Find companies:
Extra Space Storage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
95 reviews

Extra Space Storage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Property Manager / Sales (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJanuary 21, 2015
Cons: everything
Never know from day to day what will be asked of you. Feels like you could be let go at any moment. Terrible district managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), Whittier, CAJanuary 16, 2015
Extra Space is a good company to work for. Nice to wear company shirt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lonely and Overstressful
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Norwalk, CAJanuary 6, 2015
Leave you by yourself to manage the property from cleaning to calls to rentals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job but no future
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Fresno, CAJanuary 2, 2015
Large storage facility with good people. I did every thing from collection, sales and promotions to increase revenue. I enjoyed the people and convincing them we were thr right company for them. Unfortunately this was a temp job, but I received great recommendations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok, but still need improvement
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), TennesseeDecember 10, 2014
Pros: downtime, casual, hours, dealing with customers
Cons: downtime lol, incentive bonus, corporate, omni.
The job in and of it self is not all that difficult. You spend most of your time doing office work. You make this job as hard as your want. You also have a lot of down time as well. There are some days where you just sit in the office all day and not do hardly anything. You need to learn to deal with people because you'll deal with angry customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Store Manager (Current Employee), Westminster, CONovember 21, 2014
Pros: mix of working inside and outside.
Cons: better pay would be great
I have been with the company for over 3 years and have found that the company is fair and always has challenges to exceed their expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company for Longetivity
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 20, 2014
Great work culture, divers-ed, great work schedules, flexible days off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and great staff
Manager of Operations (Former Employee), Stone Mountain, GANovember 17, 2014
Pros: great training program
Cons: not much time for learning and breaks.
I learned a lot in a small amount of time. The fact that I was able to go in and make the site my own by working with different customers and employees increased my abilities to work with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extra Space
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 6, 2014
It was a nice job. The workload is a bit heavy and the compensation doesn't quite fit. The schedule is something to deal with as well. You get no Saturdays off. Only Sunday and a day during the week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and active place to wor.
Live On-site Assistant Manager (Former Employee), LIC,NY 11101November 5, 2014
Pros: freedom to not be locked in an office all day
Cons: sometimes having to work in bad weather
Assisting customers and handling the register. Stocking and cleaning. Maintaining A/R'sand working to lower A/R's below 2%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Cordova, TNNovember 5, 2014
Pros: benifits, apartment if manager.
Cons: hours
you spend about 75% out side cleaning and maintaing the property. You do everthing from clean units to fixing fences and paint floors.
You will spend the remainder of your time in the office taking payments and handeling customer issues. The hrs are 9:30 to 6 pm monday- friday and Sat 9-5:30. you work every sat. Again this is a great job if you dont have kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
District Team Lead (Former Employee), Hemet, CAOctober 27, 2014
Excellent Company. Competitive pay. Excellent people. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, good pay
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Pinellas Park, FLOctober 24, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: costly benefits
Extra space is a good place to work. Pay is well. Not much interaction with higher management. A little tough to move up in the company. Great incentives. Overall good company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with multiple chances at advancement
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wahiawā, HIOctober 22, 2014
Pros: 401k, healthcare, bonuses, competitive pay
Cons: short breaks
This job allows for a steady schedule. Involves office work, management skills, answering phones and writing letters, a lot of computer work, cleaning and a strong knowledge of customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Senior Store Manager (Former Employee), Crofton, MDOctober 21, 2014
Pros: friendly customers
Cons: management
I worked for the Company for 6 years and havd a great time!
Customers were amazing and I was able to travel to different properties and educate fellow employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), Kent, OHOctober 9, 2014
Pros: minimal supervision, bonuses.
Cons: to many rate increases during a tenants stay
I have been with Extra Space for 13 years. I have grown, and matured with this company, and I was able to hone my skills as an assistant manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
storage industry is growing….
Assistant Property Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta GAOctober 4, 2014
Cons: low compensation
Great company….great communication…very good work work life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate is full of great people, not so much on the district level...
Site Manager (Former Employee), OHOctober 4, 2014
Pros: possible free apartment, great corporate office
Cons: underqualified district management, low pay, understaffed
I think that Extra Space is based on great ideas and values. I never met anyone from corporate that I didn't like. The communication from the top was great, and their ideas lead to great things for the company. My issue was with the District Managers that they hire. My experience was with two, one decent, and the other lazy as the day is long. You couldn't get anything done, no questions answered, it was as if we would be better off without him at all. Several of us took our opinions and concerns to the Regional Manager and nothing changed over the course of several months. This DM was vindictive and once you got on his bad side, you were done for. As a faithful and loyal employee of several years, it saddens me that I had to leave a job that I enjoyed because of one individual. I would just say to ESS corporate, make sure your DM's can talk the talk AND walk the walk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppty but very corporate
Senior Store Manager (Current Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: pay and raises
Cons: every thing will be documented
great pay but you'll have to perform your own maintenance on some sites
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional , flexible, and easy going company.
Manager (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 14, 2014
Pros: bonuses, incentives.
Cons: cost of health benefits could be lower.
Excellent company, work environment is very sophisticated. Love working in the Park Slope area and networking with the tenants, customers and also other local business owners. By not being micro managed I am able to acquire leadership skills and make difficult decisions on a daily basis. Also working with a diverse group of people have also enabled me to develop great communication skills. I have learned that everyone should all be treated with the same level of service, which is excellence no matter what their ethnic creed or income level maybe; and I strive to provide that level for each and everyone that walks through my door. I really find joy in going beyond the call of duty for others at Extra Space. Having a great group of co-workers at Extra Space has also helped to make working there a great work environment for me for the last 6 years.

1 2 3 4 5

About Extra Space Storage

Extra Space Storage® Inc. (NYSE: EXR) is a real estate investment trust based in Salt Lake City, Utah with regional offices – Read more

Extra Space Storage Photos