Find companies:
Emeritus Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
174 reviews

Emeritus Senior Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized, stressful working environment
CNA (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 10, 2014
Unorganized, stressful working environment. Nurse aides were overworked. Short staffed and often left with a nurse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, high pressure, constant lead changes
Assistant Executive Director (Former Employee), Hartwell, GAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: bonuses, resident relationships
Cons: long hours, huge responsibility level that went beyond my training
Walk the community to make sure the building is presentable to prospective residents and their families, 30 phone calls a day, home visits, accounting, deposits, invoicing, building tours, daily meetings, counseling families and residents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Caregiver (Former Employee), Merced, CAJuly 4, 2014
Pros: very friendly environment
As a volunteer for this company, I was slightly limited to the work I was allowed to do. However, even as a volunteer I gained a lot by working with individuals with Alzheimer's and similar memory disorders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with a team that values Family
Commuintiy Relations Director (Current Employee), Vallejo, CAJune 29, 2014
I love working for Emeritus. It is challenging, rewarding and social.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No training
Medication Aide (Former Employee), McCook, NEJune 26, 2014
Pros: popcorn
Cons: awful smell after work.
Residents overcharged for substandard care. Most are not able to ambulate without assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Over 15 + years of customer service and clerical experience.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 24, 2014
Administrative Assistant

Facilitate experiences/tours of community resourceful strong problem solver, coordinated monthly activity calendar, assisted HR in application process of applicants, coordinated contracts, assisted with inquires, processed all office supplies assisted all departments, strong organization skills, assist in payroll, accounts – more... payable and receivable.
Acted as liaison between company and customers/vendors
OPS Clerk in the Economic Crimes Division this position entailed processing files for archiving for imaging in the Tallahassee office.
Processing DHL for archiving files for shipment of Economic Crimes closed cases.
Preparing log sheets for all shipment and updating shipments info into Word Perfect 9 system.
Consolidating all materials and information needed for shipment. Position also entailed filing, faxing, copying.
Phone contact with clients, filing, inputting office supplies on Excel spread sheet, sorting, distributing mail, updating contact information.
Responsible for processing letters. Sorting incoming mail- proposals, reports, letters, verbal agreements, entering them into the PCT data base to be assigned to case managers.
Entered data into the Access. Initiated telephone contacts and filing.
Responsible for Accounts payable transactions and assigned vouchers to invoices, commission reports, expense reports for payment.

Receptionist

Heavy phone contact with clients assisted clients with questions.
Worked with Direct Mail doing a large mail order.
Worked at the Convention center assisted people with inquires.
Continuous phone contact with accounts, customers and account representatives.
Accurately consolidated daily totals of sale orders from account reps
Prepared returned authorization slips and inventoried all articles
Inspected and sorted all packages entering office, maintained records of clothing used for photo shoots.
Computerized customer response survey information

Sales Associate
Comfortably involved in heavy telephone contact with clients daily
Completed and processed all claims for damaged goods and customer satisfaction
Assisted customer service representatives when sales volume at peak levels. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Grand Terrace, CAJune 20, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: none.
i really enjoyed working there. awsome place.
glad i had the oppertunity to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non health work place
Nursing Manager, (Current Employee), Del Mar, CAJune 14, 2014
Too much task to be accomplished in just one shift. The work environment is unhealthy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Kitchen Helper (Current Employee), Dunedin, FLJune 2, 2014
Cons: low pay, lousy managers
currently work there.mmmmm mmmm mmmm mmmm mmmm mmmm mmmm .whar are u gonn. to iy will not let idtoo you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace working environment
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Farmers Branch, TXMay 28, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: no breaks
Asst resident in day to day common activites of home living. Office staff well put together, a mutual understanding between co-workers, time frame to accomplish task, the love and care for our seniors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't apply!
Resident care assistant (Current Employee), Clarksburg WVMay 27, 2014
Pros: the pay check
Cons: everything
I've work here for 1 year and some odd months. Coworkers are shady and lie on people. Management is a total joke, the turn over rate is so high it's unbelievable. Residents are needing more care than an assisted living facility should give. We are a "no lift" facility; we lift 90% of the residents. You're told what you want to hear; no help when needed. – more... Charge nurses will be your friend then turn on you. The rate of pay is a joke for all the things we do! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Plymouth, MAMay 22, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Emeritus and learned a lot about how to deal with people with dementia and Alzheimer's. It was a great place for a first-time caregiver to get some hands on experience, and they ease you into it at my facility rather than throwing you in. My gripes are few, but they're pretty big. Instead of paying overtime they'd front you an extra – more... hundred bucks for doing a double as a bonus, which would be taken out in taxes, so I was basically working 16+ hours from time to time for no extra money. They also had a hard time replenishing stock, especially gloves, soaker pads, and briefs. And if you're a CNA, you know you can't live without gloves. The first of the month almost every month things got backed up and supplies were short, but if you complained loud enough it would get back on track.

I loved the residents with all my heart and soul, and I loved my boss. She was amazing and compassionate and wonderful, the perfect welcome to the CNA world for me. Despite my problems with Emeritus, I feel very happy to have my boss as a reference. I'm lucky, and grateful. If you ever have a chance to work in the Memory Unit at Emeritus at Plymouth Beach, take it without a second thought! Everyone is wonderful there, from the residents to the RAs to your boss. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management does not care about their employees
resident assistant (Former Employee), Fortuna CaMay 17, 2014
Cons: management sucks
I just recently quit my RA position at Emeritus in Fortuna, CA. I worked noc shift for a long time and have been trying to switch shifts for a while now. The nurse told me at the end of Mar when she hired more people she would take me off. She said she cant change the schedule. The schedule gets changed all the time. The noc girl in memory care asked – more... to get off noc and she did. When I started this job I was on noc because I was the new hire. Well the nurse doesnt do seniority which is bull. She came up with all the stupid rules, useless paperwork to do that no one looks at and the med techs say she sluffs alot of her work on them. She has been so mean to me and I tried talking to the Executive Director but she was rude and backed up the nurse because they are close friends. I wanted off noc because I am not hardly sleeping during the day and I am burned out. My blood pressure has also skyrocketed. I resent the management not changing my shift when they could. I am considering a lawsuit for all the suffering I have gone through. If they were smart they would get rid of the nurse because she is poison. Even some of the residents have complained about her. I wasnt trying to cause trouble but I am worried about my health with little sleep. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
LVN Charge Nurse (Former Employee), San Dimas, CAMay 9, 2014
Pros: the patients
As a nurse you must chart on your patients at the end of every shift. There was one catch though...no overtime. So if by some chance something threw your day off and you were a little behind, you had to clock out at the end of your shift and stay to chart. Hired a new DON who was never around, training for new nurses was horrible. Like any job, coworkers – more... gossip. But when other nurses would make a mistake and blame it on prior shift, i wasn't about to put my license on the line any longer. Shady staff and management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT TEAM
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COMay 8, 2014
Pros: working with residents
Cons: managment!!!!!!!!!
The Emeritus at Austin Bluffs is horrible. The management team is garbage and they treat there workers like dirt. i would not recommend anyone working here. Th management team talks behind resident family members back and are just horrible. They also are very blind to there workers when they have family problems and have to handle certain things they – more... expect you to drop your family and be solely worried about what they need and only what they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not a bad place to work but going thru a merger.
Medicaid AL Specialist (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMay 5, 2014
Pros: enjoy the change of atmosphere
Cons: that the bod is not supported well enough in most bldgs.
Auditing and reviewing accounts to assure that they are in compliance and account is accurately refunded or written off whatever the case may be. Hardest part is finding old info in the bldg due to turnover of office staff.
The rewarding part is that the balance that is actually an adjustment and not true balance. Sense of accomplishment.
It is a great – more... asset to work in a bldg when the BOD has been there consistently a length of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management very unprofessional
CNA (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 27, 2014
Pros: worst company i ever worked for. loved my patients though
Cons: pay, management, high school musical
I worked third shift and of course, just like every other place I've worked; third shift gets blamed for everything. Managment took down curtains thru out the building so they could spy on us at night. We were terrified. A few times we heard knocks at the windows and seen people peaking in. We didn't know who it was at the time and had to call the police – more... multiple times. The pay was horrible and it was like re-living high school all over again. #theworst RUN! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emeritus
Senior Housekeeper and Resident Assistant (Current Employee), Towson, MDApril 23, 2014
Pros: benefits, vacations
Cons: paying for lunch, salary
I love the service that I give to Emeritus Senior Living of Towson everyday. A typical day for Me is making sure my building is safe,clean and secure. I welcome the residents every morning, I know all of them by name, I give them a very detailed cleaning of their private rooms.the most enjoyable part of my job is giving back everyday. I treat My Emeritus – more... Family as My Own Family. I've learned that working for seniors is a rewarding experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so Organized
Server/Hostess (Former Employee), Dover, DEApril 22, 2014
I enjoyed my residnets and working hard. I usually picked up extra shifts all the time. But the management was not so good. At certain times there was no manager for my department and then when there was one they didn't know what they were doing. So the benefits of that were I had to step up and manage the kitchen at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emeritus Senior Living Oakridge Senior Living
Oakridge Senior Living Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Stevens Point, WIApril 21, 2014
Pros: clean friendly environment
Cons: pay is less than a nursing home
love this place it is typically pretty clean spacious rooms and environment for all very good people to work for

1 2 3 4 5