Find companies:
Entercom Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Entercom Communications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I haven't worked there in 8 years. I have no idea what it's like anymore.
Board Operator (Former Employee), Westwood, KSJuly 28, 2014
Pros: free concerts! flexibility!
Cons: awful pay
It was a fun work environment 8 years ago. The pay was bad but there were other perks like free concerts. Still, I couldn't really comment on how it is now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, creative, potential to earn as hard as you work.
Marketing / Outside Sales / Radio Sales (Former Employee), Pittston, PAJuly 5, 2014
Tough gig but if you have the time and creativity and passion--you will be a top-seller!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Promotions Associate (Former Employee), Brighton, MAJune 24, 2014
Pros: awesome co-workers, meeting local celebs, cool events
Cons: low wages
I worked as an intern and then as a full-time employee at Entercom Communications in the Business Development and Promotions departments. There was no such thing as a "typical day" at Entercom because I was always tasked different and exciting projects by my awesome managers. One day I could be out working a promotional event with a few Red Sox players, – more... and another day I could be writing radio copy for a new client; needless to say, I was always learning and having fun. My co-workers were hands down what made me stay for so long with this company, and with such little pay. We were a team that worked together, accomplished our goals together and had each others backs. I only wish the radio industry paid their employees "behind the scenes" more than the actual talent because I would have gladly stayed with a career in this field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love it
DJ Hypeman (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMay 2, 2014
Pros: get to learn new things
Cons: have non
well i learned how to be patient and how to work as a team... also learned how to help customers fast and make sure everybody is happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Account Executive (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAApril 30, 2014
great people to work for
perks such as taking clients to various sporting events such as Oakland A's, Raiders and San Jose Sharks games
sales atmosphere with experienced sellers who were willing to help younger account executives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times!
Account Executive (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 13, 2014
Pros: free food! yay!
Cons: stressful at times
Generally, a fun place to work! Management (for the most part) is good and the people in promotions AND the office and pretty laid back and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, great talent, but tough place
Assistant Program Director (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: live and local opportunities, progressive on air strategies
Cons: negotiations, money, and bonus structre
Entercom believes in live and local talent, which is a major plus in an industry that has eliminated so much of it. They give you opportunities to grow, if earned, and have very smart people to help you do so.

They're biggest downfall is pay. They tend to nickel and dime programming staff, not only locally but from corporate as well. Their on air bonus – more... structure is probably a good business idea, but can be very difficult for the employee.They also are very difficult to negotiate with, often presenting take it or leave it scenarios. Again, probably a good business model, but it's very tough on employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced Media Workplace
Radio Show Producer/Control Board Operator (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 15, 2013
I have been with Entercom as well as other ownership companies of the radio stations that I've been employed by for 15 years. A typical day at work involved setting up various computer and digital radio equipment to coordinate, to oversee, and to execute various elements involved in the stations' programming. I've learned that this work atmosphere centered – more... on particular attention to detail, was very time-sensitive, and required cooperation between various colleagues. Management and colleagues were mostly cordial; however, some often lacked the courtesy to stay in verbal communication with me about certain aspects of the job and totally relied on e-mail as the primary means of communication. While e-mail is a necessary tool, personal communication is equally needed to reinforce significant aspects of the job. Hence, compromised communication and lack of being informed about important work-related issues were two challenges that I encountered with the job while the most enjoyable portions included being able to accommodate the hosts (talent) and making their programs/shows sound orderly and professional on the air. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work!!
Sales Account Executive (Former Employee), Pittston, PAJuly 7, 2013
Management lies, no formal training program, poor environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with clear goals.
Technical Producer (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 13, 2013
Pros: most job-related activities are extremely self-regulated.
Responsibilities include maintaining program/commercial log, scheduling recordings, working with show hosts, and handling listener calls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a ton of learning potential, but the low salaries make it difficult to make a living
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 29, 2013
Entercom has allowed me to learn and grow as a young professional in the media and advertising industries as I have worked in various positions throughout the company. I have learned about the sales process of selling radio and digital advertising as well as the coordination of every aspect of marketing campaigns. I am accustomed to scheduling advertising – more... flights, designing sales proposals, handling paperwork, and many other tasks such as updating revenue reports and organizing monthly expense reports. My co-workers are very fun to work with and almost always willing to help each other out with any work related issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management with poor compensation
Account Executive (Former Employee), Pittston, PaFebruary 27, 2013
Limited compensation, poor management, and little opportunity to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wilks
Kansas City Limits (Director), Promotions (Current Employee), Kansas CityDecember 26, 2012
I learned the proper way & the not so proper to do things. I had the chance to work with some great people and some not so great people, but you find that in every gig. It is also how you learn more about yourself and how you want to treat people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging job
Account Executive (Current Employee), Kansas CitySeptember 24, 2012
Pros: freedom, fun workplace, great managers, tickets to concerts and sports events
Cons: very hard to succeed, no room for advancement
This job is the most rewarding job I have ever had. Sales is a very tough business and radio sales might be the toughest of them all, but if you can succeed selling it then you could sell anything. This job requires a lot of hard work and cold calling. The goal is to continually generate new business which after time might start to look like a never – more... ending battle, but you get out of it what you put in to it. The hardest part of this job is staying positive. Being told no is something you have to get used to. The management and the co-workers are absolutely the greatest part of this company. Everyone is there to help you succeed and become a better salesman. The work environment is a very fun and friendly environment. Not the typical dry business environment many people expect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior management was very competent.
General Sales Manager (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 22, 2012
Pros: market leader in ratings and revenue
Cons: poor morale during my time there
Poor local leadership resulted in dreadful morale. Great companies are only as good as the local management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun
Social Media Strategist (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 26, 2012
Very busy and forward thinking. Strong management structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Receptionist (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAMay 3, 2012
Pros: great benefits, fun enviroment
Cons: temp job
Entercom Communications was a Radio Station where I was the Receptionist. Entercom was a great place to work for. I got to meet alot of celebrites and the company offered great benefits. This job taught me alot about the music industry. On a typical day I was involved with radio traffic,sales and the promotions department. I alsp provided customers – more... with their daily commercial rotation and also maintained daily prize requisition. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advertising Sales and Promotions
Account Executive/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Portland, ORMarch 26, 2012
Pros: famous musicians come to work, exciting atmosphere, fun events
Cons: extended work hours late into the night, weekends
Aggressive advertising sales with event planning and promotions of customers products. Working with ESPN and KGON to plan, prepare and execute promotional events while also preparing ad spots for radio play.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Receptionist (Former Employee), Virginia BeachMarch 8, 2012
Everyday was exciting and many incentives. I enjoyed my time there and the job itself gave me an opportunity to get to meet many people and work on my public relations skills.

About Entercom Communications

Entercom Communications Corp. (Entercom) is a radio broadcasting company. The Company operates a nationwide portfolio of 100 radio – Read more