Find companies:
Express Scripts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
629 reviews

Express Scripts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Pharmacy Production Clerk (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch doing inventory nights, bonus every month a 8.00 ticket to use in the cafteria if no mistakes are made
Cons: great benefits, a nice clean atmosphere
First of all load up your work area with coolers and ice packs
Begin packing pharmaceutical medicine
The importance of filling patients medicine correctly
Management care about his employees
Going into the freezer to get ice
Everyday was enjoyed the small group of employees all worked together
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fortune 50 company (actually reviewing Medco)
BACK END (BE) OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 18, 2014
Medco has a Fortune 50 company that put quality and patient safety before the all- mighty dollar. I thoroughly enjoyed working there and had looked forward to growing and staying with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was a temporary position
Client Service Specialist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 17, 2014
Pros: learning about government rules and regulations.
Cons: feeling helpless when patients did not receive their medication.
Typical day I was assigned patients to identify insurance coverage.
I reviewed and determine if insurance would cover medication.
If not, I would investigate all avenues to get medication paid for or check if patient qualified for drug assistance. I learned a lot about Medicare and Medicaid coverage. My co-workers we worked as a team and helped ech – more... other in difficult situation. The hardest part would be when patients were not able to receive their medication because of insurance problems. The most enjoyable part would be meeting and exceeding company set goals and helping patients obtain their medications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 17, 2014
Its an ok place to work. Pay is no where near high enough for the work you do. Job security is high and they have great benefits. Management will work with you as much as they can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Patient Care Advocate (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 16, 2014
Pros: paid for performance bonus, benefits
Cons: management, advancement, flexibilty
Answered an average [90] calls per day by addressing customer inquires, solving problems and providing new product information.
Described product to customers and accurately explained details and care of merchandise.
Communicated with vendors regarding repairs and order availability, future inventory and special orders.
Handled daily heavy flow of paperwork – more... and cooperated with the accounting department on invoicing and shipping problems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Express Scripts Inc.
Prescription Benefit Specialist (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 14, 2014
Great place to work. However very hard to advance. Its better to come into the company with experience, than starting off at the bottom and advancing.Benefits and compensation are excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, bad pay habits
Patient Care Rep (Former Employee), Memphis, TnJuly 14, 2014
Pros: good company
Cons: paid late and nobody cared
I was rehired recently and the person who was to be my manager after training was hired the same time I was. First red flag. Well, out of 20 or so ppl in our class 5 had their direct deposit set up and the rest of us, including my manager continued recieving paper checks that were systematicly sent late so we were paid late. They also depended on my – more... newly hired manager to solve it and no one else would help or seemed to care. From the first check until we resigned. Yes...we. Most of my training class including our manager and god knows who else. Loved it when I was there the first time around. I pray for all applicants! I stuck around for a long time to see if it would change and it did not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy Insurance Company
Customer Service (Former Employee), East Hanover, NJJuly 13, 2014
Express Scripps purchased N.P.A and made some big changes , then moved to Georgia .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive eviorment
Patient Care Advocate (Current Employee), Port Saint Lucie, FLJuly 12, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: breaks
express scripts is a really great and fun environment to be around
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work on the phone all day
Sr. Patient Care Advocate (Current Employee), Saint Louis MissouriJuly 12, 2014
If you like working on the phone you will succeed at this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
product and head phone to listen music
Order Entry Operator (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free christmas party
Cons: healthcare
Very quite place to work, every one busy to get the target. learned how to be a good teams, learned new systems, techniques to work better and to get your gold. I always work hard and want to learn as much as I can. Management your times well to get jobs done for target and before end shift. Very friendly and ready to help if they need with co-workers – more... without gossips. Company is work place not social place. The hardest part of the job was over target but need to try hard to get target for company required. The most enjoyable part of the job is company provided free lunch and Christmas party for employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Judgmental hierarchy..
Support Calling Technician (Former Employee), Fairfield, OHJuly 10, 2014
Pros: compensation, benefits, hours
Cons: everything else!
I was hired in November 2013, as a MedCo employee. In January 2014 Medco was officially merging in with Express Scripts. I was interviewed for the Data Entry Technician position - 2 week paid training, then switched to Support Calling Tech - 3 week paid training. Support Callers are the "grunts" of the place aka lowest man on the totem pole, and least – more... appreciated. With the merge all the protocols and outcomes learned in training - needed to complete our jobs were constantly scrutinized, changed, re-routed and when questioned, never given a direct nor secure answer. All of the above was constantly changing and re-changed leaving you wanted to go outside on break and scream your head off and tear your hair out. That and with everything constantly being changed, not only royally ticking off employees but ticking off doctors offices and patients being called as well. Nearly everyone you called as a Support Caller never wanted to talk to you, or just wanted you to send them off the talk to a pharmacist, whether they needed to or not - which were always in short supply and over worked no matter what time of the day. Management was a joke, and could never be relied on. You could never find them in the building, and on the rare occasions that you could, they were always busy or heading to a meeting that for some reason lasted all day with nothing productive ever coming from them. We were told with all the changes to protocol, to send our question to management. With them never around to do their jobs or help with the time sensitive material, we never had a solid answer and were always yelled at during meetings when production was slow. How were we to up production (call-making/order completion) when we can't get a straight answer as to what to do with the outcome we were faced with?

My managers never liked granting me time off for whatever doctors appointments I needed to go to (I was in my 1st & 2nd trimesters of pregnancy.) I was even called in to their office and asked why I have been asking for so much time off recently. I asked to leave no more than 2 hours early - which was always made up, for a late afternoon doctor appointment. When I informed them of my pregnancy, everything changed. Management was then harsher on me, criticizing my work more, being more critical of my weekly reviews, just being overall insensitive pricks with being informed of my pregnancy. I then started having complications which of course lead them to be even more harsh and insensitive. And trust me, coming to work after morning sickness and spending all break/lunch in the ladies room with morning sickness, and not being able to hold down food of any kind is a nightmare, was apparently unacceptable work ethic and was a performance issue. REALLY? Every single employee at my location were snobs. Whatever type of raise, bonus, or advancement they received was always taken with a grain of salt. No one ever bragged about their bonuses or raises but always got a little higher up on their high horses, and talked down to whoever didn't get an advancement opportunity, basically treating them like complete dirt for no reason - especially if we didn't openly worship the ground they walked on. Same went for management, too. The whole company is only in it for the money. They claim to take pride in the work they do, but when it comes down to it - how many people are paying them to do their jobs, how much and when. The only employees who really cared (to my knowledge) were a few support callers, and a few pharmacists.

My last week worked at Express Scripts I slipped and fell badly injuring my back, causing more complications with my pregnancy. My manager acted immediately and sent me home - I was in too much pain to sit on my butt for the rest of the day - and told me to call him monday morning after seeing my doctor letting him know whats up. I called just hours later and said I had a doctors note to be out Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday which on Wednesday I was to go back and be seen again and immediately faxed over a copy of the note from both the doctors fax machine, my personal fax, emailed twice from both the doctors and my personal email and then had an additional paper copy for them upon returning to work. (they always claimed to lose or never receive doctors notes so extra precaution always had to be taken.) I ended up being hospitalized the next day (Saturday) through Wednesday, which my doctor saw me in the hospital. He called over himself to my manager stating everything that was going on between my back and added complications and informed them I needed the rest of the week off to try and recover and I'll be back that Monday - which they said that was perfectly fine. Monday morning I got a call from my manager before i left for work stating they didn't need me today (work was slow, there were very few orders, they didnt need all of us support callers.) That afternoon I got a call from human resources asking how I was doing and how everything was going claiming I "neglected to call and inform them or my managers". I told them everything that happened from the docs note, hospitalization and the personal chat between manager and my doctor. The manager didnt record any of the conversation, and claimed the faxes were incomplete and emails deleted which never were found by HR, but I had proof of being sent, received, and read from all emails and faxes sent over. Since they didnt have proof on their end, they had to suspend me from work for the next 3 days until they come to a decision as to whether or not I am to still be employed at the company for violating attendance policy. Long story short, they didnt care about the proof I had of contacting them and sending them doctors notes and what not, I was fired after all that bull. And of course when youre fired, you can not apply for unemployment because of your lack of work ethic/my own fault for violating the attendance policy, and I couldnt hire a lawyer to sue fro wrongful termination because I didnt have the money. Needless to say, dont even bother applying because all you will deal with is bull, lies and stress you dont need nor deserve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Patient Account Representative (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 9, 2014
its okay a good job if your just starting in the medical industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sr Cognos Developer (Former Employee), Blue Bell, PAJuly 9, 2014
Ever changing and keeps you on your toes! You will never be bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Quality Review Specialist (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJuly 8, 2014
Great people; very "mechanical" structure of doing business (i.e. flexibility issues)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good consistant work place
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Davenport, IAJuly 8, 2014
A typical day at work is getting on the phones and helping people with ordering medications, navigating the new website, paying bills, looking up alternative medications, sending Rx requests to doctors, insurance ect. Didn't really get to communicate with co-workers or leaders. Leaders were there to help with questions however. The hardest part of the – more... job was making people happy. Most of the time customers call upset, some times screaming, and it's a little difficult some times to talk them down. The most enjoyable part is when you do make people happy and they appreciate what you do for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Sr. Pharmacy Automation Services Specialist (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 7, 2014
Pros: lots of vacation and personal time awarded
Cons: no profit sharing or reward for hard work
A typical day consists of doing Pm work
learned a lot about high speed automation
My management for the most part is competent
I work with solid technicians
Balancing your time to get the job done that is required can be challenging
I get to learn new things in my skill set almost everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive the first 17 years then slowed down
Eligibility Specialist (Former Employee), ft worth,tx 76155July 6, 2014
Pros: enjoyed working there when we had work
Cons: the last 2 yrs had rumors of layoffs and finally happen 5/30/14
Always made sure i was top performer in performance.Enjoyed all of my co workers and supervisors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prior Authorization Repersentive
Prior Authorization Representative (Current Employee), Dublin, OHJuly 3, 2014
A typical day at work is started by completing a list of prior authorization requests through faxes or outbound calls. After I completed all lists assigned for the day, I either work from a assigned project on my system for an insurance company and complete cases the same way as I work a list. Or sort faxes to go into their correct ques or create "shells" – more... for someone else to complete a case. Ive learned a lot about medical terms, medical insurance, how prior authorizations work and how important they are. The management is very understanding, welcoming and easy to communicate with. The hardest part of the job is nothing. I really like my job and like what I do. I try harder everyday to do better. The most enjoyable part of my job is to be able to help someone get their prescriptions approved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team environment
Patient Care Advocate (Former Employee), Saint Mary's, GeorgiaJuly 3, 2014
Pros: benefits and hours
Cons: high volume of calls
Log in to computer and load calling software to take patient calls about their insurance, etc. I learned how to take patient calls without breaking company policies. Management was helpful and increase in self confidence, but some management fails to communicate with other management creating unsolved issues. Co-workers were delightful with proper manners. – more... Hardest part of the job is having to listen to upset customers because previous failure to assist with the patients that call. Most enjoyable part of the job is assisting and answering any questions or concerns within that one call. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Express Scripts

Express Scripts is a Fortune 25 company and is the largest pharmacy benefit manager in the U.S.

Express Scripts Photos