Find companies:
Epic Health Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
64 reviews

Epic Health Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, professional pediatric diversity
RN, LVN (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 6, 2014
Pros: weekly pay, work is always available, leniency with requested time off
Cons: no benefits, lower wages for new employees
I have worked for this company x6 years and my sole complaint was their extremely expensive and abrupt cessation of benefits. I was given a 2 week notice while 6 months pregnant with a high risk pregnancy. This left me at a huge disadvantage. As a large company, I would have thought the would have gone about this another way. New employees have complained – more... that epic's starting wages are very low in comparison to other private agencies. On a positive note, my pay rate has always been exceptionally well and our staff is extremely courteous and professional. There is always work available, employees get paid on a weekly basis, and training classes are always very detailed and easily understandable. The charting system is one of the best I've used so far, although it is still paper. I have not experienced any difficulty with any patients I have worked with in these past 6 years.
I would like to see the benefits re-instated with better rates and perhaps computer charting available to our staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting/Complex cases
Speech Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 3, 2014
Good amount of driving; a lot of overhead. Seemed to be financially driven.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Speech Language Pathology Assistant (Former Employee), Tyler, TXSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: the administrators
This company doesn't care about their employees. They constantly badger you to do things that are unethical and go against state licenses. The therapy director at this office particularly is rude, demeaning, forceful and likes to bully his employees into doing things that aren't appropriate. I was recently fired after being accused by this individual – more... of talking about personal issues during the times I was to be providing therapy. I never did this and without even listening to my side of the story he just fires me. The company refused to give me the 40+ hrs of PTO that I had accrued and told me that they I hope I move on quickly and take with me the lesson learned. This therapy director is still working there and since I've left multiple other therapists (PT,OT,ST, even Private Duty Nurses) have left.

I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work.
Nurse (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 21, 2014
I did not learn much from what I already know.Hardest part is some times I need to drive far.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks!!! Most nurses don't speak English!!
LVN (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: none-------run while you can!!!
Cons: everything!!!!
They promise you one thing i.e certain amount of pay, increased # of hours & give you something completely different...was promised so much overtime my head would spin but then given 24 hours a week, unless I wanted to drive 60-85 miles from my home without mileage compensation due to them saying my home was less than 50iles from location. Refused to – more... pay me on payday because they changed their due date of notes in the office with no replacement of how to get notes to them.when prospective employers call for references they will tell them they have never heard of you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad, Not Great
LVN (Current Employee), San AntonioSeptember 15, 2014
Not a stable enough schedule or enough hours. Pay is on the low side of the spectrum. Everyone in the office is nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is inconsistent
Private Duty Nurse (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: it's a 1 to 1
Cons: havent learned much
Private duty nurse which provides total care to one patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end
Employee (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 4, 2014
Company does not give reason of letting employees go. Disorganized and unprofessional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Nurse (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 2, 2014
Epic cares about their patients and their staff. They just moved to a nice, new building in Beaumont.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
nurse (Former Employee), downtown paAugust 20, 2014
Very unprofessional,they lie all the time,no benefits they will throw you right under the bus to the families to make them selves look better.don't work there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place and people
Home Health Aide/ CNA (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 19, 2014
Cons: going into different unknown situations
A typical day will constist of meeting witha client, addressing weather client is interested in care. I have learned to stay with a positive attitude. I respect every indiviual i come in contact with thru out my day. I believe the hardest part of this job is going into unknown situations daily. you may never know whats going to happen that day. i would – more... say the most enjoyable part of my job is meeting the most memorable nd sweetest people you can ever imagine and the fact that i get to care for them. I love that part! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK
RN (Current Employee), dallasJune 30, 2014
Pros: nice place
Cons: less pay
good day, may patients nice day with co workers. wonderful place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized they discriminate
nurse (Former Employee), milford deJune 6, 2014
Very unorganized. Bad mouth their nurses to other employees. They pick and choose what nurses they wanna give clients too. One nurse can ask for shifts they tell them they don't have any. "Certain nurses " can ask for clients and they tell them they have alot. Seems like they discriminate against certain nurses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Downingtown, PAJune 4, 2014
Pros: up beat
Professional staff and friendly available management staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back!
Clinical Supervisor- RN (Former Employee), TexasApril 28, 2014
Good thing about EPIC is if you are truly desperate for a job they hire any warm body that walks in the door as a field nurse. This company is very money oriented. Regional managers put too much pressure on office staff to hit quotas and in return put nurses in bad situations. Office staff is forced on many occasions to cut education corners and put – more... low acuity nurses with high acuity patients to fill Regional managers high quota standards. Most of the time these nurses don't realize what they are getting into until they arrive to shift. The nurses who realize what staffers are trying to make them do get forceful pressure to take on patients above there acuity level. This is the EPIC mentality and not in just one office! Also if you become a nurse supervisor be prepared to be in the office from 8a-5p M-F and then do night and weekend nursing supervisory visits, and be on call on a regular basis with no extra compensation. Also your lucky if your able to leave at 5p, most of the time I didn't get out till 6 and worked through lunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Professional atmoshere
former emplyee (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 7, 2014
Pros: weelkly pay
Cons: no benefits, backup or vaction time. rude
Some of the schedulers have very unfriendly attitudes. They lie to you about cases and leave out details on assignments. They lie about compensation. You better have a second job because if you don't and your kid leaves to go into the hospital or another agency you will not have work. They forget what they tell you and then lie again to cover it with – more... another lie. If you leave the company because they don't have work for you they give bad referrals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the children
LVN (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 30, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling, you can pick your work load, weekly pay
Cons: coordinators aren't fair with everyone
First let me say that I came to this company because it was a good start into home health care and pediatrics. So far it has been more good than bad. You do deal with families from all walks of life and often the coordinators that are trying to get nurses into theses home are honest about the case. They don't have PTO so if your patient is in the hospital – more... you can pick up shift elsewhere(if there are any to be picked up) or go without pay. Often the needs of the family's supersede that of the nurse even if its detrimental to the nurses well being. T – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In home care for disabled children.
LVN (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXMarch 28, 2014
Great company to work for. I just personally could not get use to being in someones home for 10-15 hours at a time. I am very energetic and like to be on the move.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different
Private Duty Pediatric Nurse (Former Employee), Addison, TexasMarch 26, 2014
Pros: could pick my cases, was easier but lifting kids flexed my muscle.
Cons: isolating, took a pay cut
I left hospital nursing at this time to try home health nursing in pediatrics. The recruiters worked hard to get many cases available in my area. I worked in Carrolton, Tx which was a hard commute in the mornings. I took care of a 5 year old with brain cancer who was debilitated. I stayed with this family for the most part of my employment there but – more... worked some for other families too. I decided to return to hospital nursing as home health care was a bit confining and not stimulating enough for my history in the field of nursing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best management and corporate office
rather not say (Current Employee), rather not sayMarch 16, 2014
Pros: patients come first, treatment of employees, bonuses
Cons: organization & no annual pay increase
I have worked for a couple well known healthcare facilities and they treat you like a number. EPIC is different. The management and corporate office have an open communication policy. They promote from within the majority of the time. The organization could be a little better but with growth comes bumps in the road. Field nurses can get plenty of work – more... if they are a good nurse that communicates well with the families. Most of the families are very easy to work with and are happy with EPIC services. – less

1 2 3 4

About Epic Health Services

Epic Health Services was founded in 2001 and is a leading provider of pediatric and adult care services, including skilled nursing, – Read more

Epic Health Services Photos