Find companies:
Emory University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

Emory University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proficient and efficient with being a liason between two research administration departments.
Data Management Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GA 30310July 13, 2014
I process, monitor, and review grants and contracts for accuracy, calculate budgets, produce reports, identify and resolve issues with awards, and make modifications as needed.

I have become familiar with OMB circulars and gained knowledge of PeopleSoft Financial System. I have learned the organization of grants and contracts from cradle to grave.

I – more... served as interim lead for a brief period and learned the intricacies of managing both job assigned and people.

I am a team player and therefore understand the importance of collaboration and keeping a harmonious work environment.

The hardest part of this job is knowing all the moving parts of award processing. Applying one type of methodology to one contract may be totally different when applying to another contract which appears similar in nature. Knowing the difference in when to apply what comes after much experience in the field of research administration.

The most enjoyable part of the job is learning something new and different every day. Things are constantly changing, therefore, I am flexible enough to allow myself not to be overwhelmed by having to do things differently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Open Minded Work Space
Clinical Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 11, 2014
Communicated with peers on health related issues. I learned a lot of medical terminology that will be a great access to me later. I love management and my co-workers. The best part of my job was I was able to change people lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing university, great program
Summer Undergraduate Research Experience Fellow (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 6, 2014
I found the Summer Undergraduate Research Experience to be a fantastic program. Atlanta is a fun city, and Emory has top notch facilities. Fellows were housed in dorms with roommates, encouraging us to get to know other program participants and network. The lab I worked in had a really friendly, sharp, collaborative crew, and a fascinating umbrella – more... theme and projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for...
Systems Administrator (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 4, 2014
Great place to work for. Great environment and atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Systems Administrator
Systems Administrator (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 19, 2014
Pros: excellent working environment
Excellent working environment for person looking to stay until retirement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at Emory
Laboratory Animal Technician II (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 18, 2014
Pros: people, benefits and environment
Cons: pay, leadership and lack of growth
Emory is a very multicultural and have great people to work with. I do believe it's difficult to advance in the field that I'm currently in. The benefits is great but the pay is very unsatisfactory. With that said i do enjoy work with positive people. I have been working and Emory University for the pass 9 years and it has its ups and downs. I would – more... love to feel some levels of trust from my management staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emory University
HR Assistant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 12, 2014
Pros: benefits are great, employee recognition is a plus, shuttle service
Emory is a great Company to work for.
The Company offers training to employees to enhance growth. Management can use more Leadership Training and the Co-workers should take advantage of the training classes that are offered.
The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting new people everyday during the HR process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides an excellent education
PhD Student and Instructor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 4, 2014
I have been happy in my time at Emory. I think the courses are very high quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides an excellent education
PhD Student and Instructor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 4, 2014
I have been happy in my time at Emory. I think the courses are very high quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is less likely to support subordinate positions
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), AtlantaMay 29, 2014
It is a great place to work if you have a competent and people conscious manager. Upper management has not supported staff. Great benefits but no support from hr and other areas when conflict arise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work environment
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 20, 2014
Pros: not assingned to office area, i walk around to complete my tasks.
Cons: dealing with the politics of the job.
A typical day at work consists of filing paper work, completing invoices and expense reports. I work alone mainly on the financial accounting part but I collaborate with other co-workers in order to set up and break down events. My position is a fast paced position in which you must be able to multi-task in order to be productive and efficient. The – more... management is stern but caring. The hardest part of my job is dealing with numerous personalities within your work day. The most enjoyable part of the job is being recognized for all your hard work and effort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Decatur, GAMay 19, 2014
OUTSTANDING STUDENTS AND EMPLOYEES.
WORK ETHIC GREAT
ENVIRONMENT WONDERFUL
MANAGEMENT NEEDED A LITTLE WORK ON
PARTTIME WITH NO BENEFITS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive
Assistant Professor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 5, 2014
Emory is very supportive of faculty through development programs and funding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co-workers, professionalism, and great benefits
Scheduler (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits, co-workers and environment
Cons: traffic and distance
An average work day consisted of scheduling appointments for students and their dependants, posting ICD-9 codes and payments, collection of cash payments, medical records maintenance, and answering and routing calls. I was fortunate to have had the opportunity to work side by side with the Insurance Coordinator. I how to verify coverage and the guidelines – more... of various insurance agencies. My co-workers and I were a very cohesive group. The hardest part of the job was the travel, which was a two hour round trip, but the people I worked with was worth the long ride. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Food Service/ Customer Service (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no time for breaks
produtive work place that takes care of their guests. typical day at emory is preparing then serving over 1500 guests, i learned how to cut n prepare foods and propper storing temps. i get along well with all my co-workers. The hardest part about my job is finding time for a break because we are always busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The working environment is fine
Research Assistant in Department of Epidemiology (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 11, 2014
Co-workers are OK. Management is good. Compensation is OK for students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really laid back
Academic (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 11, 2014
You can tell a big difference between the staff and faculty. Nobody plays by the same rules. Depending on who you know you can pretty get away with anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server/Busser
Server/Busser (Former Employee), Decatur, GAApril 3, 2014
Making customers feel satisfied with a friendly adaptation of welcome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable organization with some flexibility of work/life balance
Research Accountant - Yerkes Primate Center (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: employee benefits, telecommute in some departments
Cons: expensive eateries, parking fees, traffic congestion
learning experience
process grants and contracts and related tasks
management and co workers are sociable
hardest part would be lack of growth on a consistent basis
enjoyable part is the potential to move throughout the organization after 6 months within present one
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned to handle both the public and medical professionals
Records Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 14, 2014
Pros: varying duties and educational opportunities
Cons: employee turnover
My overall experience at Emory was very beneficial. I learned many new computer skills and record management. My ability to work successfully with the public, students and medical professionals was developed to a high level of excellence. Scheduling was the most challenging assignment. However I learned to keep both patient and doctor on schedule and – more... happy. – less

1 2 3 4 5