Express Packaging Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard worker will do any tasks at hand given to me.
General Labor (Former Employee) –  GeorigiaJune 1, 2017
Looking for a honest job, I'll do any task given to me and will do my absolute best to fulfill all jobs given to me and if I do not know how to do it im a very fast learner and will try my hardest to learn something within the first time of being shown.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strenuous first experience in management
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newcomerstown, OHMay 23, 2017
This job was my first experience in management and was a little stressful. A lot was expected of me in very short amount of time ranging from managing employees to overseeing production to mechanical setup of production lines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of work on several days.
Load Machine/Package Handler/Palletizer (Current Employee) –  Newcomerstown, OHMay 17, 2017
Not a place I would consider staying at to support my families income or to pay my bills. Due to the driving to express and often times being sent home.
Pros
When quota is reached for a line we can clock out.
Cons
Insufficient pay for the amount of work we do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was repetitive but easy at the same time
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  New Philadelphia, OHMay 4, 2017
I liked working at express the co workers were great but sometimes it had a toll on the body. It was a good place to work easy money but sometimes we could go an entire week without work that sucked.
Pros
monday through thursday
Cons
repetition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people there are amazing to work with
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Newcomerstown, OHOctober 25, 2016
I loved going to work and seeing all my coworkers they made the job fun to be there and we always had a blast working together we would tell stories laugh joke but always made sure our job was done right as well
Pros
fun and loving coworkers
Cons
having to leave the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind of a Last Resort Job
Packer/Inspector (Former Employee) –  Newcomerstown, OHOctober 3, 2016
The hardest part of the job was trying to pay my bills when the factory would make quota earlier in the week and still expect the weekend workers to drive there on Friday or Saturday without telling any of us that there was no one there. My hours were dependent on how well the factory produced and shipped products during the week. Most the people that worked there were felons and there was a lot of harsh, uncomfortable language and activity that went on there. The bosses were unmotivated and rude and did not control the workers that yell at other employees and throw fits. The best part about the job was seeing and being part of the packaging of processed goods. I always wondered how factories worked, and I enjoyed my tasks at work. I inspected products that came through on the conveyor belt, glued and put stickers on damaged boxes, made boxes at a rapid pace, packaged goods, and sealed boxes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal day at work
line worker (Former Employee) –  Newcomerstown, OhioSeptember 24, 2015
I checked product, packaged the good, and got it all ready for shipping or re-work. We had one hour break for lunch and two 10 minute breaks during the day.
Pros
you could wear shorts in some areas of the factory and you got an hour lunch.
Cons
short breaks and it was a very hot job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To little money for hard work
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  West Chicago, ILApril 13, 2015
I work at food side for 3 weeks. Was sent home almost everyday for no work. I wish they call before so I don't drive 30 minutes for no reason. I went to truck side and work everyday with good coworkers. Manager is nice. Is better organized. Pay is to little.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
orginize, $$$
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2015
Typical day at work I worked on different machines and kept a clean work space. I learned how to shrink wrap different things. Management was great the co workers were great to. The hardest part was not messing up my hands. The best part was I stayed busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of drama
Line worker to Manager of a department (Former Employee) –  Batavia, ILFebruary 24, 2015
I worked for Express Packaging for 11 years. Came up to management all the way from throwing cardboard into a compactor. After account manager was hired the flow of the company went from being focused on work and pleasing the customers to gossip and drama. I myself come to work to do just that, work. So naturally I often butted heads with them. After my Plant Manager was fired the new Plant Manager was quick to fall to gossip and drama rather then work performance and I was let go as well.

Do not apply for any job in management unless you are prepared to spend most of your day listening to who did this and they did that drama.
Pros
Was once a great company to work for
Cons
Corporate management, High levels of drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need a better pay and better organization
quality control (Former Employee) –  newcomerstown, ohFebruary 12, 2015
it's been awhile since I've been there but when i was working there, you would check the layout of what line you would be on, if your not on the layout then you have to stay to walk through the factory to see if they need you. if they don't need anyone the rest of the people go home. If you do work, you get on the line and pack whatever the line is running. I've learned how to pack at express fast and how to do team work. express was my first job working in a factory. co workers were a little complicated because some of them didn't speak English. Hardest part of the job is not being able to communicate with everyone when your in charge of the line and drive all the way to work just to get sent home wasting gas. i had to drive 30 minutes to go to work and have got sent home a few times a week. hours vary as well. one week you could work 6 days and next week only 2 days. most enjoyable part was having a job and the people were ok.
Pros
longer breaks, having a job, and the people
Cons
getting sent home before even starting, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
facing new york traffic.
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Ridgefield, NJNovember 4, 2014
delivering in metro area very hard new York traffic
very difficult on daily basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs a whole new hiring group
general laborer (Former Employee) –  newcomerstown,ohioOctober 10, 2014
there production team needed to be built stronger plus on the same page.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good for a stable work
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Newcomerstown, OHOctober 1, 2014
They may work you or you may get sent home. Management Sucks, they are power hungry, they don't work with anyone.
Pros
there is non
Cons
No work, Management sucks, No benafets, No advancements in the work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional small business office environment
Administrative Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNAugust 8, 2014
Performed as integral part of a small business office team. All of us were knowledgeable and proficient, as well as flexible, in our varied tasks assuring satisfaction of all - mostly regular - customers by providing them with timely delivery of our company's quality corrugated boxes, thus contributing to their success in their business operations.
Pros
Small office staff, as well as manufacturing crew
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very difficult place to work
Efficiency and logistics coordinator (Former Employee) –  West Chicago, ILJune 4, 2014
I would start at 7am and be a dock recorder meaning I would keep track of every truck that came in and every truck that left, why was on that truck and etc.. I learned how to fill out Bill of lading and multiple other types of paperwork. I learned how to organize and entire warehouse with a number system. My co workers spoke little to no english so I had to relearn spanish so I could communicate to them.
Hardest part of my job were the multiple 80 hour weeks. Most enjoyable part of the job for me were my managers, both were very nice easily to get along with people.
Pros
Lunch whenever I wanted
Cons
No breaks, 80 work weeks multiple times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Environment for anyone outside of Ohio
Shipping/Receiving Manager (Former Employee) –  West Chicago, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Very low pay, low 30's for jobs that would otherwise be towards 50K. This is based on Ohio wages where the headquarters are at. Most employees are illegal, but their run through a temp service and paid minimum wage.
Pros
someitmes some free food
Cons
short breaks, very low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and loved staying busy.
Billing, Accounts Receivables, Collections (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, GAJanuary 28, 2014
I worked with some very wonderful people. It felt more like a family instead of co-workers. I love to stay busy. I don't like sitting around with nothing to do. I would rather grab a broom or a vacuum cleaner if all my work is caught up than to sit at my desk with nothing to do.
The hardest part of my job was collections because its hard for me to feel like I'm bothering people.
The part of my job that I enjoyed the most was getting to know my customers and working hard to keep them happy and staying busy.
Pros
Staying busy, good pay and great Christmas bonuses. Also good benefits such as paid vacation time, 401k retirement and health insurance.
Cons
No breaks, except a 30 minute lunch break.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work relations
Assistant Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Newcomerstown, OHJanuary 27, 2014
Company expects you to jump through hoops just to live pay check to pay check
Pros
Home every night
Cons
Too many drugs in work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
HR Manager/Payroll (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 28, 2013
Compensation / Benefits

Culture / Values

Job Security / Advancement

Management

Work / Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Express Packaging. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.7
Culture
2.7