talented work force that I enjoy being a part of. Teamwork and cohesion between departments is something the company promotes and encourages and is an integral part of creating new products. Managers, for the most part, allow their groups to work independently and promote innovation, staying away from micro-managing. Advancement and recognition can be a bit of a challenge due to the large size of the company.
Pros
talented workforce, innovative, free lunch at least once a quarter.
Cons
advancement a challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make EMD Millipore Your Central Priority
Contract Specialist (Current Employee) –  Billerica, MAFebruary 9, 2014
This is a incredibly fast paced environment with a small head count coupled with a high volume of work. It is the type of office culture in which, regardless of your position, you will have next to no down time. Expect to work for the full hours you are there, most times, through your lunch, on vacation, on weekends and after your set hours. Results matter at any cost.

Nepotism is a real problem in certain departments. HR does not take issue with it. Retaliatory behavior is also an issue that runs rampant when seeking HR assistance in resolving colleague to colleague and upper management issues. Nothing is confidential.

However, you will learn a great deal in a very short amount of time. The standard salaries are competitive. The health and vacation benefits are good.
Pros
benefits
Cons
company culture
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where the happy & sad co-exist
Manufacturing Lead I / Trainer (Current Employee) –  Jaffrey, NHJanuary 23, 2015
Typical day
I would punch in, find out where I was going to work that day, Say Hi to everybody, Have a pre-shift meeting to discuss issues/changes in procedure or company policy.

I would then go to my workstation, talk to the current operator about how the machine/product ran. Start the beginning of shift procedures, wait for a lead to verify the machine settings & crank out quality numbers that consistently exceeded daily quota.

Finally, I would begin end of shift procedures, report to lead my production performance numbers, clean my area and talk to the incominng operator about how everything ran. Say Bye to everybody and punch out. The end.
Pros
hitting/exceeding my quotas, learning new machines
Cons
momentum breakers like bad product or machine break downs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My current employment
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Jaffrey, NHOctober 22, 2014
I love where I currently work. We specialize in life science and new medical innovation products. I would love nothing more to stay here but there are no opportunities right now that use my degrees earned which is very unfortunate. The most challenging part of this job is the ever changing needs of the customers and increases in demand. That said, I appreciate the challenges that in turn push me to do better and dig deeper for better performance in myself.
Pros
great benefits package and 401k plan
Cons
i have no cons to the place of employment. i owe them a lot for the challenges, and opportunities i have had in the five years i have worked there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Culture
Global Marketing Communications Specialist I & II (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOMarch 9, 2013
As an employee of the company that was purchased by EMD Millipore, I witnessed a dramic culture change over a year's time that went from being an open, honest, team environment, to one of unclear and inconsistent internal messages with no regard to the employee's work/life balance. Employees in one location were reassigned to new positions, adding to the plunge in morale.
Pros
previous employee benefit structures remained in tact for the short term.
Cons
extreme overload of employees in teach department, requiring one person to do the job of 2 and 3 previous employees, to appear more profitable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation is very low for this type of work
Clean Room Assembly Technician (Current Employee) –  Danvers, MAJune 14, 2015
You are required to have knowledge of assembly drawings. You assemble, package and seal and vacuum assemblies for shipment. You must have good english skills because you have to fill out documentation.
Cons: Clean room gown and face mask can be uncomfortable.
You often have to deal with listening to hip hop music and top 40 for most of the shift.
Pay is much too low. $12/hr for temp workers
There is no timeframe of when you could be converted to perm status.
Pros: Co-workers are very nice, humble and hardworking.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow to convert temps to perm
Clean Room Assembly Technician (Current Employee) –  Danvers, MAJune 28, 2015
You assemble products according to drawing specs and then package and vacuum seal for shipment. 10 hrs a day and standing for the whole shift. After a couple of months, you can learn other processes and equipment, but as you increase your skillset, the pay is the same and it is not used as criteria to make the worker permanent.
Pros
4-day work week
Cons
uncomfortable gowning procedure and short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work
Senior Collaboration Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bedford, MAMay 7, 2013
I have been at Millipore for twenty years, sixteen years as an employee. It's been fun and a great ride over the years. I would do it again. Great employee benefits and outings.

They have allways challenged me to do better and take on more responsibility.

We have been purchased by Merck KaGa so things are changing and we must adjust to the new way of doing things.
Pros
recognition awards, free lunches and outings.
Cons
none come to mind.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people with growing pains from old school to new owner.
Buyer (contract) (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 22, 2012
My supervisor went to the HR department when she wanted to convey a correction to her crew. I found this to be very strange, as she was not empowered to speak for herself.
Pros
nice town hall meetings, catered food occasions.
Cons
frowning faces, gossip galore since millipore purchased emd, people were in fear of losing their jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMDM a complex organization in the Chemical business
Demand Manager/S&OP Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Billerica, MA Home Office routinelyJune 11, 2014
I enjoyed working with a large global organization for the complexity of problem solving. I was routinely asked to work on high level analysis which proved both interesting and informative.
The latest re-org is going very slowly and I believe I would like to look for other opportunities outside the company.
Pros
global and complex
Cons
re-org is taking longer than anticipated
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Manufacturing Assistant/Operator (Former Employee) –  Danvers, MAAugust 1, 2013
I have learned a lot being employed at EMD Millipore. A day at work is always busy and keeps you moving. Everyone is very nice and fun to work with. my Co-workers are awesome and funny. a lot of very hard working employees. I like to come into work and keeping myself occupied. I do a lot of multitasking.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bio Tech field Cross training enviorment
Kitting/Shipping Personel (Former Employee) –  Danvers, MAApril 24, 2013
The Process of getting hired direct, goes by a 2yr waiting list.
Most employees are temps. at one point even the woman in charge of interviewing process was TEMP.
Pros
two 30 min brakes, and its a growing industry
Cons
temp.temp, temp. no work? no pay, holidays? no pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a large company
Manufacturing Technician (Current Employee) –  Danvers, MAJanuary 14, 2015
EMD Millipore or Merc Millipore depending on what country you are living in is a large cooperation with multiple locations throughout the Northern United States, and multiple locations in Europe as well. If you are the type of person who would like to stay with one company and still have the benefit of moving.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxxxxxxxx
Staffing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Saint charles, MissouriOctober 11, 2013
•Coordinated and schedule 120+ interviews weekly
•Conducted Global phone screens and schedule various meetings related to the interview process.
•Completed offer letters, process new hire paper work and all other responsibilities prior to
on-boarding
•Prescreened Candidates
•Recruited for non-exempt positions in the St. Charles Facility
•Trained new Staffing Coordinators
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned so much, loved and enjoyed working at EMD Millipore.
Machine Operator, packaging and shipping (Former Employee) –  Jaffrey, NHOctober 3, 2015
EMD Millipore gave me and taught me so many things that I will carry and hold on to for the rest of my life. By saying so I'd like to explain that Millipore took the time to explain and demonstr
Pros
good training and good people
Cons
certain employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Normal day
Document Control Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Temecula, CAFebruary 19, 2015
Create, Edit and approve labels for products.
QA Batch records for Good Document Practices.
Smartsolve software for Quality Management Systems
Create, edit, route, reject and approve documents within the system.
Global Webstore: upload Certificate of Analysis
Pros
have a great boss
Cons
been there two years as a temp
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time there as a contract temp
Raw Material Validation Technician (Former Employee) –  Jaffrey, NHApril 12, 2015
If you can get hired as a full time emplayee, this is a place to be!
Sadly you can be there years as a temp\contract employee before you are made full time.
Pros
location, pay, benefits, people
Cons
Contract employees get less benefits and are let go easily
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 52 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture