Find companies:
Esri
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Esri Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing business plan
Systems Technician (Former Employee), Redlands, CAMarch 4, 2014
Pros: great on campus cafe, good benefits, annual pay increase
Cons: minimal advancement from within the company
While Esri provides an amazing buisness plan the execution of it all leaves a bit to be desired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
esri
sales (Current Employee), Redlands, CAAugust 13, 2013
Pros: growing
Cons: growing
esri is the leader in gis.
It is a good company if gis and spatial tech are your calling.
Otherwise, you might be better served to come here for an internship and find a company with domain expertise and/or specialty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company to work with
QA Programmer (Current Employee), Redlands, CAJuly 24, 2013
1. stable
2. Friendly working environment
3. Flat structure, few promotion oppotunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sr. GIS Geocoding Software Development Lead (Former Employee), Redlands, CAMarch 14, 2013
Flexible hours less compensation good benefits and laidback environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Internship (Former Employee), Redlands, CAJanuary 12, 2013
pretty good company. good environment, culture, coworkers.

January 16, 2013

What a bunch of bunk!! This company is being destroyed from the inside out by the remarkably incompetent management structure. It's already on a downward trend - and not because of the economy.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work for
Developer (Former Employee), Redlands, CAJanuary 9, 2013
Great people, pretty laid back for a company of several thousand people. Really loved my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly positive environment, encouraging team building, and requires strong employee workmanship
International Customer Service Manger (Former Employee), Redlands, CASeptember 1, 2012
Pros: very flexible hours, employee centric, strong employee moral, 2000 employees on campus and many knew each other
Cons: advancement was slow for those wanting to move up and salaries could have been better.
In management here for nearly 7 years, I enjoyed the interaction I had with my team. We were a very strong team, meeting weekly to review our goals and expectations, discuss any challenges, and address any issues at hand. The work was difficult but we got through every challenge presented to us. We worked with international distributors so we needed – more... to be aware of cultural differences and often times language barriers. I held my team to high standards and they were always aware of my expectations - and they were such a great team, they made my job so easy. I was very proud to say I was their manager, and one HR representative told me I did more for my team as a team builder than any other manager on campus. I just wanted to encourage them to be the best they could be so they could move on and be more than account managers. So many of them were superstars! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ESRI is a great concept company but....
PC/Mac Tech (Current Employee), Redlands, CAJune 13, 2012
Pros: good benefits. owners are generous and down to earth.
Cons: no advancement.
ESRI does a lot for the community, state, country and world. But they are way off target with base salaries and there is very limited room for advancement. They do support education and have a great benefits package but salary for the non management positions are about 45% below industry. I have been working in my industry for over 10 years and this – more... is the first time in an hourly position. It is difficult to be effective when bound by the time clock. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ESRI is a weak company that suffers from exceptionally poor leadership at the corporate level.
Marketing Group Leader (Current Employee), Redlands, CAMay 15, 2012
ESRI was once the crown jewel of the inland empire. Unfortunately, an influx of 'horrible bosses' over the course of the last few years has effectively ruined a once great company. Since it is a privately held company, corporate can spew whatever stories they want to the industry media outlets. The company seems to hire only senior-level positions. – more... All other positions are filled with temporary staff or contractors. This allows ESRI to avoid having to provide benefits to these folks. Also, after about 6-months on the job, an HR representative will either smile and kick you out the door, or tell you what your new job title is so they can reset the clock for another 6-months of work with no benefits. I've worked very hard for almost 17-years at this company. I've seen good times and bad times - but it has now become unbearable. – less

May 31, 2012

ESRI values tenured employees. It's good and bad. This is probably one of the reason why it has poor leadership. When a tenured employee (15+ years Program or Project Manager) did so bad within the department, he/she gets re-assigned to another department. I was an non-senior employee for 3 years, I left last year thinking that it would be better for my career to move on. Looking back, it was a big mistake. The temp staff or contractors you speak off doesnt even have green cards, they are contracted from a local recruiting company called CyberTech who sponsors H1B visas. I know a few temp employees who came from India, China, Taiwan who became or have acquired green cards who became permanent employees. Most temp employees who do very well is actually offered another contract 6mo to a year. But, once they got their green card, they are moved to a perm position. ESRI benefits is one of the best. AFAIK, there are only 10% of US employers who actually pays for the premium, and ESRI is one of them. Not sure where you're getting your story from, but I was only there for 3 years and have been the best employer I have ever had. You think bigger companies like Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, and ITT Missions Systems are better employers? Think again...

January 10, 2013

I posted the original comment and I worked at ESRI for more than 17 years (over 10 as a supervisor). You worked there for 3. Who do you think knows more about what really goes on at that company??

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and people
Sales (Former Employee)February 18, 2011
ESRI is a wonderful place to work. I often wonder why I left. Their idealistic culture isn't just a front; the company is full of people who really seem to care about the problems people are working on with GIS. Even though they are not that hard-nosed in a business sense, they are the market leader in GIS products. The only thing is that the pay seems – more... to be just fair. I doubt you'll get your biggest salary offer from ESRI, you'll work here for the intangibles. – less

September 25, 2012

I was on the International area. I never grow up on the company. You have to kiss many butts to get a good position. I have experience and education. The good thing is I get a better job.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a bunch of amazing people.
Administrative / Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Toronto - ONSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: summer fridays, vacation and benefits
Cons: restructuring
I enjoyed my 5 years at Esri. I advanced in many skills especially my accounting and excel skills. I gained more confidence to work independently and as a team member. I joined the Social committee and enjoyed assisting in the planning of company events. The most enjoyable part of my job was the billing period - I love working with numbers and to finish – more... the job on time every time accurately was my greatest accomplishment. We worked with major companies. – less

About Esri

Esri helps organizations map and model our world. Esri’s GIS technology enables them to effectively analyze and manage their – Read more