Find companies:
Express Scripts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
674 reviews

Express Scripts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prescription Data Entry
Pharmacy Technician/Data entry (Former Employee), Tempe, AZAugust 25, 2014
On any given day I was responsible to accurately transcribe prescriptions for filling as well as update the members profile ensuring all given information is entered (i.e. allergies, medical conditions address and phone numbers vacation addresses with dates etc.)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Patient Care Advocate (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 23, 2014
A typical workday at Express Scripts was very stressful however I did learn a lot while working there. I educated members about pharmacy benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very loose interpretation of "customer service"
Patient Care Advocate (Current Employee), Bloomington, MNAugust 23, 2014
Pros: free lunch, desserts frequently. cool break areas
Cons: everything else
Went through very thorough training for 8 weeks. Once we actually got onto the floor we were told to not give the customer opportunity to ask questions and get them off the phone as fast as possible. We were even told that if we don't answer the customers questions at all we would still get great scores on our calls. Ethics and customer service are – more... questionable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an interesting place to work
Sr Data Entry Tech (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 21, 2014
My co-workers are great to work with and management is great as well. I wish I had more like them over the years. I guess the thing I do not like the most is there is not enough volume of work for me right now. I love what I do but I just need something more set in hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interestion
Patient Advocate (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 20, 2014
answer high volumes of calls handling billing and answer question concern medication plan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Lead Media Services Analyst (Current Employee), Fair Lawn, NJAugust 18, 2014
Pros: working environment
Express Scripts was formally known as Merck Medco and changed the name to Medco after a split with Merck. Heathcare benifits and 401k were very fair. I enjoyed working with all of my co-workers both inside and outside of my immediate group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merger wasn't beneficial for local employees
Workforce Planning Analyst I (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 18, 2014
Medco was a great company. Environment was great and management was as well. Once the company "merged" it was not the same. New company did not see the employees as assets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Fraud Investigator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 17, 2014
Pros: exercise room, nice cafe, banks locating at work
Cons: no breaks except lunch, unfriendly atmosphere
Very busy. Felt like just a number. Once you hit as a salaried employee, your job is not secured. Never know if you have a job when you go to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Patient Care Advocate (Former Employee), Saint Marys, GAAugust 17, 2014
This was my first desk job. I enjoyed the experience of learning something new. Even though this job presented extreme stress, I mastered it and was great at it. The companies policies are strick and there it not a lot of room for personal issues (like health related abscenses)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a good place to work
Equipment Maintenance Specialist (Contract) (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 15, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Cons: management does not care to help employees improve
It is a good place to work . It is sad that supervisors do NOT help you to improve yourself for the company. They do NOT tell you what you could do to be a better employee
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Pharmacy Technician II (Former Employee), Tempe ArizonaAugust 15, 2014
Pros: there really aren't any pros
Cons: no management. training is terrible. hr doesn't investigate anything.
Express Scripts is a terrible company to work for. Their management team lies constantly to their employees. They have no idea how to do most of the jobs of the employees they manage. They are only concerned with if you show up.

They refuse to investigate complaints about managers or other employees. They just move the employee to a different shift.

There – more... is no work / life balance. They want you to work 7 days a week. You don't get days off no matter how far in advance you request them.

There is no training program. They have random people train. People who have been there a week a training new employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly stressful call center, Escalated patients dealing with medication.
Resolution Team Lead (Former Employee), St. Mary GAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: the coworkers
Cons: metrics is all that matters to management
Training is designed as answering calls where customer services is not the focus. Metrics is the focus. Training should be designed geared towards the insurance business. Focus should be on understanding of insurance business, and customer service. All Leadership is not based upon experience, or job knowledge.
Typical day at work is on the phone, phone – more... calls come into the center on a non stop basis, reading comprehension is essential as you are dealing with information about insurance. The coworkers come from all parts of life and usually they are the most enjoyable part of the job. The hardest part of the job is the consistent escalation of patients either through errors of the patient, doctor, plan, or company. I have learned a lot about how insurance works, and the extreme cost of healthcare. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have a life, not the place for you
Inventory Control (Current Employee), Tempe, AZAugust 12, 2014
Pros: the benefits are really good, they feed us when we're forced to work ot, and there's plenty of ot if you're into that sort of thing
Cons: no regard for your personal life, forced ot
Like I said, if you're living at home, or if you're single and don't have much else going on, this is THE place for you. There's plenty of OT, which was nice in the days when you were kinda bored and just wanted some extra cash. But when it became FORCED OT (I'm currently working six-seven 10 hour shifts going on about a year now) you kind of get burned – more... out. The company itself has NO regard for your personal life (if you can't make the required overtime day, you're forced to call the shift line and take a point, taking you ever so closer to your inevitable firing. That's the #1 problem in the company, call outs), and the Supervisors can be...hit or miss. Some are perfectly fine to work with you, some are not. They do feed us outside food when we're forced to work an OT day (Jimmy Johns and the sort) but does that really make up for the lost time with your family? Not so much. They also do these little weekly drawings to award the people that have been working OT, but again, that doesn't make up for the lost family time. That, and only a random, certain amount of people are actually rewarded. If more PTO were awarded to us all, I would dig that. But they either can't or won't do that. Your team is also going to be in one of two boats; you're either going to be constantly short staffed because of call outs/unfilled positions (understandable because, again, forced OT) or it's going to be a team of newbies, because the turnaround rate is so high. I've been here longer then most, and there's hardly a familiar face to be seen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced mail order pharmacy
Patient Care Advocate (Former Employee), Whitestown, INAugust 12, 2014
Pros: lots of room for advancement
Cons: some processes could be better implemented
Fast paced mail order pharmacy where you are required to take inbound calls and make outbound calls to members to schedule shipment of medication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good values-based company.
Patient Care Advocate (Former Employee), Tempe, AZAugust 11, 2014
Pros: nice cafeteria and co-workers.
Cons: trainers
I thought that Express Scripts was a good company to work for. I like that it taught me information that I can use in my daily life. However, the training was very unsuccessful. They left out information because they ran out of training time instead of extending the training out. It was difficult to do the job because I felt I needed more information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service enviornment
Insurance Specialist (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 9, 2014
Pros: ability to help patients
Cons: people not being held accountable for work
Work on patient referrals for medication orders. Learning to work with multiple therapy drugs and insurance companies. I enjoy the work we do but do not feel as if we have approachable supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A BAD EMPLOYER
Pharmacy Technician/Clerk (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 7, 2014
Pros: diversity, lots of room to advance, pay rates are awesome
Cons: short breaks, hours, and management
WORKING FOR THIS COMPANY ACTUALLY TAUGHT ME ALOT AND GOT ME A PHARMACY TECHNICIAN LICENSE. THE ONLY COMPLAINT IS THOSE LONG 10 HOUR SHIFTS THAT START AT WIERD TIMES AND INTERRUPT NORMAL DAILY ACTIVITIES. THE MANAGEMENT NEEDS SOME WORK AND THE HOURS NEED TO BE ADJUSTED I MEAN, WHO GOES TO WORK AT 4PM AND GETS OFF AT 2AM ???? WHAT ABOUT THE PARENTS THAT – more... WORK THERE??? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production, great place to work, good benefits
Customer Svc Research & Correspondence (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 6, 2014
Typical day was coming prepared and on being on time. Research and correspondence was done by a team. The work allowed me to learned everything about the company and the functions of all our departments. Each job task had a production rate that had to be met. Management was very helpful and work along with us. They kept us informed on new procedures – more... and new information. As co-workers, we helped each other when needed to complete our assignments. When someone left or retired we were sad but we cheered them on. It was like family. It was a great company to work for too. We had game tables, contest for prizes and money, bake sales, company picnics, Christmas celebrations and other activities. We had great benefits and opportunity to earn bonuses. The hardest part of my job was doing nothing when we ran out of work. I took great pride in knowing my job going above and beyond to help our customers. Doing a job well were my Wow moments. Just knowing that I put a customer's mind at ease made my day. I LOVED IT! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Office assistant I (Current Employee), Byfield, MAAugust 6, 2014
Nice company, Very understanding with your needs.
Very detail oriented position. Almost all very nice co-workers.
Very good shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place of Employment EVER.
Data Entry Technician (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAAugust 6, 2014
Pros: benefits package.
Cons: everything else!
The only thing Express Scripts has going for itself is the benefits package. Management is a joke, they enforce certain rules with certain people (playing "favorites"), they hire ANYONE off the street. As a CPhT, I was paid the same as someone with absolutely NO experience. They value quantity of work over quality, which is a bit stupid when you're – more... in the health care industry! The training received is ridiculous; each trainer (out of 3 or 4) teaches you something completely opposite of the last one.. it's just terrible. Oh, and you get to suffer through all of this for not even 11 bucks an hour! If being overworked, under-appreciated, and made to feel extremely dispensable is what you're after.. apply today! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Express Scripts

Express Scripts is a Fortune 25 company and is the largest pharmacy benefit manager in the U.S.

Express Scripts Photos