Expedia, Inc. Employee Reviews in United States

Found 173 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Training
Tier 3 Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 11, 2015
I have been working in the customer service industry for almost 8 years and I found my experience at Expedia to be disheartening. Training was an absolute joke and the agents that are released to the floor are no where near ready to take calls. As a Tier 3 agent I feel we should have the knowledge to perform our job duties, especially since we are dealing with customers who have spent thousands of dollars. The lack of support from supervisors and leads is sad, they could careless if u fail or succeed until one of your actions cost the company money. Proper training helps build any successful company's foundation and without it you'll find that your costing yourself a lot of money correcting employee mistakes.
Pros
The pay, benefits
Cons
Training department, management, lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has as any big company it has many pros and cons.
Senior Software Development Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WAMarch 24, 2016
It has as any other companies many pros and cons.

Not bad office. Coffee, tea, clean water, snacks, mac book pro.
Colleagues aren't that helpful (especially from different teams). Everybody are scared for their own job.
Pros
good salary
Cons
plenty badly designed systems, people are scared to change and refactor code, SOA (microservices) approach in real time systems causes a lot of problems, micromanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company for balance life between work and family
SR Technical Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WAFebruary 22, 2016
great place to work as family center person. Balance work and family life. You will be sure to have time to accompany with your value family members. Also you can improve your skill set in this company.
Pros
flexible working hours, balance stress in work
Cons
working environment, compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 19, 2016
answering steady influx of calls for misbooked on website and fixing the problems
listening skills are needed
management is bad
coworkers are good
hardest part of job is when you can't fix a mistake a customer made
most enjoyable is when you can fix a customers mistake
Pros
free bagles on Friday
Cons
wages, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Culture Not Like Seattle
GCO (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOMarch 9, 2016
Pay is great and benefits are good, local HR and managers - not so much. Other sites have free soda, free snacks, and even free beer IN THE OFFICE on a regular basis. The Springfield site is very different, people have gotten fired for drinking in Springfield.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Insurance benefits
Cruise Agent (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 21, 2015
When it came down to closing offices we where told our office was not going to be closed because MetLife needed a presence on the west coast. Nothing like giving it all to the company then finding out your job was going away to another brand new office back east ..
Pros
Benefits, we where like a family
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Market Manger (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 4, 2016
Positive atmosphere to work for.
Company benefits include wellness benefits that promote a healthy lifestyle among their employees.
Wellness reimbursement should be provided by all employers to ensure their employees are productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with great benefits
Premium Agent/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOMarch 15, 2016
fun place to work with great benefits, awesome environment, great discounts and deals. Managers and teams were great, easiest job i ever had.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing too fast for current leadership
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MoAugust 31, 2015
Expedia is a great place to experience the growing pains of a rapidly expanding business. The company struggles to keep up with its growth and is very volatile as far as employment, but excellent as a growing company.
Pros
Excellent Work Environment, Great Benefits, Competitive Salary
Cons
Job Security, Leadership, Processes
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expedia was a productive and fun workplace environment
GSO Coordinator\Lodging Support Services Agent (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 4, 2016
My typical work day included, but not limited to heavy telephone, customer service, data entry and invoicing. I learned a lot about marketing. Management was nice. There was a lot of room for promotion. During my stay at Expedia, I was promoted 3 times in 1 year. Co-workers were typical, some friendly, some not so friendly. The hardest part of the job was working on some Sundays. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with people from all over the country.
Pros
There was always free fresh fruit, apples, oranges, peaches, etc.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great benefits, HIGH expectations.
Associate Market Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 21, 2015
Expedia is a past-faced, ever-changing company. The benefits are wonderful and the employees are dynamic and colorful. The most difficult part of Market Management is the lack of training and lack of direction from your Superiors. You are thrown into your role and expected to know how to use the programs, where to find data, how to interpret data, what questions to ask, whom do you ask to answer those questions, etc. Also, 50% travel to your markets.
Pros
Benefits.
Cons
Training and Support.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Agent
Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  SpringfieldJuly 19, 2015
As a sales agent for Expedia I answer phone calls and sell hotel rooms. I love interacting and talking with people from all walks of life. Every call is different and I find joy in fixing problems or finding the nest solution. What i've learned most about working for Expedia is patience but also boldness. Since it is a sales job the end goal is making the sale. The hardest part of the job for me is isolation, even though I talk to people on the phone all day, I never have time to interact with anyone around me and that bums me out. I life interacting and getting to know coworkers.
Pros
Good benefits, good pay
Cons
isolation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Subject Matter Expert (SME) (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 9, 2015
Opportunity to provide customer service in my native language which is Portuguese and also in Spanish and English. I love the environment and the benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with Awesome benefits.
Market Associate (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 25, 2015
A life in the office, account management, partner relations, time management. Co-workers are awesome and the best part.
Pros
Pay/Benefits
Cons
Distance from Home
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Tier II Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 11, 2015
Expedia is an internet travel company. They have great benefits with a yearly travel reimbursement program, and the people are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 30, 2016
Typically a fast paced environment. Great co-workers. The upper and middle management teams have little to no idea what is really happening on the floor but are always trying to come up with new ideas to squeeze more out of the already hard working Hotel Operations team. Like many places the direct supervisors have their favorites. The current evaluation process is devoid of any useful metrics upon which an employee can improve. It's all left up to the "Opinion" of your supervisor as to how profitable you are to the team, and that can change monthly.
Pros
Excellent PTO policies. Great co-workers.
Cons
Upper management is clueless.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of global opportunity, great career development
Vendor Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOMay 29, 2015
This company is unique in Springfield in terms of its global footprint and the opportunities available. Tremendous benefits, exposure to myriad technologies, functions, and levels of leadership. Pay well beyond the norm for Springfield. Great place to start your career after college.
Pros
benefits
Cons
office at the old airport, travelers show up in error
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Lead Partner Support Services (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 27, 2015
This place is awesome, it really is work though. The location is nice, the people can be friendly, and there is ALWAYS food.
Pros
Potluck, pizza Fridays, compensation, other travelling benefits
Cons
Sometimes you are overlooked
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly competitive, High Engergy
Associate Market Manager (Former Employee) –  FLFebruary 11, 2015
Overall the company is excellent to work for with a lot of brilliant young people. Very results oriented. Recently they have acquired new employees to create a balance of personalities that are more than just your typical analytical report person and added sales and relationship oriented people to focus on new acquisition properties on the lodging side. Full reporting and chasing leads. Management is very focus on driving for results in during a very compressed market and seasonality, but they are about the people and continuous learning. Great people to work with.
Pros
great benefits, great people, lots of opportunity
Cons
lots of conference calls and meetings which take up a lot of time and gets you off track.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, competitive pay, great leaders
Lodging Operations Agent (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOApril 7, 2016
Coworkers are quality and ethics focused, management is a fantastic mix of well traveled and intelligent people. Sometimes hotel partners aren't up to date on current Expedia rules and procedures and there is a lot of technical malfunctions it being an internet based company. It's enjoyable because its one of those jobs where it seems like a normal call center, but it will surprise you by the content of the work, and the attitude of the staff.
Pros
Relaxed, partner driven sales culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 220 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture