Equity Residential Employee Reviews in United States

Found 177 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced service oriented business
Community Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 28, 2015
My overall experience has been very positive. I have learned many facets of the entire industry, I seek results through commitment. I cultivate my team to ensure growth and success in the operation. I enjoy that everyday is different and a fast paced working environment. When you think like owner, you have the opportunity for advancement and the company will take care of you.
Pros
Other properties help each other it is a working family enironment
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Team
Community Manager (Current Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 18, 2015
Look forward to my next journey, sharing the knowledge, think like an owner, one team attitude Equity Residential has installed in me after 16 years of committed service.

Thank you,
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was my first job in USA and not to be associated with my career.
Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Burlingame, CANovember 5, 2015
I loved working with my immediate Manager who imparted his technical Skills and good customer relations with our occupants.
Pros
My manager was also a hands on . Working with him made the job easy.
Cons
They fired my Manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to bad
Community Manager (Current Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAOctober 26, 2015
The company was ok no complaints. They trained me and help me through mistakes. High turnover in managment tho, which was discouraging and I chose not to move up with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 16, 2015
They are were understandable and good company to work for.
We were all looking for each others and being team player. Great company to work for and I will recommended to anyone.
Pros
At the end of the month we have a get together with the supervisor
Cons
on call
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance Technician
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 5, 2015
Equity Residential is a great company to work at but management is always pressuring the techs to use less supplies and try to fix everything. This causes supervisors to get fired or quit.
Pros
Discount on rent.
Cons
Too cut throat
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse, close knit, fun place to work!
Mortgage Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 4, 2015
Equity was a great place to work! Everyone and every position was treated with respect which created a great work environment and morale within the company from the SVP's to the mailroom staff. We worked hard together and we played together!
Pros
Work life balance!
Cons
That my position was phased out
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Property Management
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FloridaSeptember 28, 2015
Working at this company, I had staff that worked with me to keep the property running smoothly. I worked long hard hours and advanced through the company. The politics were difficult to deal with.
Pros
Went on trips, free lunches
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Company
Leasing Consultant, Skylark Apartments (Current Employee) –  Union City, CASeptember 24, 2015
Love this company the culture and people are the best!!! Working with the public and resolving any and all things for residents. Shipping and receiving accounts payable
Pros
Big company
Cons
Weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oustanding Team
Concierge (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 23, 2015
It is a wonderful place to work. Senior management is caring and competent.
Team work is outstanding after training and communication.
enjoyed working with all co workers.
Pros
People
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAAugust 22, 2015
I was a night concierge, tasked with fulfilling all of the overnight duties to prepare for the next day, including but not limited to cleaning, setting up coffee, security, filing papers, etc.
Pros
Workout Room
Cons
Health Care
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Located in the heart of downtaown LA! Great views!
Senior Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Downtown Los AngelesAugust 20, 2015
Encouraged to further continue and obtain a the Universal EPA section 608 Certificate.
Equity Residental offers good benifits and employee bonus programs.
Equity Residentail is a detail oriented company.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
SR.LEASING CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 28, 2015
Great apartment discounts for employees and a great company to start career in property management. A company that embraces diversity and challenges employees to excel at daily duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neighborhood coordinator
Neighborhood Coordinator (Former Employee) –  JBLMJuly 12, 2015
I enjoy working for this company, but the pay is not very good. The benefits are great as is the work/life balance. There is room to move around but there are only so many positions to move up in and Equity has many talented people. The good news is, work at JBLM and if you move to another state you can almost find work working at another Equity property.
Pros
Good work/life atmosphere, love serving our service members
Cons
Low pay, some managers do not have good people skills
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many friends not enough focus
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJuly 11, 2015
This place needs to focus more on the customer instead of the stock holders. Need the right leaders in the right positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Service technician (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 9, 2015
It is a good company I just started in the wrong location. The day started beautifully until some one started insult residents because he has hand over. I learned to be quiet and said I am excellent management has the last word whoever you said can be used against you. There some professional coworkers that you enjoy working with them. If you want to apply for this company due in a big property.
Pros
Extra pay day for snow removal.
Cons
Too much traveling, bad way to review scores to pay bonuses.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Luxury and ever lasting memories at my work place.
Concierge (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 3, 2015
A typical day at work would be communicating and providing luxury service to my residents. My job requires us to provide excellence in security for a billion dollar property. I have been working at this property since 2008 as a temp. In October 2011 I was offered a full-time job as a concierge. The hardest part of this job is watching the residents move-out who truly made an impact on your life. The most enjoyable part of my job is when a prospect signs the lease. Seeing how excited they are makes me happy. And knowing that I get partial credit for that is the best feeling ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management to work for
Maintenance Assistant (Current Employee) –  JBLMJune 27, 2015
Not to mention the Benefits and other perks of the job. Really hard to explain unless you have worked there. Just wish the pay was a bit better.
Pros
Lots of paid time off and very family oriented
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equity Residential makes it possible to advance in your career.
Property Management (Former Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAJune 25, 2015
My favorite thing about Equity Residential is the investment they put in their people. There are many opportunities to advance oneself and they encourage and support you to grown professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
HVAC Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Plainsboro, NJJune 20, 2015
typical day at equity was servey apartments and inspect before new move in.
what is required before moving into an apartment to be repaired is what i learned
management was supportive and instructional
my co worker were helpful and willing to share ideas.
being able to redirect residents on difficult situations throughout the large property was the hardest part of the job.
seeing the finish product knowing someone wanting to live in the apartment that i worked on.
Pros
bonuses, staff picnics
Cons
working on very tight budgets.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 178 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

Equity Residential Reviews by Location