Find companies:
Equity Residential
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
108 reviews

Equity Residential Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 18, 2014
Great training, enjoyed my colleagues and fun! Hardest part of the job was the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth oriented company
Property Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 13, 2014
Best company I have yet to work for.
Great work life balance.
Competitive salary.
Great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 19, 2013
Pros: medical 100% coverage
Cons: medical 100% coverage
it is very fun to work with this company because everything i order
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here, makes me sad to leave
Administrative Assistant to VP's (Current Employee), Vienna, VADecember 18, 2013
Pros: great health benefits, vacation & holidays, company events and parties, lots of great people to work with and get to know.
Cons: i can't think of any cons
I planned to stay until I retire, however, it was wise for the company to move to Washington DC and we agreed mutually it was not a good move for me, so when they move in March I will find work elsewhere, if not before.

I have been highly appreciated and rewarded working for my teams at Equity and I will miss them terribly. They tell me I am 'un-replaceable' – more... because I have old fashioned loyalty and administrative skills - (I am not allergic to getting coffee for them or for their visitors, or doing minor personal errands as needed.)

The hardest part of the job was sometimes it was slow and I prefer to feel productive and busy so the time goes by faster and I end it feeling like I have accomplished a lot. Some day are just slow!

The most enjoyable part of the job was the individuals I supported and got to know over the 5 years with them. It is like a 2nd family and my Christmas bonus's and gifts showed their appreciation and my worth to them.

There was no job advancement for my job, it is kind of a pigeon hole job in that it is needed but there aren't any levels above to grow towards. But I was content with that, I loved this kind of work and have been doing it for 30 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional company with industry leading training and innovation
Sr. Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Hermosa Beach, CADecember 16, 2013
Pros: industry leading training
Cons: compensation
Equity Residential is an exceptional company to work for and has allowed me three promotions within three years of working for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was taught how to successfully run a company for a multi billion dollar corporation
General Manager (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 11, 2013
Pros: great upper management support
Cons: location was limited with growth
Worked with our off site controller with every aspect of the P&L
Built budgets, Set department targets for the department heads to achieve
I was taught how to successfully run a company for a multi billion dollar corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Employer
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), NorthwestDecember 10, 2013
Cons: endless
Terrible employer! Don't be fooled! Management is an uneducated, cheap and a sleazy group. If you want to work like a frantic lunatic with very low pay, handling communities of angry residents, this is the job for you. A highly miserable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run for the hills
Would rather not say (Former Employee), N/ADecember 7, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: weak, fake managers, poor pay, bad leadership
This company is all about who you know in order to get anywhere. They are full of uneducated, high school mentality gossip fiends and are beyond unprofessional. It doesn't matter that in 3 years, you made them at least $10 million and were a multiple award winner, promoted, hard working and well loved by residents and prospects. If 1 person who has – more... the highest employee turn over in an entire portfolio yet has been with the company for 20 years abuses, treats people like they are beneath her and gets off on belittling her employees yet doesn't like you, you will not be considered for new opportunities. They will hire people you trained and learned from you everything they know about leasing apartments and how to be a winner and pay them more than they paid you. They charge residents ridiculous renewal rates for garbage 1980s apartments with nothing to show for the increase other than their award winning "customer service." It's a joke!! Find a better company. Look for a company that requires more than a high school diploma as you will see for yourself that these uneducated, losers are all about a popularity contest. Even after 20 years, their managers are still not making 6 figures. I made $95k out of college and the only reason I pursued this bogus company was because my company folded after I was there for 5 years and I was forced to look at other industries. They are a weak ticket. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For retiree and college student
Concierge (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 18, 2013
Not to much to say on company value and ethic. This is for second job not career job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Property Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 28, 2013
Pros: education
Cons: too many bosses
Overall a good company.
Great team leaders
Wonderful coworkers
Freedom to manage Property
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Union Concierge (New York City/ San Diego) (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 23, 2013
Pros: good schedule and benefits
Cons: management played a small role
As a residential Concierge I was always on the move throughout the day dealing with move ins/outs, answering phones, helping the leasing staff, accommodating residents and their issues. I learned valuable customer service skills. Management was somewhat disconnected and provided only a small amount of guidance which cultivated an independent work ethic – more... that I used to stay productive on my own. The volume of requests and work orders at a 680 unit luxury high-rise building was the hardest part to stay on top of but the gratitude expressed by residents was most enjoyable for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very challenging place to work
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Joint Base Lewis McChord, WAOctober 9, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: management could be more employee friendly
My typical day at work consists of receiving the work load and putting together a strategy/forecast in order to get the job done with all of the equipment needed (each home has certain needs). I have learned no matter how much you know, there are always ways to improve yourself and your performance. I believe management could be a little more understanding – more... with employees, however, they are there to get a job done. My co-workers and the residents are the ones that keep/kept me here. There hardest part of the job is to adjust to the different needs of the situation of what we do. After 22 years in the military, I should have this down. Most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the residents happy with what we do for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't
General Labor (Former Employee), Fort Lewis, WASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: management is easy to manipulate
Cons: you can be easily let go if they find any reason
Poor values and management. I had a great 7 year run with them before management changed and I was fired without warning on a minor offense. Pay is poor as well and they do a barely passable job of maintaining properties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Assistant Manager Marymont Apartments (Former Employee), Laurel, MDSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: enjoyed my job
Cons: rent issues
daily routine consisted of dealing with residents,tickets and customer service issues. also processing rents and bills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
slave (Former Employee), cambridge, maSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: learned that i dont matter to big corporations
Cons: worked there too long before i understood equity's agenda
I worked there 2 years ago. The pay is low. The company's expectations are unreasonable. If you want to work long hours and be treated like a 2nd class citizen, this place is for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Community Manager (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: lots of senior management changes
Very organized and ahead of the market. Great benefits, lots of oppertunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equity was a very good place to work.
Garage service manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 14, 2013
Pros: job was close to home and i enjoyed what i did.
Cons: having to take on big projects by myself
Walk the garages, check to make sure staff did there job,running the scrubbers , maintance on equipment as needed, order supplies,check all lighting replace blubs and ballast as needed.overnight traffic painting. Working with venders. I learned a lot about working on a big property. I enjoyed working with the staff very professional. Hardest thing working – more... overnight for snow removal. Most enjoyable meetings I got to sit down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micromanagement
Property Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 12, 2013
Pros: insurance
Cons: micromanagement
Equity Residential has changed over the years and your performance is based on mostly metrics even though the employees don't have control of them. Most calls are recorded and you must follow a script of conversation or you will be given a written conversation from your supervisor of how to correct your calls. You are a number and the properties are – more... micromanaged. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with!
Leasing Director (Current Employee), Phoenix,Az.August 3, 2013
Pros: love my job!
Cons: can't make everyone happy!
No typical day is this business! Thats what I love about it. Print any necessary reports. Check units that will be used to tour. Morning huddle on any issues that need to be dealt with right away. I have learned that putting a smile on your face every day keeps your team spirited. Customer service can make the difference in your prospect picking your – more... community over another. Work together with your service team so we are all on the same page. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Micro Managed but overall good people.
Service Manager (Former Employee), Redmond, WAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: easy property to maintain with light work load.
Cons: over the top office politics and games.
Basically everyday was a set of routines. Property maintenance requirements. ie: grounds, pool, cabana and fitness centers.
Work on turns and work orders or structural repairs to building exteriors.
Scheduling work flow. Inventory management. Communicating with sub contractors and vendors.
Most difficult thing for me was to stay off of the "radar" when – more... the office politics started. I kept the Gates running so smooth sometimes I would actually start to believe it. But that took a lot of hard work and commitment to keep it there and I would speak up if something were to disrupt that. The residents and coworkers were great and provided a very enjoyable place to come everyday which outweighed the operational complaints. – less

About Equity Residential

Equity Residential owns, builds and operates high-quality apartment communities in places – like New York City, Boston, – Read more