Fairbanks North Star Borough School District Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Copy Room Technician (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKAugust 29, 2017
Good place to work as a temporary worker. Multiple job opportunities in the temporary pool. Compensation is fair even though there were no benefits. Coworkers were pleasant.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and encouraging workplace.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  various schoolsAugust 7, 2017
I have had great experiences working for the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District and would recommend this district to anyone looking for an exciting place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and advance
Recess Aide (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJuly 28, 2017
As a recess aide, I worked with different classes of students and was able to build relationships with them. The district encourages advancing and rewards hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gap in community
Teen Options Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJuly 16, 2017
Working with at risk teen parents was challenging and rewarding. There is a large gap in our community now that this program is gone. ***********************************************************
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Paraprofessional and Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 13, 2017
To be able to work with children in a nurturing environment is one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. The teachers are dedicated to delivering the best education possible and adapting to each child's needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Polish translator for the students (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJanuary 5, 2017
Great to work for! amazing and kind people. I worked for a few months but they were great ! Nice atmosphere and everything has an order and its place. Great instructoions and orientation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a very nice atmosphere. worked well with others
Custodian Worker (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKOctober 8, 2016
I learned many cleaning techniques and worked with a wonderful coworkers. I love to clean so I had really no disappointments. the managers were well organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Temporary Hire (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJuly 19, 2016
Enjoyed the work at the district, loved challenges, loved learning new things, loved the variety of the work. Employees are dedicated and sincere. Each person endeavors to provide good customer service and appropriate responses.
Pros
Great group of people to work with.
Cons
Parking lot was very slippery in the winter.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place I have ever worked
Special ed clerk/para (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 7, 2016
I worked with the best staff, learned so much, they treated me like family. We were all team players and they listened to my opinions, I mattered at that school. If I hadn't relocated I would still be there.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Substitute Teacher / Special Needs Aide (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJanuary 6, 2016
As a Substitute Teacher assigned to perform the duties of the regular teaching staff for all grade levels (K-12) to support learning in all subject areas including Reading, Math, Language Arts, Science, and Physical Education.
I Implemented daily lesson plans, maintained a structured, monitored environment, established clear objectives for all lesson plans, and communicated those goals to students through lectures, discussions, and demonstrations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work with young children.
READING TUTOR (Former Employee) –  Joy ElementarySeptember 10, 2015
Very fulfilling job where you provided young children with the necessary tools to help them discover how to put those letters together and make a work they can read and understand.
Pros
Kept me close to my children while they were in school.
Cons
Not a full time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employment in 30 years of professional work
Undisclosed (Former Employee) –  Admin officesMay 31, 2015
Extreme lack of credible professional management. Highly contentious work environment. Just read the Fairbanks News Minor for more information. Don't work here if you value ethical supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, fun working with children.
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKNovember 16, 2014
I learned how to be patient and how to manage my working environment.
Pros
Having a job and making money.
Cons
Only temporary work, and I am looking for permanent work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fnsbsd
Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AlaskaApril 17, 2014
Best school district in Alaska! Enjoyed working here and very thankful for my years working for the school district and gaining friendships.
Pros
Perfect!
Cons
Perfect!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pearl Creek Elementary
Intensive Resource Aide (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 14, 2013
Great experience working at Pearl Creek Elementary. Thank you to the staff and students for a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great district to work for
School Psychologist (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKDecember 24, 2012
Reasonable caseload, good admin. staff, no complaints! I really enjoyed my time with this district.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
it is cold in fairbanks :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept me in work
Substitute Teacher & Librarian (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 14, 2012
Lots of job availability for subs. New computer system makes it easier to secure jobs ahead of time.
Cons
can only work 7 hour days. on-call system for subs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairbanks North Star Borough School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3

Fairbanks North Star Borough School District Reviews by Location