Find companies:
Evergreen Packaging
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Evergreen Packaging Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Utility Worker (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MINovember 12, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: management
Coworkers easy to get along with, poor management, pay didn't make up for the way supervisors treated employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality and Safe
Converting/Sealing Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJune 21, 2013
Pros: company dinners for meeting quota or for being safe, quarterly payouts and raises
Cons: short breaks and rotating shifts every 2 weeks
My typical day at Evergreen Packaging started as soon as we punched the clock. We had to wear hairnets, steel toe shoes, and aprons, which were a part of our GMP rules and regulations. I was a Quality Assurance Technician, so we had to find the previous team to pass along any problems that they may have had to occur during there shift and the same when – more... our shift ended. Quality was our number 1 motto. During my time there I learned how to use SAP and more usage of Microsoft Word and Excel. I also learned the specifications we had to meet dealing with the products we produced. The hardest part was learning everything and trying to keep it stored in mind without looking back over the notes I took during training. With the help of my supervisor and co-workers, I learned everything in no time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work.
Pressman I (Current Employee), Olmsted Falls, OHJune 4, 2013
Pros: steady work.
Cons: rotating shifts.
I assist the Pressman II in successfully creating the highest quality of cartons on the market.
Ive learned great communication skills, how to operate a flex printing press efficiently on my own, and how to work as a team to make everyones day run as smoothly as possible.
The hardest part of the job is the rotating shifts.
The most enjoyable part of – more... the day is seeing the finished product on the shelves at the stores with my initials on it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont apply there
Pressman (Former Employee), Olmsted Falls, OHMay 14, 2013
Pros: you can make a little money if willing to work 60 plus hours
Cons: everything else esp. manangement and there union
they treat good workers like trash and bad workers like gold. oh and if you get hurt there well you get fired. long hours like 60 hours a week management dont care. your just a number there. and advancement? forget about that everything its by bids and if you want a pressmans bid think again. i learned everything within 9 months including how to run – more... a press. i was there six years and they would have me run a press but wouldnt give me a bid although they would have me jump over people to run a press. you can not advance there unless you there for 40 years. also there union is weak. unless your in there clique well your on your own and they never speak up for you. the union takes your money every week and does nothing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mismanaged, overall worst place to work
slave (Current Employee), olmsted fallsApril 7, 2013
Pros: good money because of all the overtime
Cons: if you work to live, you will live to work here. rarely do you get time off.
1940's obsolete equipment that always needs repair. numerous bad. decisons leading to mandatory overtime with employees paying the price with 60-68 hrs a week, even when you are ahead there is still overtime. you cant plan anything because management never lets you know what hours your working until the last minute.since 2005 there has been 32 formans, – more... 5 human resource people, 3 plant managers,at least 100 hourly employees, you do the math. overall if you enjoy life or have a life this isnt a place you want to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 22, 2013
Pros: good job, good pay, good people
I worked in Quality dept, well experienced in the packaging bussiness
good working conditions, good pay, worked well with coworkers and management. if not for the co. moving i would have stayed with them indefinately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A senior sales/management position
Strategic Account Manager (Former Employee), Phoenixville, PANovember 7, 2012
This position is responsible for selling truckloads of liquid packaging and filling equipment to National and Regional Dairies and Juice Companies on the East Coast. I have had 8 sales professionals report to me and have had much experience in negotiating pricing and commercial contracts with new and existing customers with Evergreen Packaging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I agree with the maintenence employee....
manufacturing team member (Current Employee), kalamazoo, MIOctober 31, 2012
Pros: it's a paycheck
Cons: you trade it for your life
The money is ok, but there is no regard whatsoever for employee's lives outside of work. It is the most poorly run operation I have ever seen in my life. Currently, several departments are working mandatory 12 hour shifts on 5 or 6 days of the week, and you never know about weekends til Thursday or Friday. If we work Sunday, you usually get out after – more... 8 hours, that is as much as they care. As an employee of over 10 years, trust me... you can never plan ANYTHING. Except 1 thing, you can plan on never being told about a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
evergreen
Caustic Operator (Current Employee), Pine Bluff, AROctober 17, 2012
Pros: great money
Cons: long extreme work
Great job with excellent benefits and great workplace people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with plenty of overtime
Warehouse Associate & (Former Employee), olmsted falls ohioSeptember 26, 2012
hired in never working in a factory before, started grabbing flat stock, moving on to packing product. moved up to ticket clerk generating tickets for the right customer and right product. Ending in warehouse driving a tow motor putting orders away until shipping out.
advancement by seniority only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Wages, but if you enjoy your life, look elsewhere
Quality Control Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), Pine Bluff, ARSeptember 18, 2012
As a union job, Evergreen packaging provides high wages with competitive benefits and job security. However the rotating shift work leaves a highly work-centric life. Time off is sparse with frequent mandatory overtime, often working in excess of 50 hrs/week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work pays off with co workers
Flexo Operator (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MISeptember 12, 2012
Pros: acceptable wages
Cons: training
i have learned alot and after 12 and a half years i still learn something new
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As long as you are a brown nose, you will do well.
Other (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: upper management
While working there, I learned that if you did not "kiss up" to management, then you did not have a stable job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours no respect for a life outside work
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIAugust 20, 2012
Pros: money to be made
Cons: no life outside work
You will be expected to work 6-7 days a week with forced overtime with little or no notice. The company management will try to take advantage of the hourly employees any way they can. They work against you instead of with you. The current mgt team is coming up with "great ideas" that do nothing but slow down production. I have been there almost 15 years – more... and in the last 5 it has gone severly downhill. Used to be a good place to work. You can make good money as long as you don't need to have a life. Entry level positions get the worst of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pays good but at a price
Process Manager (Former Employee), Pine Bluff, ARJuly 18, 2012
Pros: pays good
Cons: 30 hour days
30 hour days suck the life out of you. It is ingrained in the culture. They have made improvements in safety but still have a ways to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very business focused work environment but provide opportunity to have fun activities with employess and their family outside of the workplace.
Material handler (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits.
Cons: long rotating hrs, no opportunity for career advancement, work in temperture consistent to the weather outside, unbalance family life due to the rotating hrs.
Overall, I believe Evergreen Packaging is a good company to work for. As with all companies it has its disadvantages. At typical day is routine everyone knows what their job would consist of for that day. If the work day consist of anything extra it would be discussed during the department meeting. The management teams are overall friendly and keeps – more... all employees informed of the business operations. The co-workers are fun to work with.The hardest part of my day is would be working long rotating hours and working temperature that is consistent with the weather outside. The most enjoyable part is that i work independently. – less