Find companies:
Exterran
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Exterran Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Backup Fitter Lead / QC Inspector (Current Employee), Alleyton, TXSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: plenty of overtime
Cons: to much waiting for parts
Fun and fast paced,with the ability to advance within the company in a short amount of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job, while still in college.
Preservative Technician (Former Employee), Kilgore, TXAugust 28, 2013
Pros: lots of hours, was only a temporary position for the summer.
Cons: very hot and long hours.
*A typical day at work included taking apart oil and gas compressors, spraying the interior with preservative, and putting them back together.
*I learned about the oil and gas industry and about the parts of a gas compressor and how it worked.
*I enjoyed working with my co-workers and my manager. We tried to make sure we always kept it fun, you have – more... to when you are working 12 hour days in 100 degree temperatures.
*The hardest part of the job was dealing with the heat and the long hours.
*The best part of the job was getting the overtime that made for a nice paycheck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exterran
Fitter/Welder (Former Employee), Broken Arrow, OKAugust 21, 2013
Pros: cookouts every other week
Cons: carry other peoples loads and fix other welders welds
good company to work for, friendly environment, nice tool room
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Foreman of Paint (Current Employee), Huoston, TexasAugust 8, 2013
Pros: great learning opportunities
Cons: hectic schedule
Exterran is a great company to work for. Day to day production schedules can be rather hectic as can day to day activities. Over my time here that has been great management and OK management. I enjoy working with each and everyone of my co-workers, supervisors, and peers. The hardest part of my job, lately, has been finding a work / personal life balance. – more... The most enjoyable part of my job is the satisfaction of my team and customers by providing a quality product on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in
Pipe Fitter - Assembly Line (Former Employee), Houston, TxAugust 3, 2013
I love the nationality they have in the work place. You can advance in your pace. They would train you in whatever you want to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exterran's a decent company
Field Service Technician/Operator (Current Employee), Williamsport, PAJuly 11, 2013
Excellent group of Field Tech and Managers. Company is fair, willing to work with employees and encourage success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company but no room to advance and grow
QUALITY TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Alleyton, TXJune 29, 2013
Pros: i do something different every day.
Cons: without a college degree you can not move into management
Started as help and quickly moved into QC. By working hydro i learned alot about the equipment and safety. I am responsable for many different inspection point through out the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Structural welder (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 10, 2013
Great learning experience great pay and helpful crew workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging work environment
Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 30, 2013
It is a very fun environment to work in. There are lot of challenging projects to work on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away if you want any kind of life what so ever!!!!!
spool shop welder (Former Employee), broken arrow, OKApril 25, 2013
Pros: mgmt is ignorant you can get away with anything on nightshift
Cons: leadmen jo
i worked on nights as a pipe welder was all good at first but after a while 2 years there was no opportunity to go to days the mgmt team there is clueless (all from goodyear tires) and the leadmen they put in place are just about the sorriest excuse for leads i have ever seen do yourself a favor stay away from the spoolshop there especially on nights – more... go find a real weld job and take my work you will be happy you did – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it...
QC Inspector (Former Employee), Columbus,TxApril 17, 2013
Pros: ping pong table in break room...
Cons: bad lifting and rigging culture
Don't do it. If you don't fit in to their clique they will find a reason to fire you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY!!!!!
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee), BROKEN ARROW, OKLAHOMAMarch 9, 2013
Pros: pros is they suck!
Cons: cons is they suck!
THEY SAID THEY WERE GOING TO HIRE ME FULL TIME AND HIRED ME A TEMP AND LET ME GO AFTER 2 DAYS! I HAVE 2 YEARS EXPERIENCE IN FORKLIFT AND LET ME GO OFF TWO DAYS? NOT GOOD PEOPLE TO WORK WITH. THEY DON'T GIVE YOU ANY CHANES AT ALL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is always something new to learn along with a challenging environment.
Material Handler (Current Employee), Victoria, TXMarch 7, 2013
A typical day can be challenging and learning something new is often. I have learned to not only manage a warehouse and its procedures, but also to accomplish many tasks on Oracle. Also to learn the many parts that are used in compression. The co-workers are friendly and professional and the hardest part of the job is dealing with last minute orders. – more... Most enjoyable would have to be friday payday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay the hell away
millwright (Current Employee), houston manufacturingFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: houston based, small quaterly bonuses
Cons: short breaks, no ownership so ur fixing other peoples work
If u can help it stay away from exterran. I've worked there for two years and it seems like the next Enron. They paint a pretty picture to everyone about how good we are doing but really we just laid off 17 people outta nowhere, we don't pay our vendors so major lack of tools getting returned, there's to many cheifs and not enough Indians, whatever – more... ur starting pay is well be ur final pay NO RAISES!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work!!!
Welder (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: great managment
Cons: short breaks
welding componets togather with a blueprint.rework if required..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away if you can help it!
Field Service Technician (Current Employee), Fort Smith, ARFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: poor benefits, expensive healthcare, lots of on-call hours, no life, dramatic
Exterran is an ok place to work with some good people working there. Mostly, it's a dramatic place to work, and jobs are highly unsecure. Employees are constantly worried about losing their jobs and job cuts. There are lots of night calls and old, junky equipment company wide, so lots of hours away from home. NO JOB/ HOME LIFE BALANCE! Your job is your – more... life! It does pay well, but if you want to have any kind of freedom, whatsoever, it isnt the job for you. We are on call 24/7 every other week, and weeks off call we usually travel. FYI. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job in texas
Service Manager/Field Service Tech (Current Employee), Greeley, CO / Center, TXNovember 30, 2012
I really enjoyed my job at Exterran while I was in Texas. When my family and I transferred to colorado I was not pleased at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work is good
I&E Technician intermedit (Current Employee), Davis, OKSeptember 9, 2012
Pros: co worker are all easy to get along with
Cons: bad managment no direction, no consicity with work requirements
enjoy the work but hard to deal with management. Nothing is good enough for them . every employee is very disengaged at this time. very low pay and long time to get raises in general
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Document Controller (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 13, 2012
coworkers were great. assignment ended. built pressure valves
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary
Project Billing Coordinator - Oracle Production (Former Employee), United StatesAugust 10, 2012
This position was temporary and was a transition for the company moving from Houston to Atlanta. The job was not hard and a typical day included updating the systems contract database to ensure invoice accuracy.

About Exterran

Exterran Holdings, Inc. is engaged in the full-service natural gas compression business. It provides operations, maintenance, – Read more