Find companies:
Extra Space Storage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Extra Space Storage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Santa Ana, CA.September 17, 2013
Pros: manage your own time. no micro management. company growth.
As an assistant your daily tasks are to help customers in the office. Sell merchandise. Follow up with potential leads sent from our call center and convert to rentals/sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work
Store Manager (Current Employee), los angeles, caAugust 30, 2013
Pros: simple work, good pay, love to promote
Cons: can be a little stressful, customer based
Working here is really what you make of it. Typically you spend your days helping customer, and doing basic and easy things around the property, such as cleaning and painting. You work with computers a lot and have to be willing to adjust to new programs regularly as they do update often. You have to be willing to learn! Management is generally great. – more... It's a large company and you do deal with different people the longer you stay and some you may like and some you may not, but that's really at any company. The most difficult thing you deal with are normally customers, and that's something in all customer service, you never know who is going to walk through the door. As for the positive, the company is expanding regularly, they are always looking to hire new managers, they like to promote and really push you to try, and when you do well they do recognize you for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Whittier, CAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: customers
rentals sales goals. marketing always going out to drive the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job for variety of tasks and new adventures
Store Manager (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 28, 2013
A typical day at work with Extra Space Storage was administrative work, maintenance, cleaning, and sales. I learned about property management and sales. I learned about leases and laws regarding auctions. My original district manager was great. He knew that to motivate me was to challenge me. I met some great people working with Extra Space Storage – more... and keep in touch with them. The hardest part of the job was having to auction units. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, easy, and challenging place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Somerville, MAAugust 20, 2013
Pros: great hours, great locations, easy task
Cons: slow moving up the ladders
Everyday you have a set number of duties that you have to complete. Once completed you get to relax and wait for clients to call in for information, assistance, or anything that they can think up. Co-workers are 90% great with great personalities where you can't get into an argument with. Its just a great place to work for and get hands on experiences – more... dealing with customers, data entry, account management, and lots more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It really is a great place to work!
Property Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: free apartment (on-site manager)
Cons: working christmas eve and other holidays that most companies close for
I worked for ESS for 5.5 years and it was a great experience overall. I had the opportunity to work for some really great people. Like all companies, there are of course those who are unpleasant to work with but that is just the nature of the beast. I learned a tremendous amount managerial wise and would like to think I was fairly compensated ( I was – more... an on-site manager). The hardest part of my job was auctions. It really is hard to sell someone's belongings. If you get in to a good district with a good DM and DVP, you'll love this job! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment.
Property Accountant (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 24, 2013
Opportunity to learn new things. Flexibility in work hours. Good training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Self-Storage Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 26, 2013
This company was great in pay scale for industry, team work, coaching, and training, I would work for again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, dynamic company.
PROPERTY MANAGER (Current Employee), North Lauderdale, Florida 33068May 26, 2013
Pros: management skill-sets development.
Cons: understaffed, few benefits, on-call 24/7 with no additional pay.
fast paced, dynamic, many hats to be worn at same time. Sales techniques to capture the sale used, conflict resolution to provide a win/win situation used dailly, budget review and monitoring, vendor selection, and daily competition analysis done. Training and daily task scheduling of subordinates done daily. Most enjoyable part of job was helping people – more... in their time of transition in their lives (the customer), and helping employees learn valuable life and management skill-sets. The hardest part of the job was the constant under-staffing of the facility and being on 24/7 constant call. The long-term co-workers were a valuable asset to me as they provided information to me about this large company corporate culture. Previously, I had either worked in a small company, or my own company. So this information about communication and interaction of various administrative functions and layers of this company was invaluable to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Santa Clara, CAMay 15, 2013
Pros: district manager and store managers of district 9695 are the best.
Cons: raises are like $0.40 if you have a great review.
good place to work if you really want to get promoted and live on site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Management! Store Manager, DM, and other associates not fair.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Rocky Hill, CTMay 2, 2013
Pros: nice customers, great lunch places to go for lunch nearby, nice area to work
Cons: awful management, horrible company, charge their customers more than necessary, forces employees to lie to upsell to customers
I worked as an Assistant Manager for Extra Space for only 4 months, but in those months I gained a pretty clear picture about this company. THEY ARE AWFUL.

My manager was the most abusive and meanest women I have ever met. She made me feel like absolute garbage everyday! She even abused customers. Just an all around horrible person, with a superiority – more... complex. She even abused people at other companies. Ask anyone from the TD Bank in Rocky Hill near Subway and Arch II Sports Bar. They would tell me how she ranted and raved how incompetent they were. She yelled at them and swore. When I reported her, no one would stick up for me. One of the managers from the East Hartford store actually talked a lot of junk about my manager, but never backed me up when it came down to things.

I even told the DM of our store what was going on and he never did a thing about it! I will tell you this he talked about a lot of inappropriate sexual things in front of me. Like how he went to strip clubs and talking about bras with me. Ummm who does that?

I have never been given so many headaches working for a company. This place goes through a lot of assistant managers for a reason. You won't get treated fairly, no one will listen to you, and nothing is ever good enough. Also they are always changing rules and policies to the point where you will have no clue what is going on. Then when you are not performing to their standard because of your supposed lack of competence, the ball will drop, and you will go further down hill.

PLEASE AVOID THIS PLACE.

No one deserves to be abused like I was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was part time worked on Mondays so Manager could a day off
Storage Consultant (Former Employee), Manteca CaApril 28, 2013
Pros: work in town
Cons: cleaning very hot in side units in the summer
Provide assistance to Store Manger in maintaining daily operation of the site.
Show and rent storage units, balance receipts, collection calls, post payments,
process daily bank deposits, maintaining accurate records for each customer,
including contracts, insurance, address changes and correspondence.
Help keep units and grounds and units clean
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shadey District Management in SoCal....
Storage Consultant (Former Employee), Claremont, CAApril 15, 2013
Pros: good hours, good tenants, easy tasks.
Cons: upper management is a little shadey.
I enjoyed working at the Claremont store with my direct store manager. We had fun doing our jobs. It was our DM that made things constantly difficult. I would only go back to work for them under a good DM, with the right pay and a guaranteed job for no less than a couple of years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with fun co-workers
National Sales Agent (Former Employee), South Jordan, UtahApril 3, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: work weekends, scripts
The days may start slow or very busy depending on call volumes which with the bonus structure helped drive to make more money, working with a team environment granted competitions with other teams and co-workers. Team leads were knowledgeable and helpful and the biggest downfall is this type of business isn't so much for a family environment and is – more... strict on times and made it difficult for emergencies or time off or to schedule for hours to accommodate, other than that it was an enjoyable place to work with fun co-workers and the opportunity to learn new skills in the storage industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Rosamond, CAMarch 27, 2013
Pros: bonus monthly
Cons: healthcare is hgh, growth is impossiable
Extra Space could be a great place to work but it depends on your management team. Growth is hard and the pay is under what it should be. However you do get bonuses every month and raises every year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone with no kids
Site Manager (Current Employee), Collierville, TNMarch 23, 2013
Pros: benifits, apartment if manager.
Cons: hrs
you spend about 75% out side cleaning and maintaing the property. You do everthing from clean units to fixing fences and paint floors.
You will spend the remainder of your time in the office taking payments and handeling customer issues. The hrs are 9:30 to 6 pm monday- friday and Sat 9-5:30. you work every sat. Again this is a great job if you dont – more... have kids. – less

Weiser – June 25, 2013

Is this a on site manager job if so is it 1 bedroom or 2 and any other benefits you can tell me? Thanks

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No future
Administration (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 31, 2013
HR's motto is to hire the youngest and healthiest, if you fit into that category you might survive for a while at Extra Space. For the past 2 years they have been firing employees over the age of 40. They harass employees who use the insurance, or they fire them without a cause. I witnessed discrimination against women and age, they won’t hire smokers – more... and humiliate employees who are over weight. There is a low moral because employees are worried about loosing their jobs. They will only let a few employees’ advance or change departments. – less

ContentEmployee – March 26, 2013

I have been with Extra Space for 5 years, I am over 40, female, use the health insurance and smoked for 4 yrs of my career here. I have been treated fairly and fit into just about all of the categories this person listed. There are many advancement opportunities (I have been promoted multiple times in 5 years) if you have the drive to better yourself and take control of your own career. Nothing is handed to you in any company including Extra Space.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive work environment
Assistant Manager to Store Manager (Former Employee), Waterford and Mt. Clemens, MI and Sidney,OHJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: flexiblity and benefits
I enjoyed working with this company and grew quite a bit while being a part of their team. Being a Store Manager you get to really know your site and customers. The re-pore that you get to establish with all of your customers is very fulfilling. Maintaining a property while having goals to achieve each month keeps things interesting while keeping you – more... motivated to be the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be Responible
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Pinellas Park, FLJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: large company, easy to move up, monthly bonus
Cons: little pay for lot of work (if dealing with an outside property)
An employee of ESS must be willing to work over the required job description. There is typically 2 people working an entire site, so if one person can't perform his/her duties, it is on the other employee to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Storage Consultant (Former Employee), La PuenteJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: nice customers
Cons: dirty storage units.
Opportunity to advance. Manager was nice and helpful. Job of constantly cleaning dirty dusty storage unit, dust mask a must.

About Extra Space Storage

When closets are bursting at the seams and garages are overflowing, Extra Space Storage gives its customers room to breathe. One – Read more