English Heritage Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied Job day to day
Historic Properties Steward (Current Employee) –  FramlinghamNovember 25, 2017
Varied Job with opportunities to work at more than one site. Customer facing which is both rewarding and challenging. Good if you have an interest in history or historic buildings.
Pros
Free access to English Heritage Sites
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Historic Property Steward (Current Employee) –  NorthallertonNovember 13, 2017
no advancement opportunities, interesting places you get to work in, good teamwork
long working hours in the summer, shift work mainly.
Opportunities to work in other sites
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but
Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Saffron WaldenOctober 15, 2017
enjoyable for most of the time but there are tensions between paid and non paid staff which was very clear from when i began. Audley end is a lovely house
Pros
nice location
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent workplace
historic property steward (Current Employee) –  conisbroughOctober 11, 2017
wonderful place to work especially if you like history and talking to members of the public. opportunity to work at other sites too, gives you the chance to work at various sites.
Pros
great work life balance
Cons
zero hours in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very academic and professional team to work with. The work was varied and very interesting.
Buildings technical Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West MidlandsOctober 10, 2017
The day would deal with scheduled ancient monument documentation for repairs to historic buildings, a very meticulous and detailed process that required full concentration. The work involved elements of research that was very interesting. The management was very supportive and gave steer and clear vision to what the future goal of English Heritage is to achieve. The workplace culture operated through a micro management process, one that I was completely not used too however respect that the organisation requires excellence hence this arrangement. The hardest or should I say the most challenging part of the job was commuting into Birmingham where the train service was mostly unreliable getting too and from work. I enjoyed working with colleagues and learning different subjects that involved building conservation.
Pros
Excellent training provider
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place but hard to move up in
Transformation officer (Former Employee) –  Swindon, WiltshireOctober 4, 2017
Very admin heavy and meetings driven. A culture of whoever has been there longest gets to choose how things are done. A resistance to change. Lovely team feeling with a passion for history.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job but does have its down sides.
Visitor assistant (Former Employee) –  CornwallSeptember 12, 2017
Despite the fairly repetitive role most days on the job are different due the delightful unexpectedness of customers. The training can be a bit hit and miss but there are always other members of staff happy to help you. Not a lot of room for job development and progression on site.
Pros
Some great colleagues, fantastic loctation.
Cons
Long days, toxic atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
education volunteer (Current Employee) –  East SussexJuly 24, 2017
Battle Abbey is a great place to work as the people are friendly and the surroundings are delightful. Having only worked there for a few months, I have already made many new aquaintences and friends from many different walks of life, some being students, some retired, but all with a passion for History and passing on their knowledge to the next generation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Historic Property Steward (Former Employee) –  Amesbury, WiltshireJuly 3, 2017
Very busy location but I was never trained in the most productive job which meant there were times where I wasn't doing a lot so the days quite often went slowly. However, I enjoyed interacting with different people from all over the world although the hardest part was trying to provide information and inform visitors of certain rules when they didn't speak much English. The management team helped greatly when I asked them anything. I got to learn a lot about the history of Stonehenge and the surrounding area where I live.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
working late with few visitors
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as good as expected
Site Manager (Current Employee) –  StonebridgeJune 28, 2017
English Heritage is massivly over complicated and un-nessesarily over managed machine which is still seriously struggling with identity and purpose. There are stll several pockets of the old school government which need to leave before the charity can realky stretch its legs.
Pros
The people on your team
Cons
Wages, progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for summer / students
English heritage assistant (Former Employee) –  Isle of wightJune 17, 2017
Good for summer employment / young people on the level i was working at. cannot make comment on managerial positions as most english hertiage places are tourist atractions and thus i imagine turn over is quite high. Quiet , freindly and relaxing place to work.
Pros
beutiful locations to work in
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wpnderful Place Difficult System
Visitor Assistant (Former Employee) –  DowneJune 12, 2017
This was the best place I ever worked (Charles Darwin's Old Family Home). However the gap between the workers and head office was huge and unhelpful.

There were a lot of administrative hurdles to get over and actually being heard by the powers that be was very difficult. The English Heritage used to be a state department and therefore the amount of processes seemed outdated and over complicated.

My manger onsite and supervisors were fantastic and we had a great team. If you love history apply! But if you want to see quick changes implemented in a workplace I'd be very weary!
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Cumbersome style of leadership from head office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Company to work for
CAD Technician (Former Employee) –  East SussexMay 31, 2017
All of the staff are some of the most friendly people you will ever meet. A truly amazing opportunity if you ever get the chance.

Opportunities to learn a wealth of information, people are passionate and more than happy to explain anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great locations, great staff, poor conditions
Property steward (Former Employee) –  Osborne, Isle of WightMay 23, 2017
Retired and was looking for part time work. The role of historic property steward could be very good but the senior management of English Heritage are driven by profit. Staff have to push membership to the point of badgering customers, messages are not communicated down to staff and the internal politics is unbelievable.
Staff conditions are poor - 7 hours without a break was not uncommon, not even to get a drink or use a toilet which when working outside in the summer is not acceptable. Jobs are seasonal and be aware that if they can staff the post with a volunteer they will at the salaried staffs expense.
Looks good on paper but the recent change to a charity has brought a new breed to management that do not listen or care about staff.
Pros
Excellent locations and colleagues
Cons
Poor management and staff conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-respected organisation
Administrator and Historic Properties Steward (Current Employee) –  London and YorkFebruary 25, 2017
A good, well-respected organisation to work for with a worthy purpose. It is a good feeling to know that I am helping to preserve England's historic sites for future generations.
Pros
Working for a good cause
Cons
Long hours and poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and organised environment
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Osborne house beach cafeFebruary 22, 2017
I enjoy the challenge of working in a busy cafe, communicating with customers and providing a good customer service. English Heritage are a great company to work for offering a good degree of training and responsibility to staff.The management are approachable and helpful in solving any issues that may arise in a days work.The hardest part of the job is ensuring stock matches the changing customer numbers as the job is weather dependant as it is located on the private beach on the estate.the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the children happy with ice-creams and enhancing the visitor experience by giving a good service.
Pros
friendly environment to work
Cons
can be very quiet some days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Historic Property Steward (Current Employee) –  EssexFebruary 15, 2017
I love working here, excellent pay, friendly colleagues and members of the public (most of the time). It is just a shame that most English Heritage job positions are seasonal or now being made into voluntary positions.
Pros
The people and pay
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Historic Properties Steward (Current Employee) –  Down HouseJanuary 30, 2017
Typically the environment is very friendly. However, the job can be very hard work, stressful and exhausting after a full day. The salary is low, although typical of the hospitality sector.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Physically exhausting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lone working, long hours and no breaks
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  South EastJanuary 4, 2017
Poor work/life balance. Long hours 9.5 per day without a break as worked alone and site does not close for lunch. Can be stressful as lone working so need to be responsible for all aspects of visitor attraction including visitor safety and risk assessment. Poor support from higher management . Poor career progression. Job now less focused on history, learning and conservation and now purely sales/target driven. Pay is poor compared with similar roles in other organisations. Employee welfare facilities very poor.
Pros
Free visits to all sites for staff and family. Pretty work locations.
Cons
long hours, poor reward.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, impersonal and fake
Historic property steward (Former Employee) –  Wrest ParkDecember 28, 2016
I applyed and accepted the job for english heritage having a passion for history and people. I was a fool, its just another business sucking all the interesting things from thier sites in exchange for money. All importance goes on maintaining the shop stock and keeping conversation with customers to a sales pitch. I applied for a historic property steward role to one day end up washing up dishes in the back of the cafe area and my supervisor telling me to mention it on my hours so i could be paid less! Horrible long days and company will forget to give you any benefits unless you remind them to give them to you about 3 times. Would not work for them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at English Heritage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 44 reviews
515
414
39
24
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture