Environmental Defense Fund Employee Reviews in United States

Found 12 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Meeting and Events Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 6, 2015
Great company with a wonderful culture. Learned a great deal about events management and attention to detail. Vast training in budget making, event and organization, board meeting and environmental issues.
Pros
freedome, benefits, great location, travel
Cons
long hours, hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Work Environment with the Brightest People in the Field
Finance Donor Administrator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 25, 2016
EDF has been a great place to work at. Not only are the people there are kind and intelligent, the work/life culture is a bonus. Management is understanding in regards of emergencies to outside interests when taking time off. EDF also promotes constant learning and there is a tuition reimbursement program that employees take advantage.

The only downfall is the room for advancement. You're guaranteed a raise but since no one leaves the company, most end up in the same position for years.
Pros
Vacation Time, Weeklong Work Retreat and the Employess
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
has a very caring culture
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 24, 2015
caring place to work at, you can learn a lot. compensation is great and the people enjoy the work. staff are very dedicated to the goals of the organization.
Pros
great people
Cons
very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surrounded by Great People
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 11, 2014
The EDF is an amazing organization. I interned at the EDF on their Climate Corps team this past summer and had a wonderful experience. Management was great, co-workers were brilliant, and, best of all, everyone was so passionate.
Pros
great work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work if you have the right manager
Clean Energy Policy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 13, 2013
Overall positive place to work with a great work/life balance. Difficult culture if you're not used to making certain that your employer's name stays in the press.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 15, 2014
Overall I've really enjoyed my time at EDF. Everyone is hardworking and very respectful. On a typical day I will manage calendars for 4 supervisors. I will do research for specific projects given to me. I'll coordinate events for the energy and economics program. The range of duties is pretty wide and requires me to be very flexible.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
my team is spread throughout the country so it can be tough to have personal contact.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization with a great mission
Clean Energy Policy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 9, 2013
The mission is great and so is the work life balance. The hardest thing working there is the isolation if you're not in a regional or national office.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but less challenging
Grants and Restricted Funds Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 3, 2012
Reviewing day's schedule, attend to emails, work on my tasks

Learned on the mission of the company and the effects it has on the future

My co workers are family, so helpful and we had fun working.

Honestly, less work

Working with great team
Pros
flexible time, retreats
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job.
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington DCMarch 10, 2014
I love being her at EDF. Its a great place to work. The staff is very friendly and always helpful.
Pros
free leftovers
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high expectations
LEGAL INTERN (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJuly 17, 2012
This is a no nonsense job! High expectations from an excellent company with a mighty cause....
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work in.
Receptionist/Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 6, 2013
Very friendly people, casual dress and environmentally friendly office.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1

See more Environmental Defense Fund reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture