Find companies:
Extra Space Storage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

Extra Space Storage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Davie, FLApril 15, 2014
No overtime available what so ever.
Poor healthcare benefits and very expensive.
Some Store sites offer apartment with the job, a plus if you are planning in saving rent money to buy your own home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 10, 2014
There nothing more than I can say is that I love this place and Love helping all the people that I Meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for and get experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: employee trainings
In this company I have learned beyond what i ever expected to learn through out the years. Starting with the legal unit eviction process to excellent customer service and care. This company does mystery shoppers which all employees that are currently work there have to pass this annually. i have numerous amounts of financial reports weekly and monthly – more... that have to reviewed by upper management and accounted for. My day consists of collection calls daily , payment arrangements and ongoing customer service by phone and in person as customers walk in with their questions. the most enjoyable part of my job is that i get to market our company and do the collections needed to be done to get the business financials running. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong and minded management skills
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Miramar, FLFebruary 12, 2014
Great company, with many opportunities to expend. Face to face interaction with customers. Being able to control and resolve a difficult situation. Working with others to create a productive work environment. Creating new opportunities and promoting services to business and residential customers. On occasion performing auction on site for tenants that – more... were not able to keep up with their rent. Able to meet every customers needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Space
Storage Consultant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 20, 2014
if customers want space , show them a space. we clean the units . we inspect the units. i also did pick ups. i had some great customers and i had some horrible ones. the life of the workfield
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: moving regularly not in one spot
Cons: walking the facility over 855 units at the facility
Daily property check of facility showing storage units to potential new customers responding to message from email and phone for current tenant and new customers. Developing financial reports for DM District Manager. Maintaining the cleaning of the facility for tenant who are moving out and any needed repairs to the facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a Assistant Manger at the Heriot Street Location in Charleston you will be a slave
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Charleston,SCJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: working like a slave
A typical day working for this location is come in run all the reports for the manager and do the lock check, clean 3 bathrooms, clean 3 stories of floors , clean all of the move out units, deliver all the packages to the units even if they are so heavy you can barely life them, mop the lobby, scrub the elevators, scrub the carts that the customers – more... use to move in, do all the collection calls. The manager sits in the office on his butt playing on facebook and talking to his friends and making the longest bank run you ever seen which means stop and get a sub. If you get lucky he will rent a unit or change a light bulb or do a little bit of painting. I was a slave in the easiest terms . I got no respect . In 3 days I cleaned 103 storage units ranging from 5X5 - 10X30 . The District Mangers would make false claims about you and put you down and they don't even know you.They walk in and meet you for 10 minutes and make false claims you don't know how to do your job. The Manager would let freezers of hamburger and other meat be kept in the units and a motorcycle which just had been ridden go up on the elevator and be put in a unit.
The only thing enjoyable about this job was the customers not the dishonest and lazy coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Elmsford, NYJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: dealing with angry managers
unlock building, clock in, do rounds and check balances from previous day. management not great, nonexistent.Great coworkers, hardest part of the job is walking the property and picking up cardboard for the compactor. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping costumers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a mess!
Maintenance (Former Employee), CaliforniaDecember 21, 2013
Pros: hard to be fired
Cons: really corrupt management at the mid-level
The people seem friendly enough, but once you spend even just a short amount of time you realize how corrupt it is inside. People that can't be fired that should have been fired long ago. District Managers turn a blind eye to on site managers that violate company standards, state and federal laws.

I was so appalled that I quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 5, 2013
Pros: close to the house
Cons: no medical insurance
A lot to clean, to keep and organize and no help. Nobody believe in a team work. and they no recognize your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company globally
Manager (Current Employee), Amarillo, TXNovember 20, 2013
Pros: nationwide company good growth potential
Cons: low compensation and stability in local area
Extra Space is a great company with great staff and support from non local upper management. However management in the local stores are very clickish and political especially if you were a part of the previous management company Another Attic.If they had the right people in place to train and mentor the Store Managers and staff and raised the pay a – more... bit it would be a better place to work. Currently its who can step on who to get to the top. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rewarding company to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 10, 2013
Pros: helping people
Cons: evictions
over all helping customers with there needs,,the worst part when your evicting customers and some times your life was in danger when working in a bad areas...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 3, 2013
Pros: the salary
Cons: exspensive health coverage
Open the store 9 am and begin the day by assisting customers,then I begin my collection process,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: insentives
Cons: healthcare
great job,only bad side was taking a risk with certain customers who were going up for auction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Manager (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXOctober 9, 2013
Managed daily ooperating of store

leased units to new potential customers

managed existing leases

ran reports and deposits

balanced and deposited cash
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast,Fun, & Friendly place to work
Storage Consultant (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: positive vibes
Cons: there aren't any
this is a great company to work For if you love helping others & its hands on but overall its awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Santa Ana, CA.September 17, 2013
Pros: manage your own time. no micro management. company growth.
As an assistant your daily tasks are to help customers in the office. Sell merchandise. Follow up with potential leads sent from our call center and convert to rentals/sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work
Store Manager (Current Employee), los angeles, caAugust 30, 2013
Pros: simple work, good pay, love to promote
Cons: can be a little stressful, customer based
Working here is really what you make of it. Typically you spend your days helping customer, and doing basic and easy things around the property, such as cleaning and painting. You work with computers a lot and have to be willing to adjust to new programs regularly as they do update often. You have to be willing to learn! Management is generally great. – more... It's a large company and you do deal with different people the longer you stay and some you may like and some you may not, but that's really at any company. The most difficult thing you deal with are normally customers, and that's something in all customer service, you never know who is going to walk through the door. As for the positive, the company is expanding regularly, they are always looking to hire new managers, they like to promote and really push you to try, and when you do well they do recognize you for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Whittier, CAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: customers
rentals sales goals. marketing always going out to drive the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job for variety of tasks and new adventures
Store Manager (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 28, 2013
A typical day at work with Extra Space Storage was administrative work, maintenance, cleaning, and sales. I learned about property management and sales. I learned about leases and laws regarding auctions. My original district manager was great. He knew that to motivate me was to challenge me. I met some great people working with Extra Space Storage – more... and keep in touch with them. The hardest part of the job was having to auction units. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of duties. – less

1 2 3 4

About Extra Space Storage

When closets are bursting at the¬†seams and garages are overflowing,¬†Extra Space Storage gives its customers room to breathe. One – Read more