Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Special Education Assistant (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INMay 19, 2017
EVSC has been a great place to work with great benefits. The environment is wonderful if you enjoy working with students. The faculty and staff get along well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respected employer in the community
Teacher, Choral-General Music (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INMay 13, 2017
I have not taught in the EVSC since 2001 so really have no idea what the current culture is. I will say that it is totally dependent on the school and principal so ask around.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Top down management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political Agendas
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INMay 8, 2017
I would not recommend working for this Corporation. I spent over 8 years trying to get a full time job to no avail. It is all based on who you know not how well you teach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Special Education Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INApril 30, 2017
Low pay. Rewarding work.Hours between 7am thru 3:30 pm. Flexable work day. Many rewards in community for working in the school corporation. Must like kids and be a people person.
Pros
No two days are the same. 180 day work year.
Cons
Very low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Hardest Part of the Job
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INApril 1, 2017
The hardest part of the job is maintaining a work/life balance. Each educator wants to give the best possible education for each child they serve, but with the current demands within education meeting this can require 80 hours of work each week.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
evsc
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INJanuary 23, 2017
working with kids is hard. advice I would give to some one looking to work for the EVSC would be to go for the younger group. elementary or middle school. Those kids actually listen when you ask them to do something.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I own the business and it has been enjoyable
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INMarch 4, 2014
I work byappointments only, and have learned how to manage a small business including overhead, inventory, customer service, project development, and budgeting.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work place
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INMarch 2, 2014
It kept you hopping. I would wake up in the morning and call to get my assignment. I would have to quickly print off a map and find my way to the school I was going to be at that day. I followed plans left by the teacher and did all of the usual activities that teacher did, for example lunch duty, bus duty, supervising a group, ect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job, great people to work for
Spanish Teacher (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJanuary 1, 2014
taught Spanish to middle school and high school students
enjoyed working with children, loved my coworkers
Pros
Got to use Spanish skills, great people to work for, great experience
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJune 20, 2013
Substitute teaching is not a very consistent job. Everyday is different. The best part of the job was getting to choose your schedule and where you were going to work. The worst part is that you never have a consistent job environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work very creative setting
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INJanuary 16, 2013
I enjoy substitute teaching for the school corporation and helping the children learn new things
Pros
learning new teaching techniques
Cons
grade level and location varies from each assignment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Stockwell Elementary Ed. Center Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INAugust 20, 2012
Working in the EVSC is a great way to get ideas from not only other teachers but other staff members and even students.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Head Cheerleading Coach- Plaza Park Middle School (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INApril 25, 2012
The typical day at work was to caoch cheerleading to middleschool girls. I did not have any co-workers at this job, i was on my own. The hardest part of this job was coming up with different fundraising ideas to help the parents, so they would not have to pay out of pocket for finances. I really enjoyed working here because i like working with these girls and teaching them new skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work
PC/Network Specialist (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INMarch 20, 2012
The company provided good benefits overall; however, compensation was only good for those near the top.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.8

Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation Reviews by Location