Find companies:
Extra Space Storage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
78 reviews

Extra Space Storage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Property Manager/Trainer (Current Employee), Hoover, ALSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: no room for advancement in my district
My typical work day is 8 to 10 hours a day. I have learned something new everyday working with Extra Space. My District manager is located in Florida, and he is a great manager. I have one assistant that works in the office with me.There are no hard parts to my job, but there are challenges. Everyday is a good day at Extra Space!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional , flexible, and easy going company.
Manager (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 14, 2014
Pros: bonuses, incentives.
Cons: cost of health benefits could be lower.
Excellent company, work environment is very sophisticated. Love working in the Park Slope area and networking with the tenants, customers and also other local business owners. By not being micro managed I am able to acquire leadership skills and make difficult decisions on a daily basis. Also working with a diverse group of people have also enabled – more... me to develop great communication skills. I have learned that everyone should all be treated with the same level of service, which is excellence no matter what their ethnic creed or income level maybe; and I strive to provide that level for each and everyone that walks through my door. I really find joy in going beyond the call of duty for others at Extra Space. Having a great group of co-workers at Extra Space has also helped to make working there a great work environment for me for the last 6 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 1, 2014
Pros: very easy work
Cons: district manager
Extra Space is not the greatest, the district manager in charge of the Denver area is the worst. He's very bias towards men. I filed a harassment case against a former male store manager and very quickly my case got dismissed even though I had a witness to this harassment. I honestly feel like the district manager handled this completely wrong. If you – more... are looking for employment with Extra Space, don't work at any store in the Denver area...especially if you are a woman! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead-end job! Move along and don't look back!
Manager (Former Employee), Hudson, MAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: schedule stays the same
Cons: dm was terrible, managment went downhill when changes went in effect, hr is sneaky and really does not care about employees.
If you live on site, be prepared to work at any given time when a customer knocks on your day at all hours of the day. Be prepared to do the job the landscaper fails to do because the company is cheap! Be ready to shovel a major part of the property, come in early for unpaid meetings, the benefits, forget it! Worst benefits possible!

Once management – more... feels they don't need you, kiss your job goodbye. Co-workers can be very good people! Best part of the job is lying and frauding customers in to buying insurance that doesn't cover anything! For example, I as forced to insure customers storing vehicles. Makes no sense!! Greedy company! Used to be good, but sold the employees down the river! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave Labor
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), COJuly 16, 2014
Pros: my boss doesn't care
Cons: no one cares except the angry customers
If you want to do all the work for your manager and get no credit at all you should work in the Denver area. The District Manager is a poor judge of character at best and a bad manager at worst. I have routinely had to come in on my days off because my boss was too busy hiking and getting wasted with his friends. The title "Assistant Manager" is a joke. – more... They should just rename the position slave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for.
o Office Assistant Part/Time (Current Employee), Temecula, CAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: low hours
Great people, very fair management, days overall stay busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career advancement if you work really hard.
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Nashua, NHJune 12, 2014
Renting units, answering customer inquiries/solving problems, cleaning facility, managing tasks/results, ordering inventory, multitasking alot.
Hardest part of the job is cleaning - constant interruptions from phone calls, customer questions, taking payments in person and over the phone while just working alone most of the time in a 44,000 sq. foot – more... facility.
Most enjoyable is helping to solve customers needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Experience
Manager/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), San Juan, PRMay 4, 2014
If you work at any of the Puerto Rico sites, just be prepare to CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN & CLEAN like a SLAVE .. Ohh and don't expect any respect from the District Manager at all. You start your day as follows:

- Cleaning disgusting restrooms, Men's restroom are the worst. At least between 3 thru 5 times a week the men's toilet it's literally full of ___ – more... (well.. you know) .. And the worst part is that as an employee you get to do this task starting your shift. Current customers see you cleaning and sweating like a pig. As you can imagine is not nice to welcome the same customer who saw you minutes earlier all smelly and full of sweat. What kind of customer service is that ?? They even ask us why are we doing this kind of work ?? Aren't you supposed to be Managers or Assistant Managers?

-Clean at least 15 to 20 storage units ranging from 5x5 - 10x30 or even more. By the time you finish you really look like a full pig ohh but you haven't finish yet .. You still have to scrub the elevators, scrub the mini carts, clean the parking lot, mop the lobby, clean the keypads, clean the windows, take off the dust from the office, Disposal of garbage 2 to 3 times a day and more. Ohh but YES you still have to perform Manager/Assistant Manager duties,

- Collection Calls
- Answer the phone
- Welcome Customers - Smelly and sweaty because of all the cleaning that you have been doing during the day.
- Rent storage units
- Answer all the dum email's and follow directions from a District Manager that lacks of knowledge, criteria and business mind when it comes to decision making.
- No pro-employee oriented
-You are required to work all weekends, so just forget about having a family life.
- schedules are constanly changed without previous notice.

There is a hostil enviroment, no manners and unfair treatment from our District Manager. This makes this job even worst. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Davie, FLApril 15, 2014
No overtime available what so ever.
Poor healthcare benefits and very expensive.
Some Store sites offer apartment with the job, a plus if you are planning in saving rent money to buy your own home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 10, 2014
There nothing more than I can say is that I love this place and Love helping all the people that I Meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for and get experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: employee trainings
In this company I have learned beyond what i ever expected to learn through out the years. Starting with the legal unit eviction process to excellent customer service and care. This company does mystery shoppers which all employees that are currently work there have to pass this annually. i have numerous amounts of financial reports weekly and monthly – more... that have to reviewed by upper management and accounted for. My day consists of collection calls daily , payment arrangements and ongoing customer service by phone and in person as customers walk in with their questions. the most enjoyable part of my job is that i get to market our company and do the collections needed to be done to get the business financials running. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong and minded management skills
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Miramar, FLFebruary 12, 2014
Great company, with many opportunities to expend. Face to face interaction with customers. Being able to control and resolve a difficult situation. Working with others to create a productive work environment. Creating new opportunities and promoting services to business and residential customers. On occasion performing auction on site for tenants that – more... were not able to keep up with their rent. Able to meet every customers needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Space
Storage Consultant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 20, 2014
if customers want space , show them a space. we clean the units . we inspect the units. i also did pick ups. i had some great customers and i had some horrible ones. the life of the workfield
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: moving regularly not in one spot
Cons: walking the facility over 855 units at the facility
Daily property check of facility showing storage units to potential new customers responding to message from email and phone for current tenant and new customers. Developing financial reports for DM District Manager. Maintaining the cleaning of the facility for tenant who are moving out and any needed repairs to the facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a Assistant Manger at the Heriot Street Location in Charleston you will be a slave
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Charleston,SCJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: working like a slave
A typical day working for this location is come in run all the reports for the manager and do the lock check, clean 3 bathrooms, clean 3 stories of floors , clean all of the move out units, deliver all the packages to the units even if they are so heavy you can barely life them, mop the lobby, scrub the elevators, scrub the carts that the customers – more... use to move in, do all the collection calls. The manager sits in the office on his butt playing on facebook and talking to his friends and making the longest bank run you ever seen which means stop and get a sub. If you get lucky he will rent a unit or change a light bulb or do a little bit of painting. I was a slave in the easiest terms . I got no respect . In 3 days I cleaned 103 storage units ranging from 5X5 - 10X30 . The District Mangers would make false claims about you and put you down and they don't even know you.They walk in and meet you for 10 minutes and make false claims you don't know how to do your job. The Manager would let freezers of hamburger and other meat be kept in the units and a motorcycle which just had been ridden go up on the elevator and be put in a unit.
The only thing enjoyable about this job was the customers not the dishonest and lazy coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Elmsford, NYJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: dealing with angry managers
unlock building, clock in, do rounds and check balances from previous day. management not great, nonexistent.Great coworkers, hardest part of the job is walking the property and picking up cardboard for the compactor. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping costumers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a mess!
Maintenance (Former Employee), CaliforniaDecember 21, 2013
Pros: hard to be fired
Cons: really corrupt management at the mid-level
The people seem friendly enough, but once you spend even just a short amount of time you realize how corrupt it is inside. People that can't be fired that should have been fired long ago. District Managers turn a blind eye to on site managers that violate company standards, state and federal laws.

I was so appalled that I quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 5, 2013
Pros: close to the house
Cons: no medical insurance
A lot to clean, to keep and organize and no help. Nobody believe in a team work. and they no recognize your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company globally
Manager (Current Employee), Amarillo, TXNovember 20, 2013
Pros: nationwide company good growth potential
Cons: low compensation and stability in local area
Extra Space is a great company with great staff and support from non local upper management. However management in the local stores are very clickish and political especially if you were a part of the previous management company Another Attic.If they had the right people in place to train and mentor the Store Managers and staff and raised the pay a – more... bit it would be a better place to work. Currently its who can step on who to get to the top. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rewarding company to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 10, 2013
Pros: helping people
Cons: evictions
over all helping customers with there needs,,the worst part when your evicting customers and some times your life was in danger when working in a bad areas...

1 2 3 4

About Extra Space Storage

When closets are bursting at the¬†seams and garages are overflowing,¬†Extra Space Storage gives its customers room to breathe. One – Read more