Find companies:
ESCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

ESCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it used to be
manager (Former Employee), Portland, OR - Corporate officeJuly 30, 2014
Pros: products, people at some levels; free food left overs after exec meetings
Cons: executive management, working environment, unclear personal goals
Culture:
ESCO was a fantastic place to work 3 years ago. During the last 2 years; however, they have been going through a series of management changes (at an executive level) and have been admittedly working hard to change the culture. Some could argue that this is necessary to be more aggressive in a tough market, but it has nevertheless made it a – more... much higher pressure environment to work in. It used to be an environment of support and employee enrichment, but has turned into a bit of a cut throat environment in which many have resorted making themselves look good at the cost of others.

People:
The people below management levels are fantastic to work with and have a great deal of knowledge. Moral has been low recently and there has been a significant exodus of some of the best people in the organization (last 6-9 months).

Management:
Management 3 years ago was fantastic. The executive team seemed to genuinely care for the employees and created a supportive, encouraging environment. Due to retirements, divisional changes and forced removal of some, a completely different executive group is currently at the helm. The new management is really trying to make the company behave like a public company, however, the previous focus of supporting the people has been replaced with a focus on financial growth alone.

During a layoff a number of months ago in which I had to let someone go, a fellow team leader asked me if I "put a bullet in them" I take situations like a layoff or RIF very seriously and was appalled at the comment. I mention this as I believe it is a good example of the type of leadership they are pursuing. For the record, that manager is still there and I have left for many of the reasons listed in this review.

Expectations:
With the revolving door of management and strategic goals and initiatives, also comes changing expectations, goals, deliverables. This makes it very difficult to know what success looks like for anyone working there. There are also very few tools for measuring success. There is a lot of assessment of people going on at very high levels with very little if any touch time with person being assessed. It makes it really difficult to know if you are doing a good job or not ... will I be the next to be let go?

Pay:
Pay has not kept up with other companies; benefits are just OK. They used to have much better retirement benefits, but have discontinued everything except for 401K – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ESCO Review
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Facilities-FoundryJune 23, 2014
My thoughts about working for the Esco Corporation is that I enjoyed coming to work every single day. I was proud to work for a family owned business that not only took care of the employees they also gave back to the community. I have nothing but good things to say about my time with the Esco Corporation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Roamer (Former Employee), Newton, MSApril 3, 2014
learned many new skills and responsibilities with this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to have so much love for the company, but as a dedicated worker that has faded.
Apparel Manager/Manager-In-Training (Current Employee), Oxon Hill, MDDecember 4, 2013
Pros: great employee discounts.
Cons: terrible management, dont bet on progressing, not enough pay
I enjoyed my time with this company however there were several things wrong with my experience from the start. I guess the managerial staff intended to hire someone for a cashier position that I initially applied for. Shortly after being hired maybe 3 or 4 months I picked up several aspects of the Job outside being a Cashier. I learned how to do that – more... Administrative tasks well, learned the visual merchandising aspect, and also mastered the company's selling techniques. After being promoted and going to another store I was happy to know that my hard work was appreciated and was paying off. I learned the managerial aspects of the job in a more hands-on way at this new location. Was given more freedom and responsibility to grow and develop. I even helped to train a new Manager they brought in from another company. I taught her how to run the store properly because she was left alone on her very first day not even coming from another shoe company or anything. The company implied that I was ready to progress and they were ready for me to progress. They sent me back to my home store with implications that I was getting promoted again. Shortly after being back I was asked to train another associate on the Managerial tasks that I was so good at. The administrative work, telling the proper procedures for everything, and even store closing procedures. Shortly after that the trained associate was given the position that I felt that I deserved for reasons unclear to me. I felt as though the management at the store knew that I could do ALL of the tasks, which made everyone's job easier there so they use me as a crutch and everyone in management is so comfortable with me being there that no one wants to see me progress and grow any further, I have also had MANY complaints and problems with management, but nothing ever seems to get fixed. There is no one to go to if an employee has a problem with management. There are workers there that have worked for the last 22 years and is still making below minimum wage. The pay given is not even enough to provide for yourself along with the amount of responsibility put on each associate. Management demands associates do tasks outside of their job description. the company has created a new umbrella stating everyone must be "cross-trained" that way you have to do any and every job for the same amount of pay. I LOVED this company, but seeing how indifferent they are of employee concerns, and seeing how greedy they can be when it comes to pay, I have to leave because I'm too dedicated and hardworking to keep coming to work happy and ending up stressed and depressed in a place that shows NO appreciation for their good workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No consideration for outside life
Salary employee (Former Employee), Portland, OregonNovember 17, 2013
Pros: fair pay but not great, good benefits package
Cons: demanding excessive hours, unrealistic goals which constantly change with new managers, lean has become excessive and no implementation of large items from project, only small changes get done
This company has no consideration for a person to have an outside life, work the 6-day salary job or lose your job. You do not gat paid for your skills, nor see any chance for advancement. In addition, the LEAN process has become a higher priority than getting your job done and important work is not done in order to work on a lean project and THEN the – more... recommendations are not implemented. Lots of talk, no commitment to action. Constant management changes disrupt your work flow as new boss sets new priorities, and they expect immediate focus on their high priorities regardless of what work you were doing. Good people are being laid off or terminated, this is a bad place to work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
CATCHER, CUTTER (Former Employee), Randleman, NCOctober 13, 2013
Pros: made good friends
Cons: short breaks
The hours were great and the coworkers were very friendly and inviting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open mind enviroment
Tig and E-Beam Welder (Former Employee), Concord, CAApril 18, 2013
Pros: self starter
Cons: educated
Very interesting place to work, I've learned a lot in everyday of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Inside Sales (Former Employee), casper, wyMarch 4, 2013
Pros: great benifits
I learned a lot working here and it was a very family oriented workplace. great people and friends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good but work gets slow some
Operator (Current Employee), Newton, MSSeptember 24, 2012
Pros: vaction time
Cons: hot dirty
pays ok good insurance its very un safe cause you are dealing with mealted meatal that is over 3,000 deg.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good company to work for
dresser (Former Employee), northgateMay 25, 2014
Esco was a good company to work for how ever they have now shut down
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and comfortable workplace
Welder, Operator (Current Employee), PIESeptember 5, 2013
I learned many skills in this company.
My co-workers are friendly and fun.
My boss is so nice to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic team with a go attitude
Supervisor (Former Employee), Port Coquitlam, BCMay 24, 2013
Pros: gain share
Cons: i had to leave
a typical day at work meet with previous shift get the layout for the day check personnel manage shift and look for ways to improve flow in the work place
management was great to work with I really felt like part of a winning team
co-workers were a great bunch of guys always going the extra mile to get the job done
the hardest part of the job was when – more... I was asked to Start teaching some lean manufacturing tools to my co-workers and found standing in front of a group of 20 people nerve racking
the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to work with guys on the floor looking for ways to improve efficiency using Lean tools – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muito bom
Formador de Pastelaria e Panificação (Former Employee), Torres Vedras, P11October 15, 2014
Pros: muito bom. profissionais qualificados
Cons: preocupaçao com os formandos e professores
Criação de meios para os alunos e trabalhadores excelente.
Renumeração excelente.
Controlo e reciclagem de lixo.
A Diretora, trabalha como uma colega de equipa.
muito bom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiente agradable
Soldador Calificado (Former Employee), AntofagastaSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: seguro medico, tiempo de colacion completa
ambiente agradable,tranquilidad y buen trato,los colegas buen trato,agradable para trabajar,no hay nada dificilque uno no pueda lograr
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
buena experiencia laboral
Promotora y Asesora en venta directa (Former Employee), Rawson, UMay 21, 2014
Pros: la jornada laboral era de 4 horas diarias
Cons: trabajo "en negro" (sin contratos)
La jornada laboral se arrancaba con recorridos en la ciudad, siempre una zona (o barrio) por dia, se golpeaba puerta por puerta ofreciendo nuestro asesoramiento, ofertas de planes y entrega de folleteria.
De esta manera se realiza uno social mente, adaptándose y conociendo diferentes maneras de llegar al cliente, conociendo sus exigencias o expectativas.
Al – more... final de la jornada me reencontraba con mi coordinador e intercambiavamos datos y direcciones de posibles clientes o ventas logradas.
El trabajo en grupo era muy importante, y fue muy bueno, hubo mucho compañerismo entre colegas.
La experiencia me dejo la facilidad de expresarme y comunicarme con gente completamente desconocida (lo cual no era nada fácil para mi, antes de ingresar a este trabajo) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DINAMICO
ATENCION AL CLIENTE (Former Employee), San Justo, BFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: capacitacion
Cons: a comision.
TRABAJO A COMISION.
VENTA DE PLANES DE CAPITALIZACION Y AHORRO.
EN LA VIA PUBLICA.
BUSQUEDA DE NUEVOS CLIENTES.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiente de trabajo ameno
carretillas contrapesadas,telescopicas,elevadoras (Former Employee), León, CLSeptember 24, 2013
durante el tiempo que estuve trabajando en esta empresa tuve buena atención en todos los aspectos, además fue un colectivo unido y afable tanto trabajadores como directiva.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente para trabalhar
inspetor de qualidade de caldeiraria (Former Employee), Betim, MGAugust 1, 2013
Pros: ambiente familiar
Cons: horario de trabalho
Tudo que aprendi foi nesta empresa, valoriza as pessoas e sempre investe em seu pessoal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa dinamica e ambiente otimo para trabalhar
Tecnico em Segurança do Trabalho (Former Employee), Betim, MGNovember 21, 2012
Pros: alimentação de qualidade
Local otimo para se aprender todos os dias, gerência e colaboradores excelentes para ensinar. Todos muito educados e dinamicos.