ERCOT/Electric Reliability Council of Texas Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
IT Infrastructure Analyst (Former Employee) –  Taylor, TXOctober 12, 2015
I've worked all over the U.S. As a contractor and ERCOT is the best I could find in the Austin metro area. Although there was more than enough work, the management and politics behind it all was a bit much. It seemed that everyone was always on a different page of understanding and people were stepping on each other's toes in terms of work. Even if management knows of toxic workers, they don't do much to discipline or remove them. You can pretty much get away with anything when you're an employee. There are a lot of very smart and kind people that work here but most everyone is very protective of their work and does not like to adapt to change. The work life balance can be a bit rough when you work in any IT department, working 12+ hrs in a day. The pay from my contracting company was decent and the work environment was too, except for those few toxic people.
Pros
Catered lunches, short commute from Round Rock, free coffee, nice coworkers, fun events, family friendly
Cons
Being treated like a second class citizen when you're a contractor, no ability to convert to employer, management is a bit weak, requirements of work can be unclear a lot of time, work life balance can be improved
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place but management is iffy
Operator and Compliance Training (Former Employee) –  Taylor, TXSeptember 18, 2015
A lot of red tape and more politics than needed. Most of the people are kind and good to work with and the environment among the working class was good.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
hire too many non-citizens
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company
IT (Current Employee) –  TaylorApril 1, 2015
I am working as a contractor for ERCOT. Really nice company and co-workers but not a lot of upward promotions. Management is ok but tend to not be open to new ideas. People stay with this company a long time so moving and changing positions can be tricky.

Overall nice company, pays well. Downside located in Taylor.
Pros
nice environment, coworkers, pay is decent
Cons
office politics, bottle neck at the top, location Taylor
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
WEB CONTENT SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  taylorMarch 18, 2015
Nice place to work but you are stuck out in Taylor. Casual environment, nice people but a lot of politics and kinda hard to move up. Technology is behind and the job location is in Taylor.
Pros
relaxed enviornment, casual dress, nice people, fun events
Cons
politics, no advancement, behind in technology, too many meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ERCOT was a dynamic place to work.
Release Management Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Taylor, TXFebruary 6, 2015
Working at ERCOT was an opportunity for me to step outside the box into the Utility segment. I enjoyed the work and the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc.
Internal Audit Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 5, 2014
Responsible for establishing and overseeing all aspects of internal auditing including supervising and occasional hiring of consulting staff to compliment resources. Within the first several months, uncovered a $2 million fraud within the organization. Other responsibilities include: Directing and coordinating activities on financial, compliance, operational and information technology audits, recommending improvements in procedures, processes and operations across the organization, ensuring adequate internal controls are maintained or developed into new business processes and systems, overseeing the company’s ethics reporting process, communicating information through verbal and written presentations to senior management and the Board of Directors, coordinating internal and external audit activities, evaluating and testing controls for SOX compliance and implementing software to support and manage the audit function in order to increase its efficiency and effectiveness.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Windows Server Admin II / Citrix Admin (Current Employee) –  Taylor, TXJuly 11, 2013
I honestly have nothing negative to say about my experience at ERCOT. I have the pleasure of working with an extremely smart and talented team in an outstanding environment where accomplishments are recognized and rewarded. We are provided with abundant opportunities for training and advancement as well as a top-notch benefits package.
Pros
career advancement, training, benefits.
Cons
none at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and one of the best company in Texas to work with
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Taylor, Austin TexasMarch 1, 2012
Work for ERCOT was the best experience I have, I learn a lot with my managers and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

ERCOT/Electric Reliability Council of Texas Reviews by Job Title

ERCOT/Electric Reliability Council of Texas Reviews by Location