Find companies:
Equity Residential
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
117 reviews

Equity Residential Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very challenging place to work
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Joint Base Lewis McChord, WAOctober 9, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: management could be more employee friendly
My typical day at work consists of receiving the work load and putting together a strategy/forecast in order to get the job done with all of the equipment needed (each home has certain needs). I have learned no matter how much you know, there are always ways to improve yourself and your performance. I believe management could be a little more understanding – more... with employees, however, they are there to get a job done. My co-workers and the residents are the ones that keep/kept me here. There hardest part of the job is to adjust to the different needs of the situation of what we do. After 22 years in the military, I should have this down. Most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the residents happy with what we do for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't
General Labor (Former Employee), Fort Lewis, WASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: management is easy to manipulate
Cons: you can be easily let go if they find any reason
Poor values and management. I had a great 7 year run with them before management changed and I was fired without warning on a minor offense. Pay is poor as well and they do a barely passable job of maintaining properties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Assistant Manager Marymont Apartments (Former Employee), Laurel, MDSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: enjoyed my job
Cons: rent issues
daily routine consisted of dealing with residents,tickets and customer service issues. also processing rents and bills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
slave (Former Employee), cambridge, maSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: learned that i dont matter to big corporations
Cons: worked there too long before i understood equity's agenda
I worked there 2 years ago. The pay is low. The company's expectations are unreasonable. If you want to work long hours and be treated like a 2nd class citizen, this place is for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Community Manager (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: lots of senior management changes
Very organized and ahead of the market. Great benefits, lots of oppertunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equity was a very good place to work.
Garage service manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 14, 2013
Pros: job was close to home and i enjoyed what i did.
Cons: having to take on big projects by myself
Walk the garages, check to make sure staff did there job,running the scrubbers , maintance on equipment as needed, order supplies,check all lighting replace blubs and ballast as needed.overnight traffic painting. Working with venders. I learned a lot about working on a big property. I enjoyed working with the staff very professional. Hardest thing working – more... overnight for snow removal. Most enjoyable meetings I got to sit down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micromanagement
Property Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 12, 2013
Pros: insurance
Cons: micromanagement
Equity Residential has changed over the years and your performance is based on mostly metrics even though the employees don't have control of them. Most calls are recorded and you must follow a script of conversation or you will be given a written conversation from your supervisor of how to correct your calls. You are a number and the properties are – more... micromanaged. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with!
Leasing Director (Current Employee), Phoenix,Az.August 3, 2013
Pros: love my job!
Cons: can't make everyone happy!
No typical day is this business! Thats what I love about it. Print any necessary reports. Check units that will be used to tour. Morning huddle on any issues that need to be dealt with right away. I have learned that putting a smile on your face every day keeps your team spirited. Customer service can make the difference in your prospect picking your – more... community over another. Work together with your service team so we are all on the same page. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Micro Managed but overall good people.
Service Manager (Former Employee), Redmond, WAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: easy property to maintain with light work load.
Cons: over the top office politics and games.
Basically everyday was a set of routines. Property maintenance requirements. ie: grounds, pool, cabana and fitness centers.
Work on turns and work orders or structural repairs to building exteriors.
Scheduling work flow. Inventory management. Communicating with sub contractors and vendors.
Most difficult thing for me was to stay off of the "radar" when – more... the office politics started. I kept the Gates running so smooth sometimes I would actually start to believe it. But that took a lot of hard work and commitment to keep it there and I would speak up if something were to disrupt that. The residents and coworkers were great and provided a very enjoyable place to come everyday which outweighed the operational complaints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large company,
Grounds Keeper/ Painter (Former Employee), Littleton, COJuly 31, 2013
Was tasked with doing a 3 person job on my own. not managed very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Porter/Concierge (Former Employee), 600 Washington St.July 25, 2013
A good place to work to learn. Everyday brings a different experience from working with tenants and visitors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for advancement
Property Manager (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAJuly 1, 2013
Pros: you are rewarded for hard work, opportunity to advance your career quickly, the people i worked with at all levels were solid individuals, strong level of teamwork from property to property, you can go far in this company if you put your mind to it
Cons: salary is on the lower end for competitive markets, heavy workload
It's a very professional environment. There is a lot of resources for you to draw from in just about every aspect of your job. It is a high pressure company who asks a lot from you, but if you succeed you are put on a quick path to promotion.

There was a recent shift to a Central Business Group that eliminated the Assistant Manager Positions on property, – more... but only eliminated approximately 1/4 of what the Assistant Manager does. That saw an increase in workload for certain properties that made it impossible to complete your responsibilities without working 10+ hour days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great HR experience
HR Coordinator (Contractor) (Current Employee), Vienna, VAJune 21, 2013
This place allowed me to improve my skills in the area of human resources. I got experience on a multitude of HRIS platforms and was heavily relied upon for my expertise and experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company to Work For
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 20, 2013
I worked for the company for 5 years and saw it change from a wonderful company that easily offered advancement, fair wages and a great environment for employees to the exact opposite. It is a tragedy because it was once a company I was proud to work for. if you are looking to work in property management, stay clear of this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Class A Property
Servie Manager (Current Employee), Arlington Va.June 19, 2013
Pros: hard work will pay off
Cons: im so good right now.
Landed on the ground running and I havn't stopped yet and I love it.
My superiors and higher ups are down to earth and professional at the same time. They listen and respect your thinking..
Hard workers and positive. Breaking for lunch as that you just want to get things done. Coming in I want to be there and completing tasks at hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest apartment portfolio in the US.
Construction Manager- Renovations (Former Employee), Southern CaliforniaJune 18, 2013
Pros: good pay, good treatment of employees.
Cons: difficult to have a real culture being so large.
Good company to work for. Worked on starting and managing multiple construction/renovation projects in California. Lots of travel, but they treat you right. Moved to Essex as uncertainty in the market lead to a scaling back on renovations at Equity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZMay 21, 2013
I felt that there was no room for advancement with the company. When a promotional position came open they already new who was going to receive it. I went on 3 of these interviews and two of the position was filled before I even got to interview.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee), landover, md.May 21, 2013
it really is great i enjoyed the company and all of the people i was around. it would be nice to get back in contact with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Maintenance Tech II (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAMay 4, 2013
Very flexible, everyday you learn something new, teamwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large company
in-house and/or the need (Former Employee), phx. and scottsdale az.April 25, 2013
Pros: great company
day to day maint. repairs for residents and property learned hvac repairs enjoyed the customer service

About Equity Residential

Equity Residential owns, builds and operates high-quality apartment communities in places – like New York City, Boston, – Read more