Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Merrillville, INNovember 7, 2017
Fun people to work with, and fast paced. Everyone is really nice, and helps each other like a family. Very supportive and can meet a lot of great people.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Short breaks, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYNovember 4, 2017
Sometimes long shifts
Long standing
Sometimes tiring
Fun working with the employees
Supervisors are very helpful
Flexible hours
Discounts are great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXNovember 4, 2017
a typical day at work when working at express consisted of opening up the store getting all the cash out and counting it then dropping it off at the bank, cleaning up the store before opening it and then helping customers find anything they need the whole day while keeping the store clean.
Pros
the discount
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discounted clothes
Express, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New yorkNovember 3, 2017
I worked here for a got time as a second job. The salary was competitive and you got discounts on clothes.
Also had to wear their clothes to work.it was a fun place to work.
Pros
Discounted clothes
Cons
Busy christmastime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I've EVER had
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Summerlin, NVOctober 30, 2017
I worked at the Downtown Summerlin location. I could not believe the workload that I was expected to do for minimum wage. I don't understand how a company with an average ticket of at least $100 is only paying minimum wage to work you like a slave. Management made the job extremely uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend this job to anyone let alone shop at this store again...
Pros
none..discount isn't useful when you're making $40 every week
Cons
Condescending micro-managers, Unethical wages, snobby customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Express
Merchandiser and Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 29, 2017
Express was chill workplace. I had the opportunity to meet and talk to all kinds of people about fashion trends. We would have meetings to meet certain goals a week. Hold competitions. In sales the hardest part is convincing customers that they should be spending more money.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Working on Holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Merchant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 20, 2017
Express is a wonderful place to work. Retail is stressful, and there are definitely long hours, but the people you work with are very smart and overall pretty amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and disorganized workplace with extremely low wages
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mays Landing, NJOctober 16, 2017
I do not like my job here. It is stressful, difficult, hard work for unreasonably low pay. I feel as though all of the hard work I put in amounts to nothing because of the low pay rate. Hours are inconsistent, and we are highly understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sales Associate (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 12, 2017
Enjoy my shifts, the people are fun to work with. Occasionally get rude customers but it’s worth it when you get a good customer and a big sale. Nothing else to complain about.
Pros
Disxount
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 11, 2017
This is a great place to get introduced to the world of retail. The worst thing about working at Express is closing. If you don't have to close every night then it's fun and less stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good first job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hoover, ALOctober 9, 2017
As a sales associate making $7.25 an hour might seem ordinary. but given the fact I would lead in sales most days and have many repeat customers, it was less than ideal.
Pros
Good management
Cons
low pay, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad management and hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tannersville, PAOctober 5, 2017
Manager was more of a friend than actual manager, very petty and childish. Hours weren't even good got about 2 days for a bi-weekly paycheck. Not a good place to work at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun way for a little extra cash!
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 3, 2017
I worked Express part-time. This is a great job for anyone who is in school or needs a little extra cash to suppliant their income. The environment is fun and encourages growth within the company. The benefits come in form of discounts and a positive job culture.
Pros
Always available shifts
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management is great, but pay could be better.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IASeptember 28, 2017
The management and staff that work here are amazing. I can pick my hours and the company is super flexible and the team members are always helping each other out. It's like a little family. The pay could be better though, but it's the average pay for a mall employee.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Lower pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 20, 2017
start packing expense stuff into boxes or bags clothes household stuff shoes books umbrella than gon on luch for a hour come back start packing the stuff again trying to find the right size box
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun coworkers
Associate (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXSeptember 20, 2017
It was fun working there but the store manager favored people and went above and beyond for them. A lot of drama happened that could have been left at the door before they entered work but over all it was a good job to work. Company was selfish but the people in the store I worked were professional and friendly.
Pros
Fun cool coworkers
Cons
Short breaks, over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It says its a part time but you wont even get 20 hours a week
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CASeptember 18, 2017
Worked here for over two years and you'll definitely stay where you are. There's no opportunity to advance and you'll only get scheduled once or twice in two weeks for 4 hour shifts and they expect you to be happy with that. They do not allow you to do any over time whatsoever. Keeping payroll on check is more important than providing hours for associates. Sales leads and managers work over 40 hours a week. Its an easy job but you won't make much. If you're a full time student this job is probably for you. Otherwise this place is a waste of time
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Way under 20 hours a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something new to do and they keep me busy.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Great Falls, MTSeptember 12, 2017
I got to work with various different companies and people while working with express and therefor gave me the wide ranged skill base that I have today.
Pros
Made money to pay bills
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fashionable place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lincolnwood, ILSeptember 7, 2017
Great products and great cliental. management was very nice and understanding. Everybody who worked there were friendly. felt good to get all dressed up for work. If you like fashion and enjoy dressing up for work, this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment to work in due to poor management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDSeptember 4, 2017
Express was a stressful environment to be in mainly due to the poor leadership and management of my specific location. The attitudes were fast paced and intense.
Pros
Experience with a chain retail store
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,034 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6