Find companies:
Extendicare Health Services, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
133 reviews

Extendicare Health Services, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place sucks
Administration (Former Employee), Bainbridge IslandNovember 5, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: place sucks
Places sucks it's all about numbers. The people who do actual work are not compensated for their work but lazy people are. Management is a joke places is falling apart. The list goes on...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Dothan, ALOctober 23, 2014
Pros: benefits, staff, schedules great morale
Cons: distance to job long for a daily thing
LOVED THIS JOB WORKED WITH THEM TWICE AND RECOMMEND THEM TO FAMILIES AND NURSES ALL THE TIME. BENEFITS, STAFF, SCHEDULES AND CO WORKERS ARE GREAT. I GOT A LOT OF GREAT EXPERIENCE WITH THIS COMPANY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to experience working with wide range of patients.
CNA/Caregiver (Former Employee), Centralia, WAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: regular overtime
Cons: understaffed in several depatments for resident ratio.
A typical day left you well worked and was a great experience as a first place of employment as a CNA. I learned a lot of what to look for as a caregiver and recognize signs of change quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Cook (Former Employee), Lansing, MIOctober 11, 2014
MANAGMENT SUCKS, I WOULDNT TAKE A FLY THERE FOR THEM TO TAKE CARE OF.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than some, Worse than some
STNA (Current Employee), Marietta, OHOctober 8, 2014
Pros: surplus of ot
Cons: unfair practices
I really enjoy my job! As with the vast majority of corporation owned long term care facilities, both the patient and myself are just numbers. I was unemployed for a few months before starting this job, so I'm thankful for surplus of OT. There's no fuss raised as in some work places about lots of hours clocked. But on same aspect, the charge nurse picks – more... a name out of a hat if overtime is mandated. So even if you worked doubles everyday, there's no overtime log or fair way to choose "forced" employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed all interactions with co-workers and visitors
Receptionist (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 1, 2014
My day typically consists of:
Answering phone calls and directing them to the appropriate department
Greeting all guests
Interacting with employees and assisting anyone

I really enjoy being in a customer service setting where I can interact with visitors and co-workers and be helpful in any way that I can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the patients are amazing , made it worth going to work for .
CNA/Caregiver (Former Employee), Dothan, ALSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: always plenty of work never boring
Cons: id have to say not enough money for all you do
Very nice and clean environment .fast pace , never boring ,always something to learn .staff if helpful . .everyone works well together ...Free meals .on day and evening shifts .you meet amazing & interesting patients (.love them) D Shirah
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auditing and Training Employees
Field Accounting Analyst-Auditor (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WISeptember 16, 2014
Pros: not being micro managed by management
Cons: travel to and from another state.
Completing business office audits. Traveling to and from Wisconsin. Covering and helping business office with daily activities and training. Management good to work with that does not micro manage but expects employees to being doing their jobs timely and efficiently. Coworkers are great to work with. Hardest part of the position was the travel. Most – more... enjoyable part of job was the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here only if you're desperate!!!
Administrator (Former Employee), WisconsinSeptember 14, 2014
Cons: is it possible to give zero stars?
The best thing I can say about Extendicare, Inc. is this: if the choice is between collecting unemployment insurance and working at EHSI, you'll earn more working here.
The ONLY thing that matters here is profit - "heads in beds", pushing Medicare average length of stay to the limit, cutting costs, etc.
Management degrades and humiliates its staff; – more... its employees are treated like garbage.
I've never been threatened by my superiors as I was threatened by the mercenaries that get promoted in this company.
Stay away!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Referral Manager, South- Central Wisconsin (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WISeptember 12, 2014
Pros: weekends off
Cons: very poor management top to bottom, very unhappy employees
I am looking for a new position as fast as I can. I started getting uneasy with my choice to work for Extendicare very early on, but kept thinking it would get better. Always being sited by State and Federal agencies. Tons of turn over, it seems like everyone is unhappy in this company from top to bottom. Very stressful everyday. Almost no job satisfaction, – more... the company culture seems to be to blame others and turn a blind eye to the obvious problems. Take a lesson from others, if you have other employment options take them, you'll be happy you did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply. Horrible place to work
RN (Former Employee), Arbors at MilfordSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: working with the residents
Cons: unrealistic expectations
Don't risk your nursing license ! Corporate doesn't appreciate you. All about heads in their beds. Facility I worked for treated hard working employees badly and confabulated lies to terminate had working employees. The residents were wonderful and I miss them. Never felt so good as to be gone and woking for a corporation now who appreciates me. glad – more... to be rid of the shady DON. Obvious her work back round was not a factor. Hard up corporations will hire those with morals of ally cats. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extendicare
Social Services Director (Former Employee), Cheboygan, MIAugust 27, 2014
Pros: residents
Cons: managment
Loved residents although was not able to give them the time needed due to upper managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST PLACE EVER! Don't waste your time or your license!
LPN (Former Employee), Willowcrest in South Milwaukee, WIAugust 26, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: read my review...too many to list
I worked as a LPN for a short period of time. I have been a LPN for a decade and have NEVER worked in a place as horrible as this one! On the outside it looks nice, but the employees (mainly the admin and RNs) are hateful, rude, and unprofessional. The facility has won different awards, but honestly they must have paid people off to win them, because – more... there are safety issues everywhere. In just a couple of days, I reported several Hipaa violations to RNs and NOTHING was done about it...so I did something about it and reported them. They lie about all the benefits they offer. They will hire you and promise a set schedule to you and then change it on you without your consent, and if you don't or can't comply, they will fire you. They make you sign a statement saying you are not allowed to apply for unemployment if you leave the job for any reason. The facility has very tiny rooms. The residents don't get fed well. The facility is not as secure as they say. The employees cus and talk trash about each other on the floor. Resident information is given to visitors without a nurse or employee checking to see if that person is allowed to have that information. WORST PLACE EVER – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent company to work for
RN supervisor/Unit Manager (Former Employee), Monongahela, PAAugust 21, 2014
it was a very busy fast paced environment. I became proficient with SNF management, CMS and DoH regulations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good kitchen staff
Culinary Assistant (Current Employee), Cass City, MIAugust 13, 2014
the kitchen staff is great they have fun but also get their work done there is a strong sense of teamwork amongst the kitchen staff as they all help one another to ensure the residents get good food to their likes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked!!!!
LPN (Former Employee), Elkins park paAugust 5, 2014
Pros: there are none.
Cons: the list is endless
As an LPN I worked for Elkins Crest and it was such a horrible experience. The work load is ridiculous!!! Out of a 8.5hour day I was on my feet for 8! There are no supplies to do my job. The place is run down and some of the staff don't understand how to be professional at work. I hated working there and glad that I no longer work there. The pay is – more... the LOWEST amount of money I ever worked for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a wonderful facility.
CNA (Former Employee), Dothan, ALAugust 1, 2014
This is an extremely caring place for your loved ones to be. The staff treat all like family to ensure the best quality of care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under staffed and stressful
cna (Former Employee), Vancouver, WashingtonJuly 27, 2014
Pros: cna teamwork when fully staffed
Cons: hard work, low wage, overtime requests
Although this company is experiencing challenging times, they are working on changes to improve the moral and working environment. They have a long way to go, hopefully, in time, they will get to where the residents always come first. As a former employee this was good training ground. I now have better job opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
CNA (Former Employee), EvansvilleJuly 22, 2014
Pros: none!
Cons: no breaks, bad management, always short
I worked at the extendicare facility in Evanaville, WestPark. The management is horrible they do not care about their cnas at all. We were always working short. So short they will have 2 aids on a 75 bed unit. Now how fair is that for the residents. But not only is management bad some of the residents will cuss you out and disrespect you and the nurses – more... do nothing about it your just suppose to sit there and take it. The nurses are super lazy they don't help pass trays when your short they don't answer call lights when there is a whole hall going off. Nothing is ran right at that place. I only lasted 2 months. I don't have one good thing to say about the place except I liked some of the aides I was worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excruciatingly terrible place
STNA (Former Employee), Sylvania, OhioJune 27, 2014
Pros: there are absolutely no pros.
Cons: extremely rude staff, extremely poor pay, unprofessional management.
I started working at the Arbors of Sylvania. When I first arrived, I stood around for about 10 minutes, waiting for my trainer. Finally, the other aide working the hall told me that my trainer was going to be late, and to start answering call lights. I told her "no" because it is a violation of state and OSHA. She rolled her eyes at me, and stormed – more... away. When my trainer finally arrived, she didn't greet me, just told me, "come on." I followed her to a resident's room, where her and another aide proceeded to undress a man, to give him a bed bath. Halfway through the bath, they stopped, and started making fun of every aide and nurse that worked there, including the DON, all while leaving this poor man undressed and uncovered. I knew how to do everything as an STNA, but the fact that the woman training me didn't ask me if I knew how to do anything was just awful. After listening to these people make fun of everyone for 15 minutes, I decided that I did not want to be associated with a business like this. I excused myself from the room, informed the nurse that I didn't think it was going to work out(she rolled her eyes at me and said "whatever), and left. Later that day, I got a call from the ADON, asking me what had happened. While I was explaining to him what happened, I was interrupted by the DON, who just started screaming at me, threatening to call state and have abandonment put on my license. I told her that she is lucky that I don't call state and tell them everything I witnessed today. She said, "you no longer work here. Goodbye." Then hung up on me. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Extendicare Health Services, Inc.

Extendicare Health Services, Inc. (EHSI) prides itself on helping people live better, by providing comprehensive nursing, therapeutic – Read more

Extendicare Health Services, Inc. Photos