Emulex Employee Reviews

Found 37 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top notch engineering and developers
Senior Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 15, 2016
It was great working for a company that was putting out true best-of-breed products during a very competitive time in the industry.
Pros
Best-in-class design
Cons
Dying market (Fibre Channel)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place until the acquisition
Marketing Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMarch 11, 2016
In my 15 years at Emulex, I was afforded an opportunity to work with some of the nicest, most intelligent people I have ever come across. Even through the many regime changes, I always got along great with everyone and my role as an event manager was really fun. I got to travel to a lot of cool places and had a very fulfilling work experience.
Pros
Fun travel, great people, concerts, sporting events
Cons
Bad coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent atmosphere
Senior Supply Chain Specialist (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMarch 1, 2016
I enjoyed working for Emulex. Good products and leadership. Excellent work life balance. I enjoyed making a difference with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CADecember 2, 2015
Good environment and work culture. They value team work and everybody coordinate well together. Team building events are great. Management is good and they value open communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Test Technician Sr. (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CASeptember 30, 2015
I really enjoyed my job there for almost 6 years. Everyone was nice and fun to work with. We were acquired by Avago in May and my job was no longer. I was laid off in September 2015
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Sold to Avago
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with supportive management, especially in Accounting Department.
Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CASeptember 2, 2015
I have been working at Emulex for 10+ years. The work place is great. Accounting/Finance managers, colleagues are very supportive. Career development/opportunity is excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment. Supportive Management
Senior Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CASeptember 1, 2015
Great team environment. Management allowed employees to be creative with little to no micro-management. Work/life balance achieved by providing lunchroom ping-pong table and well equipped gym.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits but poor high level management
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Roseville, CAAugust 8, 2015
Good Pay and benefits
Good work environment
Management sold the company up the river to Avago
Avago management thinks only about the numbers
Engineers are just replaceable units.
Pros
Good Pay and Benefits
Cons
Poor High Level Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJuly 14, 2015
Too much politics at higher levels. Co-workers are nice. Environment is not good at this time with fear of layoffs. Projects cancelled all the time as management cannot figure out what projects to bring to the market.
Pros
Good friendly people
Cons
lot of politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has some good engineers but management overhead is high
Senior Staff Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 11, 2015
A technology company, but doesn't have a good road map and planning. Missed some opportunities in the market.

Have a chance to work with different teams.
Pros
Team work, cooperation.
Cons
Planning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cris review of Emulex
Sr. Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJune 1, 2015
The company is a great place to work and learn, very good culture and good compensation. I really like the people and the location to my home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work
Principal Technical Marketing Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 28, 2015
Company was a great place to work. However, direction from CEO was missing for a while. Never rehired a SVP engineering therefore, we knew the company was probably up for sale.
Pros
Great people
Cons
No direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Principal Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 22, 2015
A good technical team
No so good management team
In depth protocol knowledge
Enjoyed working here
Could be tough sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company until they sold to Avago Technologies
Senior Client Services Technician (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMay 13, 2015
Great company until they sold to Avago Technologies. Love the people and the family atmosphere. Love the lunches and ice cream parties and pizza lunches.
Pros
Family atmosphere, great people
Cons
sold company to Avago Technologies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place summary :)
Senior Firmware Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose , CaliforniaMay 12, 2015
A typical day at work - Funfilled work culture
What I learned - startup culture
Management - good management, little politics
Co-workers - very supportive
hardest part of the job - to follow the management politics
enjoyable part - debugging along with different teams
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work inspite of Company being bought out.
Senior Materials Handler (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAApril 17, 2015
frequent change of direction from various departments that need attention from Warehouse. Must be ready to adapt at moments notice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lucky Me!
Marketing Communications Manager (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMarch 30, 2015
Every work place has its challenges and imperfections. However, I can honestly say that, I personally feel incredibly blessed to work for this company. I love the people I work for and with, and I enjoy what I do. I have been treated far beyond "well" and have learned much from my superiors and co-workers. I am truly part of an amazing team that has encouraged, sharpened, and strengthened each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Staff Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJanuary 31, 2015
Great culture. Exciting place to work. Very progressive and a good management staff. I would consider working there again. Good products and vision
Pros
products, culture, staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, casual attitude sometimes with a "Wild West" swagger.
Senior DVT Engineer (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CADecember 11, 2014
Fast pace and dynamic environment with very light footed management. Many of the projects are carried out in small teams with laser like focus on quality.
Pros
wide range of experienced members.
Cons
vending machine doesn't understand what 5 dollar bills are.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work, sporting and mind competitions
Senior Network/Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bolton, MAMay 22, 2014
Maintaining and supporting networked systems (Routers,firewalls, switches,and computers) and users worldwide. The east coast office was the first line of support.

Confidence in what you do provides confidence to user community

Some of the best support specialist around, I would enjoy working with them again.

Every day there was a new challenge, I really can't say that there was a hard part of the job

No two days were the same, continuous learning and great new challenges
Pros
great working conditions
Cons
that it came to an end
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Emulex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8