Find companies:
Express Scripts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,038 reviews

Express Scripts Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long and unhealthy work
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Florence, NJJuly 3, 2015
Pros: Employees are really friendly
Cons: Long hours, low wages, poor management
Long work day
I learned to not recommend anyone for this job
Some management personnel are respectful
Co-workers are friendly despite being uneasy on low wages
Hardest part of the job is standing for 8 hours
I enjoy leaving the job after my shift is over
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to work with Express scripts
Sr. QA Tester / Business Analyst (Former Employee), Franklin Lakes NJJuly 2, 2015
Easy going Job.Day to day meetings,fun with working with Express Scripts.Friendly environment,Quick help form system support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work for!!!
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), New JerseyJuly 2, 2015
Pros: Great environment!!!
Cons: Salary
Great management in Fairlawn NJ. Very supportive learning environment. Great work balance. Waiting period for laptop when you start is abit long. IT support is not good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, but not so great pay
Data Entry Technician (Order Completion) (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAJuly 1, 2015
Pros: Laid back environment, fun events
Cons: Long hours, monotonous work
I worked at ESI from August 2014 to January 2015. I took the job because it was the only place that interviewed me. The starting pay ($10.38/hour) was not great, but I needed a full-time job, so I took – more... it. Training lasted about a month and it covered the basics of learning to enter a prescription, which is what we did all day. Our trainer was great, but none of the people in my class seemed prepared for the actual work once we were out of the classroom.

It was upsetting because, as new employees on the floor, we were expected to produce and hit high numbers, while at the same time maintaining as close to perfect quality as possible, and we were hardly familiar with our jobs. We did receive a $0.70 raise near the end of the year, which was great, but didn't equate to much. $11.08 an hour really doesn't pay the bills. The biggest reason that led me to find other employment were the hours. While we were scheduled as full-time employees, there was constantly a lack of work. Sometimes we would be out of work for four to six hours a day, and we would just sit around with nothing to do. This eventually led to "voluntary" time of leave, where you could choose to leave since there was no work. While it was nice to have off, the pay was not nice. Some pay periods I was lucky to earn 50 hours worth of pay. And I would leave because, in all honesty, there was nothing I really could do. There is only so much sitting around you can do within an 8 1/2 hour time period. The supervisors would also get upset at you if you weren't sitting at your desk, studying the DPG (Dispensing Practice Guidelines) all day.

If you enjoy rote, monotonous work, then this job is for you. I'm not saying that is a terrible thing, but that is what the job is, and for me, I did not enjoy it. It is strictly data entry, doing nothing but entering prescriptions all day. It is very draining, so I had to take frequent breaks. The nice thing is that you can listen to music while working, so it helps at least a little with the time. There is little room for growth, so if you are hired in data entry, expect that's where you're going to stay. There really are no other positions available, except if you choose to move to a different department.

The nice thing I really liked about the company was the environment. It was very laid back. You could wear jeans and listen to music while working. They also did fun events like Theme Fridays, Gingerbread House competition, finger football, and monthly departmental lunches. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace call center enviornment
Resolution Team Lead (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJune 30, 2015
Supervisor position offered little support in terms resources. Heavy reliance on coworkers. Employees in my department in my particular center were extremely proficient and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Data Entry (Current Employee), Liberty Lake, WAJune 30, 2015
a good place for beginners. Not many chances for advancement. My current supervisor is awesome. Over all I would refer friends to work there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for PSL. Robotic/Mundane
Prescriptions Benefits Specialist (Current Employee), Port St. Lucie, FLJune 29, 2015
Pros: Bonus, if you meet goal
Cons: Slow computers, micro management
Training could be more informative. Systems are SLOW and old, layout not friendly. Needs to be updated. *Good pay for the area, weekly pay, friendly, helpful staff. Nature of work is interesting, but after – more... having hundreds of the same conversation can become a bore. HIGH CALL VOLUME, mostly outbound. Constantly get told about ACW but don't improve computer systems... Very strict with attendance, no grace, if you are 1 minute late they keep a record. Typical call center environment. Definitely no long term desire, revolving door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Prior Authorization Representative (Current Employee), Dublin, OHJune 28, 2015
Pros: bonuses
Cons: Better Pay
Great Job to learn health care and the insurance side !!! i wouldn't change being able to work here I have learned a lot and I am able to show my compassion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Puts money savings before the customer
Facilities Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 27, 2015
They are not big fans of unions
Got the cheapest product they could find. that would not always run in the machines.
Hours were good
Co-workers were the most caring people I knew
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medco was a great company to work for
Business Relationship Manager (Former Employee), Franklin Lakes, NJJune 25, 2015
Working for Medco was a great experience.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the cross functional collaboration, getting the job done, with successful outcomes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for managers
Contact Center Manager (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNJune 25, 2015
Pros: Team engagement
Cons: Poor work life balance
The coaching methodology was very complex and involved. The overall culture was positive. Employees were recognized for a job well done at many levels of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Franklin Lakes, NJJune 24, 2015
Was a great company when it was Medco Health Solutions, had a great job and enjoyed it. Coworkers kept to themselves, management was not so great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Patient Care Advocate (Former Employee), Pueblo, COJune 23, 2015
This job is great, typical call center environment, higher ups want to tell you what to do, but can't tell you how or provide the help to learn how to do your job. Great pay, great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Prescription Benefit Specialist (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 23, 2015
Pros: Catch on quickly, Independent, Hard working
Cons: N/a
On a average day at work , I deal with members taking inbound an outbound calls, Assisting members with customer service issues ,working on an independent level with leads throughout the floor that are there to assist if help is needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company closed tampa location
prior authorzations (Former Employee), tampa flJune 23, 2015
it was a good environment to work in, good experience with helping people get there medication. ability to learn all about the medications. good supervisors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
patient Services
Patient Services Coordinator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 22, 2015
First thing, there is not enough training or/and time to do your job correctly. From the first day walking in there days were always overwhelming and the hardest part is trying answering calls, entering – more... applications, and other odds jobs expected to do when your trying to answer phones calls correctly and don't forget you are also graded on every word said. My highlight of the day is lunch and breaks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company on its Way Up
Manager (Current Employee), Tempe, AZJune 18, 2015
Pros: Fortune 22 company
Cons: High expectations
Express Scripts has gone through lots of changes in the past few years with the purchase of Medco. They try hard to make life better for their employees. Bonuses are nice and the benefit packages are also good. A lot is expected from their employees and there have been some growing pains. Overall a good place to work and I can only see it getting better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment History
Order Entry to CRD Rep/ Prior Authorization Rep (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 18, 2015
Pros: Excellent shift, training availblity, benefit's and open door policy
Cons: unpaid half hour lunches
I got hired when company was Merck Medco who sold company to Medco and was grateful I got to keep my job. Then in April of 2011 Company was bought out and became Express Scripts Inc. Rumors started going – more... around that company was going to lay off employee's and I did not go along with what was being said because we had no written documentation that was given to us employee's. April of 2014 management calls every employee into Cafeteria for a meeting. In the meeting they tell us that they are going to close down the building but they did not know when. I was let go in March 31, 2015 and I am still looking for work. I liked working there but I am having trouble finding work. I could not relocate to another facility due to having purchase a house. I really liked the skills I learned when working with company but I could not really stay because company was selling the building and why I stayed so long was some of the employee's got to work from home. I had go to my supervisor and would ask if we were going to be working from home and was told unlikely we would so I kept working there until I got laid off notice. I learned a lot being employed there 17 years now I am having to look for work. What I liked best was my shift 6:00 AM to 2:30 PM Monday though Friday with Saturday and Sunday off. The hardest part was leaving my place of employment and now I try to find work and I get excuses, were not hiring, no position's open and what I made is not what we can expect to pay you to start. I started at $8.00 an hour when I started in April of 1998 and I made $17.98 an hour when I left in March 2015. All I want is to be employed please. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN ambassador for Humira
Humira Ambassador (Former Employee), St.LouisJune 17, 2015
Pros: Had generous expense account
Cons: Very poor management, company refuses to make available its phone number
I was hired as an Ambassador for the drug Humira. I was told that the initial training was going to be 5 weeks long with 3 of those weeks in Chicago. What they failed to mention in the job description – more... or the interview was you had to pass both a written and practical exam with at least a 90%. I like others probably would of not accepted the job if we would have known about the exams. Management was inconsistent with rules. I had 4 different managers for my position alone, each from a different state and they were never around to answer any of my questions. This is a new program and they had multiple computer problems. I was issued 2 laptops and an iPad for my position. We had to carry these home every night. Even though I passed the written exam I didn't "pass" the practical exam. When I was told I didn't pass, my manager told me I had to immediately leave Chicago and return to St Louis. By this time it was 5pm and I didn't want to drive back to STL, especially in Chicago's rush hour traffic. They stated they didn't care and forced me to leave. Even though my room was paid for I even offered to pay for the room myself. I was tired and didn't want to drive 5 hours back to STL. 3 other co-workers also didn't pass and they were treated the same way. I had an exit interview in STL the following Monday and explained my plight. HR didn't seem to care. They told me to call if I had any further issues. I month had passed and I still hadn't received my last check. I attempted to call but found out that there are no employee phone numbers listed on any search engine. I even went back to the facility and the guard told me I had to call HR directly. I said great, whats the number. She said she didn't have it. Really? At the time of this writing Im going on 7 weeks from my last day. Still no paycheck. I did find a phone number after calling the pharmacy. The person who answered the phone stated she felt sorry for me. Do you really want to work for a company that treats you this way? I have never written a review on any of my jobs. I've worked in healthcare for over 38 years and NEVER been treated the way I was at Express Scripts. If you don't believe what I'm writing, just Google "complaints Express Scripts" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Business Analyst (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 17, 2015
Pros: Great Benefits
Cons: Like most companies Express Scripts thinks of their needs over anything, 90 hours work weeks occasionally, They love Salary employees - 45-52 hours a week is a normal
Really good people have worked here, but have left or been laid off. Lay offs are a regular thing here, no matter how many years you have in 1 - 20, and they dont try to keep you.

1 2 3 4 5

About Express Scripts

Express Scripts is a Fortune 25 company and is the largest pharmacy benefit manager in the U.S.

Express Scripts Salaries

Patient Care Technician
$12.00 per hour
$25,000 per year
Pharmacy Technician
$30,000 per year
Customer Service Representative
$12.35 per hour
Pharmacy Technician
$13.75 per hour