Estrella Mountain Community College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZAugust 20, 2017
The support from your supervisors when it comes to doing the job and learning your job correctly is beyond on par. There was a lot of great communication and comradery. Such a great place to work.
The hardest part of the job was when it was slow. Then you have a bit of time on your hands and not a lot to do. But when it's busy, it's busy! Still a great place.
Pros
lots of free lunches or potlucks
Cons
some days are slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Adjunct Teacher (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZAugust 8, 2017
I was a part time Adjunct teacher paid on contract per credit hour. The hours that one could teach each semester depended on several things including State Budgets. The curriculum, books, and software were constantly changing which made advance planning more difficult. The people that work there are generally very nice.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Never knew what classes you would get from one semester to the next.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, informative, helpful and efficient place to work.
EXCEL Peer Mentor (Current Employee) –  Avondale, AZAugust 2, 2017
Working here in different capacities has taught me a lot and is very beneficial not only in the typical ways such as salary and schedule but also in the extraneous information that I have learned.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Campus
Associate Director of Christian Challenge (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZMay 11, 2017
EMCC is an excellent campus! I would often visit here with my job at Christian Challenge. The environment and the people are incredible!
It is at a nice locations where there's tons of places around!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The EMCC environment is engaging and inspiring
Adjunct Faculty, Business Institute (Current Employee) –  Avondale, AZMarch 21, 2017
Working at Estrella Mountain Community College (EMCC) is an engaging and uplifting experience. My colleagues are warm, friendly and supportive. The students are dynamic and show a willingness to learn. Many are first generational relative to higher education and almost all work while attending school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yay!
STUDENT SERVICES SUPPORT STAFF (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZMarch 15, 2017
This is a wonderful place to grow as a professional. The opportunity in this organization is phenomenal. I highly recommend expanding your career with this organization!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for student workers
Business Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Avondale, AZ 85392November 25, 2016
The staff at Estrella Mountain Community College go out of their way to accommodate student schedules. They understand life happens and are flexible with sudden schedule changes.
Pros
Flexibility and great with school schedule
Cons
Limited hours (for student workers) minimal pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open to all
Adjunct Teacher (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 5, 2016
I do enjoy working at EMCC, they are always improving a new ideas and education for staffs and students.

I work there two time a weeks teaching two classes, I only wish it was a full time job and benefit provided as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great place to work
Police aide (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZDecember 7, 2015
The kids were great to coach. the staff made my job fun and easy every day that I was there. I loved going to work everyday. I would recommend anyone to work there if they were able to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Avondale, AZSeptember 8, 2015
Did I mention they have great benefits? If you are looking to settle this would be a good place for you, it can be very frustrating since the communication is poor.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Political Science Instructor (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 8, 2015
A true development of my work experience took place at Estrella. There I was able to work as a recruiter, while also teaching part-time. My sales experience as a recruiter has proved to be invaluable in developing relationships among customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with some good coworkers and staff
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Goodyear ArizonaAugust 6, 2015
Some staff are welcoming to adjunct, while others are there to watch you crash and burn. At times the staff are welcoming but further into the semester they become distant and unreachable during times of hardship especially for new staff members that may or may not need extra assistance. In order for the campus to soar the staff need to know they have the tools and aid of the campus staff to support their needs and desires as an employee working at low wages for huge responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emcc
Technician/Distributor (Current Employee) –  Avondale, AZJuly 15, 2015
The pay is pretty well you are someone that everyone is relying on so it can be a little stressful, there is a repetitive cycle when it comes to ordering products for instructors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I dont reconmend working here
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZJuly 9, 2015
Every semester you have to reapply and its not about what you know its who you know and how much butt your willing to kiss. daily tasks seem trivial and at times pointless so you end up doing alot of nothing someday and alot of actual work somedays just depends.
Pros
student worker
Cons
tons of off site work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun people, good management
Financial Aid Adviser (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZMay 14, 2015
Helping students, filing, running reports.
How to use Microsoft Office.
Management was very productive and task orientated.
My co-workers were very enjoyable to work with.
Knowing how to handle difficult students.
The People.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Adjunct Faculty
Adjunct faculty (Current Employee) –  Avondale, AZApril 28, 2015
Very supportive with ability to individualize. Very supportive of staff with the students.Classes are not too large. You do have to commute everywhere in the area.
Pros
Able to teach and work with students
Cons
Very part time, clinicals are very spread out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Adjunct Reading Instructor (Current Employee) –  Avondale, AZApril 2, 2015
Love the students, professors and overall climate of this campus. Always a positive atmosphere, available training and amazing students. There are no difficult parts of this job.
Pros
great pay
Cons
nearly impossible to obtain a full-time position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus and coworkers
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Avondale, AZOctober 30, 2014
Wonderful environment to teach in. A supportive and caring staff, diverse and growing student population, and state of the art facilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday was exciting but filled with challeges dealing with students.
Administrative Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZOctober 27, 2014
Provide customer service in various way to students and future students attending college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was decent in terms of the work I was doing.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZJune 23, 2014
It was just an average class teaching kids about coding and making games.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Estrella Mountain Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
4.1
Culture
4.1

Estrella Mountain Community College Reviews by Location