Extendicare Health Services, Inc.

Extendicare Health Services, Inc. Employee Reviews in United States

Found 135 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What can I say? It's a nursing home.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Marietta, OHMay 12, 2016
This place isn't for anyone. You have to have an iron will to get through the day, the coworkers, and the hours. If you like stress, awkward conversations, gossip, drama, and never sleeping, this job is for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable about this job was
ACCOUNTING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 22, 2016
I always had projects on top of my regular work, that allowed me to help out the department as a whole not just my job.
I would get incoming checks everyday and would split the money into accounts for our company but also those we gave some money back to.
Pros
the people
Cons
having a boss that decides my fate in another department that I only saw once a year
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough place to work. Residents not treated fairly
cna (Former Employee) –  Dothan, ALApril 20, 2016
Did not like working here. trained to care and help residents in any way possible. then rushed and not enough staff to do the job...did not work here long. because I could not treat residents this way....
Pros
great residents
Cons
taugt to love our residents but exspected to do something else.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
SPTA (Former Employee) –  Dothan, ALApril 7, 2016
All the employees made Extendicare a fun environment to work. This facility offers experience with many pathologies and transferring of patients
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very inefficient
Prefer not to release (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAMarch 28, 2016
Very inefficient.

Fire people due to organization's inability to get you a computer to work with.

No training at all.

Terrible mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term care
Director of Nursing (Former Employee) –  Waterville, OHMarch 17, 2016
Overseeing nursing services for long term care is a 24/7 position. I learned that it is necessary to have meetings with Unit managers in the morning for going over resident needs and a meeting at the end of the day to ensure that these needs were meet.

Management was supportive and helpful with daily meetings and assistance with what was needed from Corporate. The workers were nice and helpful.
The hardest part of my job was the scheduling, but not impossible. The most enjoyable was the residents.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was difficult to move things forward in my department
Marketing Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 2, 2016
It was difficult to get management on-board with how important marketing was in order to do sales.

Sometimes difficult to work with others in the group because of control issues.
Pros
Treated all employes with fun things to do every couple of months
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, intriguing, and autonomy
Staff RN (Former Employee) –  St. Louis Park, MNDecember 3, 2015
Wonderful families and residents. Great place to build and strengthen your skills.Great state reports and great staff support.
Pros
None
Cons
Fun
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Critical lack of staff
RCM (Former Employee) –  The Gardens On UnviersityOctober 12, 2015
I was flattered to be asked to leave Maxim and have them buy my contract to join the Extendicare team.
I was again flattered to be promoted to RCM from floor nurse.
The turnover of DONs and Administrators was constant.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Created meal plan
Culinary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 30, 2015
Help prep meal plans for resident and consult with the nurse on certain diet plans and more.I also created order forms for each resident in the building to fit there meal plan as need it.
Pros
Hard worker
Cons
Over workmyself.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company failure
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 12, 2015
Low morale, poor management, increased workload with staff cuts. Previously used to maintain positive culture with company events and outings but now it's a workhorse effort with little benefit and low pay/raise freezes.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Culinary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Auburn, WAAugust 8, 2015
The crew I worked with was good. The pay was decent. Union ended up fighting for raises across the board. However, management switched over and it changed everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loss of a great company
clerical/mail clerk (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 3, 2015
Extendicare was a great company to work for.They hosted several events each year to show their appreciation towards their employees. It was heart breaking when the news broke about the company being sold.
Pros
free parking and great group of employees
Cons
job advancement was limited
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 29, 2015
Nice place to work, enjoyed working with the different depts. and nursing centers. Team work was encouraged, each person had their own area of responsibility. Management's door was always opened when needed.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
being let go
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational place to work. Has an excellent PT,OT,ST dept.
LPN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Pomeroy, OHJuly 17, 2015
Typically I go to work with the mindset to make my residents day better. Generally it is the other way around, they always seem to make me laugh and brighten my day.

I pass my meds, do my treatments, charting and then I always try to find a few minutes to sit and talk with different residents each night that I am there.

I have great STNAs' that work under my direction and they know their job and residents very well.

Love my residents and my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the facility and the owners.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Dothan, ALJuly 16, 2015
The owners are wonderful people who know each employee by name. The Human resource department and staff development are the only bad things about this place. They have no respect for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Student Intern (Current Employee) –  Gig Harbor, WAJuly 4, 2015
I was a student intern for Extendicare and they taught me a lot. I got to spend time with a bunch of different employees and learn a bit from everyone.

Management was very helpful and always made time for me.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Since I was an intern I didn't really have a specific spot to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very comfortable place to work!
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salem, INJuly 4, 2015
I loved spending a year working here, the staff and management is very friendly and helpful! Its a small building so you get very comfortable with everyone including the residents which benefits their care.
Pros
Comfortable
Cons
Insurance Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge corporate office/fifficult to establish a relationship with corporate employees.
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Delaware, OhJuly 3, 2015
Typical would start with rounds with DON followed by stand up then a census call. Check with each department as to issues I need to address., make rounds to meet new patients admitted. Read e-mails and submit any reports needed. Help serve trays at lunch and dinner. Conduct any scheduled meetings.
Pros
Well paid, good benefits
Cons
redundant reports
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired as Regional to turnaround 7 troubled skilled facilities
Regional Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 16, 2015
Hired by Area Director of Operations to manage and improve profitability and survey outcomes for seven skilled facilities and one assisted living community in Ohio and West Virginia. Enjoyed working with the Regional Team.

Had to leave due to family illness and family issues.
Pros
Great systems and learning environment
Cons
Little re-investment in properties
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 215 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture