Find companies:
Essentia Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Essentia Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is how I observed my job
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Brainerd, MNAugust 22, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: poor management
I always enjoyed working with the patients. Management was not to fair, they played favorites and if they did not want you to work there they would find some reason to fire people. A typical day was patient care, groups and one to ones with patients. I learned many things about mental illness and specific disorders and medication and how you treat it. – more... Had great co-workers most everyone pitched in and got the job done together. Crisis situation when a patients behavior was out of control and hand to be handled with hands on, always a danger of some getting hurt. Most enjoyable part of the job was working with patients and seeing them get well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced complexed enviroment
Emergency Room Nurse (Former Employee), Detroit Lakes, MNAugust 19, 2014
Worked well with co-workers and valued team work with others. Used critical thinking skills to determine appropriate plan of care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Essentia Health has a negative work environment.
Patient Care (Current Employee), Duluth, MNJuly 28, 2014
Pros: helping patients develop safe discharge plans, arranging services and accommdations
Cons: management style is not conducive to a positive work environment
The most enjoyable part of the job is providing services to the patients and their families. The hardest part is that overtime, management style has allowed the work environment to become nonconducive to cooperative working. Intimidation is common. Employees have been disciplined for unfounded accusations and it is difficult to ask for any help. I have – more... wonderful co-workers that are supportive and honest but there are co-workers that are not. I advise you not to seek employment here – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place.
CNA (Former Employee), Detroit Lakes, MNJuly 19, 2014
Fun coworkers. Thoughtful managers allow flexibility with school schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coding Clerk
Temporary PBB Coding Clerk (Current Employee), Duluth, MNApril 27, 2014
I work from 8 - 4:30 in a business office setting. I use a computer and EPIC. I have a wonderful manager who gives me new and challenging jobs that take some of the burden off other co-workers. It has allowed me to learn and explore EPIC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beware of essential health
RN (Current Employee), Duluth, MNMarch 26, 2014
Pros: it you need a paycheck it is a job
Cons: very tough place to work at.
Management has become quite oppressive due to major money problems, cutting corners and costs at every level. They have recently started coming down heavy on any sick calls. New director of nursing of questionable value. Doctors are all burned out and overworked. They were told they had to produce more. Many are leaving. Our department is a skeleton – more... of what it used to be. Financial intake has come to a standstill . Patients are transferring to St. Lukes for better care.. Most employees are stuck at this hospital as it is only 1 of 2 in the city. Moral is very low. My guess is there will be major changes in the very near future. Hospital used to be in top 100??? don’t know how that happened but they lost it and will never get it back because it is sliding into the abyss. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction
PATIENT ACCESS REGISTRAR (Former Employee), Fargo, NDMarch 2, 2014
There was constant interaction between staff and study participants. Unfortunately, the business is no longer in business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Nursing Aide at GraceHome (Former Employee), Graceville, MNFebruary 26, 2014
I enjoyed my co workers, bosses, office staff, and residents. I miss them all so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at Essentia Health.
RT(R) (Former Employee), Duluth, MNJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: great training, perfect fit for me, new friendships
Cons: management gave no warning or counseling before termination, parking was very challenging
There was great training and support involved at Essentia among the co-workers. Being a perfectionist, I wanted to spend as much of my time training in the OR, my primary hired responsibility, while I was in training. I have learned to keep the lines of communication open with my supervisors as there were some misunderstandings of what was expected – more... of me and some trouble learning the parking challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feel like im in prison
this is funny ,,,,,so you can fire me (Former Employee), dlthDecember 1, 2013
Pros: co-workers, and job
Cons: no backup or support, your at the mercy of your manager and superviser, they can do what they want no matter what you do union wise or l.r. wise its sad
worked here for over 8 years,management is encouraged to treat you like a loser,and make you feel beneath them, when in fact everyone else greets you with a smile and knows your name and thanks you for you work.......i think its sad that mangement can bully you and get away with it if they dont want you there they do try to get rid of you.......
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good organization to work for.
Program Manager (Former Employee), Duluth, MNNovember 17, 2013
I always had more work to complete than hours in the day. This was the norm for this organization for any management/salaried position. My co-workers were wonderful and hard working people that I have great respect for. Management had some unrealistic expectations of workload. Management was fair. Hardest part of the job was the amount of work and the – more... hours. Most enjoyable part of the job was working with wonderful people with excellent skill sets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laboratory Management is poor.
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), LaboratoryOctober 31, 2013
Pros: good benefits and fair pay.
Cons: micromanagement of some employees and general poor management style.
Majority of coworkers are great to work with. Management is not cohesive. Supervisor doesn't think independently allowing some subordinates special privileges. She allows tattlers to influence her decisions. Poor judgement and weak skill set.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend ever !
CNA (Former Employee), Deer river mnOctober 15, 2013
Cons: short or no breaks, lazy management
I was told by our d.o.n. That if people would quit having children & going to school we wouldn't have scheduling problems. They have no respect for family or self health! Very poor values
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HUC-Virginia
huc (Current Employee), Virginia, MNOctober 3, 2013
Excellent place to work. Dr's and nurses are a great joy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
System Administrator lll (Current Employee), Duluth,MNAugust 26, 2013
Pros: good freedom
Cons: very poor politics
It is kind of going down hill. Was a really good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Virginia, MNJuly 23, 2013
Very friendly, fun people to work with. Help you to advance and accomplish tasks on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thought it was a good place to work!!!????!!!!
Care at pt bedside/professional (Former Employee), Brainerd, MnMay 17, 2013
Pros: really can't think of any
Cons: lack of communication and concern for staff
Worked for St. Joes/Essentia as a professional from 2000 to 2012 as a casual and part-time staff. Brought over 30 years of experience from various hospitals and truly felt I added to both patient care and matched the mission statement values.
After the hospital was bought by the Essentia Group, communication and staff contribution was less valued.
A – more... big problem in hospitals is that they put people in management positions that are trained to be nurses, lab tech's etc, that were never trained to lead, manage and encourage individuals. Every once in awhile you find a natural leader/director, but for the most part they are sorely inept and clueless as far as how to work together with and encourage their employees.
I would never consider going on-board again with St. Joes/Essentia---they really need to review their mission statement and core values. – less

May 25, 2013

I am a really hard working person and have been looking forward to work at Essentia Health, in Duluth MN. I believe they have some management problems internally. Even though I have never worked there, I have learnt a lot about that place in many other ways. For example, I have applied for a job there many times and couldn't get the positions I applied for. But not trying to complain about that…I just wanted to explain my understandings about that place. And I am not willing to apply there anymore. I have already learned that they don’t have a very strong hiring manager that understands the values and strength of different people with different background, which also implies that they have different internal management problems. Strong recruiters do nothing without strong and skilled hiring managing people.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi specialty healthcare system
Supervisor of Patient Access (Current Employee), Wahpeton, NDMay 9, 2013
Pros: having staff who are flexibile and help make the day enjoyable to be around, providers are great to be around who treat you with respect.
Cons: having short lunch times or none, having to start early and stay late for most staff to get rid of overtime, hard to have other people trying to oversee and run your department .
Supervise and work patient access in a multi specialty healthcare system. Keep staff current and informed on upgrades with our current EPIC system while providing assistance and guidance in daily work environment. Work closely with providers, nurses and clinic managers on scheduling appointment issues that affect daily operations.

I enjoy providing – more... quality patient service to different age groups so they leave with an excellent experience knowing that we truly care about them.

Challenges are micro managers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very teamwork oriented.
CNA (Current Employee), Sandstone, MNApril 27, 2013
Teamwork is key in this field. I love making all my residents smile everyday i see them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
RN (Current Employee), BrainerdApril 24, 2013
Pros: hmmm still trying to find one, even the cafeteria sucks
Cons: amateur administration, horrible benefits and horrible patients
Smallest company I've worked for since I've been out of college and it's apparent. Essentia does not value their employees based on the horrible benefits and the horrible administration of said benefits. The HR and payroll continues to make mistakes, always in the company's favor. For example, participated in open enrollment for health benefits for – more... family; filled out all required paperwork and come January 1 my family wasn't covered. Hmmm... Went to HR and was told " No big deal..." Really! Essentia had all required forms but some idiot in data entry didn't activate the information. Mind you this is ONE example of how this company tends to f*** up with their employees. I still work here only because there are really no other options. Competition not only breeds excellence for the consumer but also for the employee! I could go on but I'm sure you get the picture. – less

May 27, 2013

None of the Administration, including managers and supervisors seem to feel that they should follow the values of Essentia Health. They find it good to keep reminding the employees of the values but not themselfs. alot of bullying goes on in their organization without anything being done.