Find companies:
Emory University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
132 reviews

Emory University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Food Service/ Customer Service (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no time for breaks
produtive work place that takes care of their guests. typical day at emory is preparing then serving over 1500 guests, i learned how to cut n prepare foods and propper storing temps. i get along well with all my co-workers. The hardest part about my job is finding time for a break because we are always busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The working environment is fine
Research Assistant in Department of Epidemiology (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 11, 2014
Co-workers are OK. Management is good. Compensation is OK for students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really laid back
Academic (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 11, 2014
You can tell a big difference between the staff and faculty. Nobody plays by the same rules. Depending on who you know you can pretty get away with anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server/Busser
Server/Busser (Former Employee), Decatur, GAApril 3, 2014
Making customers feel satisfied with a friendly adaptation of welcome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable organization with some flexibility of work/life balance
Research Accountant - Yerkes Primate Center (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: employee benefits, telecommute in some departments
Cons: expensive eateries, parking fees, traffic congestion
learning experience
process grants and contracts and related tasks
management and co workers are sociable
hardest part would be lack of growth on a consistent basis
enjoyable part is the potential to move throughout the organization after 6 months within present one
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned to handle both the public and medical professionals
Records Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 14, 2014
Pros: varying duties and educational opportunities
Cons: employee turnover
My overall experience at Emory was very beneficial. I learned many new computer skills and record management. My ability to work successfully with the public, students and medical professionals was developed to a high level of excellence. Scheduling was the most challenging assignment. However I learned to keep both patient and doctor on schedule and – more... happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sr. Clinical Research Assistant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 5, 2014
working here is great. I'm just looking for longevity and future wise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyment of working with students
Career Center (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 4, 2014
Pros: academic environment
Cons: pay
Most enjoyable part of the job is working with smart students, faculty, and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 22, 2014
Big university with lots of great research going on. Great work atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postdoctoral fellow
Post-Doctoral fellow (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: salary
I was a postdoctoral fellow completing my training in biology, studying proteins/ membrane glycoproteins interactions. I was also responsible of the receiving the packaging and training graduate students/technicians. I had weekly meeting with co-workers to improve and discuss our research projetcs. I enjoyed of the innovation, the critical thinking – more... process and the challenge of the research. The pressure related to the grants/results was bearable but constant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance and good pay
Application Developer Lead (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: work life balance, pay, opportunities, low stress, good company match
Cons: things move too slow sometimes
I enjoyed working at Emory and will miss this place for many reasons.
The work life balance is the best I've come across especially given the pay. Most everyone is out by 5pm. In software development this is rare in my experience.
Management was pretty professional with some exceptions.
Co-workers are supportive and work hard and know there stuff. Not – more... a cutting edge company, but I was lucky to work on some great technologies. Very thankful for the opportunities.
You get a big discount on courses as well.
Also, they give you 9% match really. That's unheard of.
I still razz my wife about why we left Atlanta :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 12, 2014
Every day was different. Extremely busy office with lots of variety and different working groups. Loved being a part of the leadership team for Woodruff Health Sciences Center. The center's components include Emory University School of Medicine, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, Rollins School of Public Health, Yerkes National Primate Research – more... Center, Winship Cancer Institute, and Emory Healthcare, the largest, most comprehensive health system in Georgia. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinator Continuing Education
Coordinator, Continuing Education (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: great colleagues, traveled to interesting places, great benefits.
-Heavy contact with Alumni, University Administration, staff.
-Enjoyed working in the Houston-Mill Alumni House with great colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice place to work. I love the Emory Culture
Accounts Payable Sr. Clerk (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 21, 2014
Day to day tasks include administrative work. I learned to be well rounded and work well with a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent overall
Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 21, 2014
I learned new techniques from my co-workers, who were very friendly. Even when experiments got frustrating, I learned something almost each time. I would recommend working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Cook 1 (Current Employee), Decatur, GAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: i have a job.
Cons: lack of hours.
There's nothing for me to learn on this job. I don't receive forty hours a week. I have a family and I need employment that will allow me to care for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRoductive Workplace
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee), Decatur, GAJanuary 6, 2014
Excellent place for longevity.

Excellent Location

Comradery
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on where you work within Emory
Student Researcher (Former Employee), atlanta, gaJanuary 5, 2014
Depends on your PI.

University has many different labs, many academic opportunities. After working for a year, you get 1 free class a semester. This can be in any of the schools.

Very good MPH program here, very good medical school. Neuroscience program (grad program) is very good, extremely diverse. Anthropology not so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment if you are into research...
GRADUATE TEACHING ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 2, 2014
The program was not a good fit for me once I discovered that research was not what I wanted in a career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning something new all the time
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great management team
Cons: temporary position
My typical work day was very busy managing calendars & travel arrangements for all managers. I scheduled so many meetings and gatherings. I met so many people from different countries. My job was great I love to stay busy. The hardest part of the job was not having enough hours in the day.

1 2 3 4 5