Find companies:
Exterran
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Exterran Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management @ IP is clueless as to how to execute a project..
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), Broken Arrow, OKJune 7, 2014
Cons: everything
To the one reviewer, not all of the engineers were happy I'm sorry to say. The place is a sweat shop.... Benefits have been lost, taken away in recent years...The IP group has been a complete failure since it's inception.... All process plant engineering is done in BA, OKLA. The Houston IP group is clueless about project execution.... The project management – more... should be in same place as the engineering group and fab shop.... just my opinion.
Unless your desperate, keep looking! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Senior Supply Chain Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2014
It's an okay place to work, gain experience, and then move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exterran is an ok place to work for.
PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE SCHEDULER (Current Employee), ExterranMay 10, 2014
Pros: a few good managers
Cons: some people have more of a work load then others
Exterran has some very long stressful days, has a few great people to work with. Exterran has days of walking on eggshell and others are good days. the hardest part of having a job at Exterran is the feeling of being secure. They are constantly changing and going through lay offs. the most enjoyable part of woking at Exterran is when we had a great – more... year of change that had gone smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive company and which allows employees to grow within the company
Material Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 8, 2014
Pros: being able to attend safety training's, company luncheons, bonuses and safety award champions
Cons: short lunch brake and sometimes the forklift would be out service for a prolonged period
My typical day would consist of clocking in, attending the morning meeting, discussing and reviewing the topic of the meeting. After the meeting I would set a couple of minutes aside and I would plan out my day. I would call all of my bay and lead men to see if they needed anything, before I started pulling a job down from our inventory. What I learned – more... was how to prioritized and attention to details and to work as safely as possible. I also learned that there's a great magnitude of mentors within the company. What i have learned about the management is that any person within the company will go above and beyond to help an employee, weather its constructive criticism or hands on example. I enjoyed every minute working along side any and every Exterran employee. The hardest part of my job was when we were short on material and we were unable to give to the shop floor. The most enjoyable part of my job was seen units leave the facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work. No communication between mangers to leads, and leads to mechanics
Gas compressor mechanic (Current Employee), fort worth txApril 27, 2014
Pros: ok pay
Cons: to many to list
The day starts off with meetings, and you find out the days events. The day never goes as planed mangers and lead mechanics always change their minds on what project you are to do. Management acts as though you work for nasa and every thing is top secret. Co-works are ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"RUN"
Senior Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 23, 2014
Cons: everything, horrible company
Horrible company to work for. Sure all the people who like working there are in the offices with degrees. But they treat all the assemblers, paint, welders and maintenance like absolute dirt. Worst company I have ever worked for. NHR just uses temp agencies to hire contractors so exterran dosent have to pay unemployment. Most of the time thy never hire – more... any assemblers onto the company. They will drag you along for a year and then drop you. But the communication and the Management were the worst. And I mean the upper management. They do not know what they are doing because they are college educated with no practical knowledge. If you do go and work for them CYA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
field tech (Former Employee), midland, TxMarch 31, 2014
Pros: good
Cons: good
its a good job , but I just want to better myself and future, and would like know more skills,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Temp position - Biller (Former Employee), Victoria, TXMarch 21, 2014
Cons: computer system
New Computer System - No one knows how to use it. Terrible training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Accounting (Former Employee), Houston TexasMarch 15, 2014
Pros: great coworkers and managers
Cons: no more 9/80 work week low wages & bonuses
I loved the group I worked with. Good team work. Training could have been better. We made up for it by working together with teammates. NO room for growth unless you have a 4 year degree. No matter how many college hours you have or years experience. They are very focused on that piece of paper. Lower pay scale then most oil & gas companies. Very old – more... version of Oracle with patches installed every other weekend to fix issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desktop support (on site and remote)
Business Technology Support Analyst (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 12, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: complicated and restrictiive corporate policies
-Processing service requests and incident report
-Configuring/deploying laptops and desktops locally and remotely
-Great environment including excellent teamwork and cooperation
-Hardest part of the job was being so restraint on what I can do to help my customers (ex. no admin rights) Attempting to explain the complicated policies that my customers – more... were forced to deal with was also challenging. Just because there was an IT guy on site didn't necessarily mean I could help them resolve their issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no future
Mechanic (Current Employee), Yukon, OKMarch 6, 2014
Cons: managrment cares more for profit than culture
no future, six years in and has been like being in swirling toilet bowl..no one seems to care loosing experienced employees, answer to that is to just get more temps. safety program holds employees back from completing tasks on time while management wants it done faster and cheaper.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR function is moving from transactional to transformational!
HR Representative (Current Employee), Davis, OKFebruary 14, 2014
Continuous improvement is the #1 priority at Exterran! The goals and objectives set by HR management are focused on making Exterran a first class employer. I have experienced more clarity around HR strategy, G&O, back off processes, policies, etc. in the past 2 years than in the prior 15 years with other employers. Exterran is a great place to work – more... if you are an HR professional who is committed to helping both employees and management be successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Shop Mechanic (Current Employee), Kilgore TxJanuary 12, 2014
Overhaul gas compressor units rebuild frames swing engines only reason why I am looking for a new job is Exterran is shutting down the shop in Kilgore
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Senior Principal Consultant-Oracle Apps/Core DBA (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 2, 2014
It is a great company to work for with many technologies , but the daily commute from sugar land to greenspoint is too much for me to handle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Process engineer (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 16, 2013
Excellent employer employee relations and mostly enjoyable work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Control
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee), Youngstown, OHNovember 24, 2013
Pros: paid vacation and lunches.
Dailey problem solving in a high paced enviorment. Keeping records for ASME inspections of pressure vessels and piping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safety oriented place for sure.
Code welder (Former Employee), Youngstown OhioNovember 5, 2013
Pros: safety huddle
Cons: healthcare and management
After reading some of the reviews and a lot of the same problems through out the company . But they should know the problems of having area managers that never been around a fabrication . They are just looking for a yes person on muppet strings . There has been ten very qualified tradesman left after six months of opening a new plant in Youngstown . – more... They lied our wages after we committed going to forty hours of classes on our own time . Most quit a job to come there . The insurance is expensive . Which they lied about threw interview process. They have no integrity for a big company . They are hiring welders with six months experience paying same as us with twenty years of code welding . There is only twenty workers in vessel shop and there is three bosses . Two came from Texas and they are not the sharpest of needles . All they do is push you and they wonder why the quality isnt there . It was my worst mistake taking that job. When the human resource lady from Texas had a meeting with us and she said the turn over ratio 42% . If they asked all the employees at exterran Youngstown if they are happy I bet 80% would say no . Truth goes along way to employees and their attitudes . The state of Ohio government grants for training employees at exterran which never happened . Our so called master welder trained us . That's the same guy who has the highest failure rate on X-ray welds . They are sending him to school for welding . It's who you know and who you suck up to will take you far . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Pipe Welder (Former Employee), Broken Arrow, OKOctober 10, 2013
Pros: great place
great place great work great people all in all was a nice place to work i would recommend anybody for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Administrative Assitant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Brookwood, ALSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: great company and staff
Cons: lay offs
In charge of the field service workers, assigned task as to the wells, kept downtime report, recorded task and time, kept hours in E TIme, payroll, kept records for weekly reports as to well performance. Hired and processed new hires to include benefits. Set up manager meetings and employee meetings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees are like family and we all work as a team.
Material Handler (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: great hard working people.
Cons: healthcare expensive, and not enough training to employees when willing to learn.
The hardest part of the job is people need to learn how to communicate.

1 2 3 4

About Exterran

Exterran Holdings, Inc. is engaged in the full-service natural gas compression business. It provides operations, maintenance, – Read more