Equity Residential

165 reviews

Equity Residential Employee Reviews

Found 164 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building still under construction, commute too long,
Night Porter (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 21, 2015
As the building is under construction and there are still real estate agents showing apartments, there is a lot of pressure to keep things as pristine as possible, while dust falls constantly. I have learned how to inspect a model apartment from ceiling to floor, assist in nighttime security and fill in for concierge during breaks and learned the MRI software system.
Pros
insurance benefits
Cons
have to work 8 1/2 hours to make up for the 1/2 hour break they are forced to give me
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Some thing about Equity"
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  ColoradoFebruary 20, 2015
There is a fabulous feeling when you work for Equity. You can not pin point it to just one thing. It's just "Some thing about Equity."
Unfortunately local upper management has done a complete change in the past two years. The feeling & pride that you had, working for such a fabulous company is lost due the local leaders.
Pros
values you and what you bring to the team.
Cons
burden is on local leaders to continue and foster the "some thing about equity" modo.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good work/life balance
Sr. Leasing Consultant (Current Employee) –  400 West 37th Street, New York, NY 10018February 16, 2015
It is great place to learn as it offers constant training in customer service, sale, etc. Lots of customer solving issues and you learn how to deal with them. Everyday can be different. However, most sites are under staff which results in not too much of work/life balance. There has been too many changes and budget cuts that do not benefit the properties or employees. High employee turnover.
Pros
great health benefits, great training programs
Cons
commission structure
Was this review helpful?Yes21No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greater Stater
Manager (Current Employee) –  CAFebruary 12, 2015
Not too much room for growth. They rater hire externally.
High turn over, most people leave for better opportunity elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and people.
MGMT Riverhill (Former Employee) –  Dallas TXFebruary 5, 2015
This company is dedicated to good values, and their employees. They have a strong training program and really help their employees excel.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
**
former employee (Former Employee) –  new yorkFebruary 1, 2015
over all fun place but, with a lot of preferetial treatment of certain employees. this company discriminates on race and age, and upper management does not work as a team, but expect you too
Pros
benefits
Cons
this company discriminates on race and age.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Colorado SpringsJanuary 25, 2015
Typical day starts with morning briefing and updates along with job assignments,
Management and maintenance work well together.
co-workers got along well and assisted each other as needed cheerfully.
No hard part really, some spur of the moment make readies but that was all.
It was a nice clean and cheerfull work enviroment.
Pros
very good work inviroment
Cons
non really
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Boston MAJanuary 7, 2015
Great Company to work for!
Pay well management is very organized and helpful upper management as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people I worked with were great and always willing to teach
Neighborhood Coordinator/Temporary Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Equity ResidentialJanuary 6, 2015
I would love to work for this company again if the opportunity presented itself.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping Busy!
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VADecember 29, 2014
I enjoyed working in a fast pace community where I was able to multitask and show off our large community. Residents are always in need of assistance; whether it's transferring, questions about their account, or needing just a simple lease printed.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, really corporate lately
Sr Leasing Consultant Floater (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 1, 2014
Great company, I wish they were more family oriented. They sold out of this area.
Pros
great training
Cons
out of the area now
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and educating experience
Service Technician / Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles CaliforniaNovember 24, 2014
From the day you start there are so many things to learn and to do that you are always busy
Pros
close to home
Cons
not enough compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VANovember 3, 2014
I was a leasing agent so my day was spend doing tours. I also took care of residents concerns and issues around the property. I learned how to deal with upset people and I also learned how to manage my time. The management was amazing they always took time to let you know how much they wanted you there.
Pros
nice area
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Leasing Manager (Current Employee) –  Chevy ChaseOctober 31, 2014
Great Benefits and Job Growth Opportunities. Over 58 local properties in the Washington Metro area.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace safety a plus overall. Friendly environment.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 23, 2014
At mornings, meet with Maintenance supervisor to elaborate a game plan for the day, getting reports and work requests from the night before. This also includes, guide other technicians throw the daily work process.

Complete work request during the day, performing AC works, plumbing, electrical, general repairs, etc. At the end of the shift, make sure work requests are been processed, or make appointments for a next visit. Update computer system, print reports, order of material or equipment needed, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equity
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COOctober 7, 2014
Great place to work every day is different. Everyday you deal with something new. Lots and lots of problem solving.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work and fun
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 30, 2014
Work for Equity since I moved here in 2003 and learned alot and grow was able to trian people and watch them grow in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job with great benefits and work environment
Managed Resident (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 29, 2014
I worked as a maintenance technician and was responsible for apartment turnover. I also took routine service requests and on call duty.
Pros
good pay and great benefits
Cons
on call duty was hectic at times
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Educational in the Property Management
Health & Welfare Benefits Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Downtown ChicagoSeptember 27, 2014
I enjoyed my job with Equity Residential for a wide varity of reason,
able to travel to explain benefits in spanish to fellow employees working in the southern parts of the states, whom were not under our health and welfare plans. Felt appreciated when I was able to help my fellow employees get their personnal claims paid from whatever health insurance plan they picked. I learn about many different Health Plan and there persentages of coverage. The company was very appreciating to there employees. I had to leave this great company because I had a premature child that needed her mother full time.
Pros
great benefits, 401k plans, paid vacation and sick time
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place to Work
Sr. Leasing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Largo, MDSeptember 16, 2014
The management is not the best and the job culture and structure suffers because of this matter.
Pros
stable job
Cons
pay is not so well.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 165 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture