Find companies:
Employment Security Department
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Employment Security Department Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a typical state agency
Data Collection Supervisor (Former Employee), Olympia, WAOctober 29, 2014
many opportunities for advancement if you are willing to work hard and stand out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Government position Employment Security
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), 212 Maple Park Ave, Olympia, WA 98501October 5, 2014
Pros: health benefits and vacation days
Cons: please see review. job security is not ensured
The quality of the work experience depends a great deal on the leadership of the Commissioner. When a new governor is elected and this leadership changes, changes are inevitable in the agency. State employees are at the mercy of leadership and budget. Periodic layoffs are unavoidable. In the case of Employment Security Department, severe budget cuts – more... coupled with a change in leadership resulted in massive layoffs of staff. Not all decisions regarding the layoffs were fair or reasonable. Customer service to the taxpayers of Washington State was not a consideration. Do not work for the State if you want to go to bed at night and rest assured your position will be there for you the next day, even if you are an exemplary employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable mission, plagued by budget instability
Communications Director (Current Employee), Olympia WAJune 12, 2014
The Employment Security Department was a lifeline to hundreds of thousands of unemployed workers during the Great Recession. But deep budget cuts in the wake of the recession are jeopardizing the agency's ability to maintain even core levels of services.

There was a time when Employment Security was a magnet for people looking for interesting careers – more... that helped others enter and build their careers. The work is important - and there was a strong sense of togetherness in helping people navigate and survive the recession.

It's unfortunate and ironic that so many of the ESD staff who helped unemployed workers during the recession are now, themselves, customers of Employment Security. I miss the "not so old" days, and hope the agency eventually bounces back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Telecenter Administrator (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 11, 2014
Working in public sector learning experience
Enjoyed the people
Enjoyed learning how government works
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High productive and busy place to work in.
Human Resource Consultant Diversity Outreach (Former Employee), Olympia, WAMarch 6, 2014
Enjoyed making connections with community organizations to present information for Employment Security Department and how both sides can benefit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Everett, WADecember 14, 2013
I got to see what kind of people my grandma deals with on the Government system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working supportive staff
Data Compiler 1 (Former Employee), Lacey, WADecember 3, 2013
Cons: temporary
Enjoyed working for ESD. The staff was very accommodating and the management style encouraged a positive working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Employment Security office is a wonderful place to work for. they saw my skills early on and have me doing there graphic design, and advertising.
Resource Room Attendant (Current Employee), Kelso, WAJune 26, 2013
Pros: knowing about all the jobs that are available and help stimulate the economy
Cons: the temporary lay off that the state is getting ready to go through, because of the budget negotiations
I help in the resource room, helping to make people shine in there resume, and cover letter. Helping them realize what they are capable of. I get very high praise from my employer. they have me doing there graphic design for there advertising and flyers. I put together all power points, while maintaing and helping with computers and solving any problems – more... that come along. I adore working with the public and using my computer skills which come so natural to me to help people create cover letters and resumes that they are proud of. It not only boost there self esteem but also the economy because it makes more people be working. I am very facinated and engaged in graphic designing and advertising so I love being able to use my creativity to help design there aadverisements and flyers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy to work for ESD. Learn a lot about public services
IT Specialist (Current Employee), Olympia, WAApril 27, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Good if I stay on this job a long time. Learn a lot about public services. Management is good. Co-worker is wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great jump off point
Receptionist/Intern (Current Employee), Puyallup, WAMarch 26, 2013
Great place to work if you need a starting point and are coming through DSHS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun and stable place to work.
Document Examiner (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARNovember 17, 2012
A typical day would be to sort papers. I worked with some nice people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Puyallup, WAOctober 10, 2012
Very positive atmosphere. The co-workers are very friendly and I get to meet individuals from diverse Backgrounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I need to be me, helpful, happy, positve, a teamplayer and not afraid of something I said or do thats just not me
Guide, and Lockbox (Current Employee), Olympia, WAAugust 23, 2012
Pros: knowing that i have support from some co-workers, people willing to help others without an agenda for them. true real friends who are your friends.
Cons: negative, micromanaged, no happiness, alot of complaining from co-workers, phoney people
A typical day at work is opening and sorting mail, batching appeals and a lot of prepping and indexing of confidential documents. My work departmen is micromanaged, no smiling, laughing, talking positiveness and very little noise. I enjoy my co-workers just wish we were able to communicate and learn from each other, but thats not a plossable situation. – more... The hardest part of my job is not being myself, I am very outgoing, friendly, compassonate, care about others and being a whole teamplayer everyone included. My most enjoyable part are the real people, the people who care, and supportive of others, honest people. I have worked in the private sector most of my life and working for the state is so very very different. I do apologize for the negativity but its honest and the truth, I see very little happiness from others and that does not make for a good enviroment. – less

February 26, 2013

Okay, I most definitely will not be happy here.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work each day is a different challenge.
Unemployment Insurance Specialist III (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMay 19, 2012
Pros: great potlucks, lots of food.
Cons: state employees have taken a 3% pay cut, hours cut to less than fulltime.
A typical day at work is different all the time. I speak to more than 40-50 people a day about there unemployment claim. I spend time writing decision about unemployment.

There are always trainings, updates about unemployment laws, extentions, and policy update.