Exterran Employee Reviews

Found 225 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an exciting place to work at
Purchasing specialist (Former Employee) –  Brenham tMarch 17, 2017
I loved working for exterran. I got to learn something new everyday and work with an extrodinary group of people. The vendors was an awesome experience. The hands on experience was great.. working with parts, the people and computer systems.
Pros
Benefits, pay, it was always fun
Cons
Very long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job before they closed
Assembly Technician/ insulator (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 10, 2017
i thought this was a pretty awesome job, this job had great benefits, area managers were great. enjoyed my job and co- workers. but this company shut down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly loved the work ethics
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 9, 2017
Good company to work for.
Good benefits.
Great culture.
The most enjoyable part of the job are the people who work there.
Pros
employee oriented
Cons
Corporate office relocated too far for daily commuting
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday at work
Hydro Tester (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 2, 2017
every day at work it was the same to do things over and over. Don't get me wrong but i did like working there, just that i didn't see any advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter
Offshore Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 12, 2017
exterran, now archrock seems to be a bit of a revolving door company. theres a constant influx of people coming and going. management was lacking when I was there, and there was no concern for work life balance.
Pros
good starter company to get into the field
Cons
revolving door of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all worked together
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, TXJanuary 5, 2017
learned to be firm with fellow employees, but fair with all. co-worker all worked together. The hardest part was 24 hr. call. Job paid well.
Pros
take customers to lunch
Cons
24hr. call
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had ping pong tables in the break room
Receiving Clerk/HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  Alleyton, TXJanuary 2, 2017
Typically I worked on the dock and in the office for incoming freight. I learned how to maintain the electronic receiving program as well as how to do inventory and create a more effective process. Management needed more training on communication. Co-workers were generally fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was working in the weather. The most enjoyable was working with my co-workers and customers to create a team atmosphere.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a GREAT Place
Compressor Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMDecember 15, 2016
Great place to work, owner is a fantastic guy! Did not get much training on trucks or equipment from direct boss, but my other co-workers taught me a lot, and could always go to them with problems. Sadly the oilfield slow down caused a lot of people there to get laid off including me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Internship (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 7, 2016
I have made best friends for life here and the work environment makes you feel welcome and appreciated. Greatest place to work and I highly recommend working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Yukon, OKNovember 3, 2016
Excellent place to work. Safety was a huge priority and they watched over the employees. They made it fun to work. They took time to feed the people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about Exterran?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management would not make a decision
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 1, 2016
Management would not make a decision at all and would hold people responsible to deliver on what ever it was they would not make the decision on. In developing project scope this is a major problem.
Pros
Good Team Members
Cons
Pay and Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and rewarding
Foreman II (Former Employee) –  Alleyton, TXOctober 24, 2016
typical work days went by extremely fast, but left everyday knowing what to tackle the next. Had a very skilled crew in our department with respect for one another.
Pros
ALWAYS busy, day went by very fast.
Cons
no raises due to economy
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training programs
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, NM 88220October 19, 2016
I learned alot of trouble shooting skills and was able to take several courses to make the job easier and more eficiefnt.I was able to work well with others and learn from them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Instrumentation / Electrical Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, TXSeptember 21, 2016
lots of overtime, good place to work co workers worked hard and easy to work with, steady work and plenty of work, managers were replaced or moved on to other positions to often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exterran was great company until spin off!
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 19, 2016
Exterran was a great company to work for until the spinoff of Archrock. New management was lacking in transparency and the culture went from being happy to severely depressed. Corporate politics have minimized the ability to progress within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work, ever
Field Service Technician Intermediate (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMSeptember 18, 2016
I will never return to work for them ever! No positives whatsoever, other than the money, which in hindsight was not worth it. worst employer I've ever had!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inverted Pyramid
Emissions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 25, 2016
Overly managed corporate control company trying to squeeze copper juice from pennies. Restructuring company may help bottom line, but destroys confidence.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Sacrifice everything
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with this company and people were awesome
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 25, 2016
This job was very nice I really enjoyed it the Company benefits and the pay were very good. The people and management were very good to work for. Every one always got together for events.
Pros
Enjoyed my job there every aspect
Cons
a little far from my house but was ok
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exterran use to be a fun place to work
Applications Engineer Career (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 8, 2016
Dedicated energy professional with over 35 years of experience in various multidisciplinary roles from
shop, field, and office environments. Collaborative problem solver who uses process improvement and
cost analysis to increase revenue and meet customer’s requirements and needs. Is a team-based individual
invested towards completing tasks in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation Not Competitive
Senior IT Security Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 5, 2016
Good leadership. Healthy environment. Training offered. Salary not competitive. Good camaraderie among employees.
Pros
No blaming, Just get it fixed and move on.
Cons
Salary low compared to competition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Exterran. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 362 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5
79%

CEO Approval

Based on 91 ratings
Add your rating