Find companies:
Everglades University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Everglades University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLJune 12, 2014
Not the best school to work at. Pay is ok but there are not a lot of majors. The school lacks in advertising which makes it harder to recruiter.Not the best school to work at. Pay is ok but there are not a lot of majors. The school lacks in advertising which makes it harder to recruiter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transitional Working Environment
DIRECTOR OF ADMISSIONS (SALES) (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLMay 13, 2014
Everglades University work environment was one that was going through alot of transition. I cannot say it was completely positive as there were many challenges on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small college with limited opportunities for advancement
College Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Sarasota, FloridaMay 5, 2014
Pros: very good sales trainings
Cons: high turnover, not many leads, marketing was not a high focus
I found it very satisfying to help student enroll and set their path for graduation. However, with the limited amount of new leads it was extremely difficult to reach more than a few people in a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging enviroment
Administrative Assistant/Registrar/Receptionist (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FlFebruary 11, 2014
Working for this company has their highs and lows. The highs was to maintain organization with my work and not to overwhelm myself. deadlines needed to be made in a proper timing and I did my best for fulfill those deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a joke
Administrative (Former Employee), Boca RatonFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
This is by far THE worst place I have ever worked in my life. Management is a joke. They have no idea what they're doing. I saw over 40 people QUIT in less than a year!! The staff only has about 30 people. What does that tell you? And I'm not just talking admissions counselors and people on the low end of the pole, I'm talking deans, Vice Presidents, – more... department chairs, all walking out! Some with nothing to fall back on! Literally having to move back home with mom and dad because it is preferable to that place. There is some serious illegal stuff going on too. Like threatening emails to admissions about numbers (something the dept of education says is illegal), asking department chairs to photocopy text books and send them to students (copyright infringement anyone??), going back and re-doing documents so files look complete?? This place is a madhouse!!! All in all, there are times when I couldn't sleep at night thinking of all the debt we were putting our students through for a degree that likely will not yield them a good job. This place is a nightmare. Stay away! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Vice President (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLAugust 28, 2013
Being the Vice President allows an individual to dig into each department of a University to understand the internal workings from Accreditation to student satisfaction and retention.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pure Madness
Nunya (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLJuly 8, 2013
Cons: all
Run away before it's too late. But wait, it's never too late at Everglades!

Everglades, where each day is better than the next.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PERVASIVE NEGATIVITY! TOXIC! READ REVIEW!!!
Management (Current Employee), FloridaJune 27, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
What can I say....Everglades University is NOT a good place to work period. No team cohesiveness ALL management honestly believes they know what they are doing is right BUT they are sooooo very wrong. The mistreatment of staff left people in tears. Those that stayed or lasted eventually were fired or walked out! Favoritism runs rampant...

End the end – more... we all make decisions so it's your choice. It was certainly one if the worse decisions I ever made.

If you put lipstick on a pig it's still a pig...,

Good luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low end of the food chain ...
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLJune 26, 2013
Pros: nice student-teacher environment
Cons: very poor administrative management.
I have been on adjunct faculty of various universities for about fifteen years. This is definitely at the low end of the food chain. Administrative leadership is the biggest disappointment, although the educational strategy is a huge minus as well (semester of class in a month -- maximizes enrollment numbers, but minimizes course quality and faculty – more... effectiveness.) I loved the student-teacher environment, both online and in the classroom, but that's about where the pros end. Staff turnovers and administrative conflicts are among the highest I have ever witnessed in a university setting. The resulting chaos is deafening. Admin and departmental leadership is canned without apparent reason, leaving adjuncts constantly out of touch about scheduling, curricula, staffing, etc. Planning and management is practically non-existent. Often adjuncts do not know until the week before class begins that they are to teach, leaving no time for adequate preparation. Texts and curricula are frequently outdated and there is little, if any, oversight or accountability. Student enrollment numbers appear to be the highest priority, rather than educational excellence, efficiency and consistency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLJune 5, 2013
Fun work place.
Enjoyed what I did.
Interesting industry.
Fun work place.
Enjoyed what I did.
Interesting industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
Account Manager/Bursar (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLMay 29, 2013
I know it is bad to give a former employee such a bad review but this is a very toxic place. My manager left the company and I took over the position but, even after several meetings, was never given an advanced title or raise. There was constant yelling, screaming and arguments between management and staff throughout the building at any given moment. – more... There was no teamwork and, with the constant turnover, the staff overall was inexperienced. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLMay 10, 2013
Pros: easy-going atmosphere
Cons: no benefits.
A typical day involved being the first point of contact for students and parents as well as the administrative staff. I provided students with welcome packets, acceptance letters, and assisted the faculty administration with their attendance as well as admissions with updating the course catalogs. I learned a lot about the internal structure of how – more... a university is managed and the criteria involved for a university's accreditation. I worked mostly by myself and worked well with management. The hardest part of the job was preparing for the committee for accreditation as every detail required to be accounted for. I enjoyed mostly the students and helping them with their issues and when graduation time came- how proud they were. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Manager)/Bookstore Manager (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLMarch 5, 2013
Pros: the students, the staff, the faculty
Cons: the micro management by the main campus senior staff.
Part of Keiser University, good work/life balance, fun staff to work with, parent campus too suffocating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful balance between school/work and home
Federal Work Study Student (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLOctober 11, 2012
What I really loved most about working at Everglades University was the staff treating you as a friend or relative. They knew you by name and asked how things are going with your life. The schedule was extremely flexible. If an event happened at the last minute, your supervisor was understanding. A typical day at EU would pretty much go like this: check – more... all the copy machines make sure they have paper, stock the break rooms, the office supplies, filing, posting jobs, creating flyers, sorting mail, etc. The management were friendly. My co-workers did work. We helped each other and not delegate tasks. The hardest part was leaving. The most enjoyable part were group lunches or office events. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everglades University: great school & a great place to work!!
Work Study/Secretary (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLMay 28, 2012
Pros: people & professors were great!
Cons: not having my own desk/office, had to share with 2 others.
I just worked part time while attending school here, it was great!